We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location to explore real Egypt”
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location to explore real Egypt”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and bright, extremely nice friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you, the roof terrace restaurant is stunning with amazing views of the Nile. Great pool area to relax and cool down, breakfast is traditional - omelette, yoghurt, cheese and local bread everything was fresh and served by two fantastic guys who couldnt do enough for you and aways made sure you had plenty of tea and coffee, other food was excellent and very reasonably priced which went down a treat with the local beer (Stella), you are literally a stones throw away from the Nile and its many motor boats, where you can easily go across to the East bank for shopping and Luxor temple, but there is plenty to do on the West bank local cafes, supermarkets and of course the Valley of the Kings is about 30 minutes away. We stayed here for 14 nights, had a wonderful time and cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    43
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
54
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Positive: Online appearances and photographs to the contrary, this is a surprisingly small hotel offering big hotel facilities. It has a nice pool, a lovely roof top terrace and large, well furnished rooms. The location, a two minute walk from the West Bank public ferry dock, is ideal, allowing easy, cheap access to the main city but sitting on the quiet, low hassle side of the Nile. And several of the rooms, as well as the roof top terrace, look straight out across the Nile to the lights of Luxor temple and the city proper - it is a beautiful location in the evening. There are a number of nearby restaurants available for dining, as well as convenience / corner stores about five minutes walk into the township of Ramla behind. There is a store immediately beside the hotel but after experiencing their rude manner and high prices on our first day we chose to shop elsewhere! The in house restaurant provides a simple menu but delicious meals and we ate here most nights - meals were 55 EGP each and very generous servings. The wait staff were friendly and helpful and never held out their hands - which is very unusual in Egypt and it was a delight to stay in a place where you could relax and hide a little from the pursuit of the touts which infest Luxor. The owner, Ahmed (forgive my spelling if its not right), as opposed to the manager Ahmed, is a delight to deal with and well worth talking to - he is local to the village and seems to know everything and everybody. If you are energetic consider hiring a bicycle to visit the tombs from here - it is a nice ride and a lovely way to experience the country side. Also use the public ferry to cross the Nile (1 EGP each) or if you can't be bothered waiting see one of the numerous small boat skippers who will swarm you around the waterfront - many charge 10 EGP one way (total - not per person) but some will do it for 5 EGP. If you find one you like remember the name of their boat - we liked the boat "Hatsephut" which was skippered by a nice guy and straight out charged 5 EGP and recognised we didn't like being hassled. WiFi at the hotel varied but generally good - it pays to move around within the room to find the best place.
Negative: Not much really - this is great value for money considering what you get for what you pay. The room servicing could have been a bit better - it was inconsistent rather than bad - and the rooms were always clean - they would just leave varying numbers of towels or forget to leave more toilet paper - little things easily corrected. The standard of finish in the room is sometimes a bit surprising given it is a new hotel, but this is probably a testament to the standard of workmen available and were minor cosmetic defects (such as poorly grouted tiling and some light switches didn't work) - again nothing serious. This is a comfortable hotel in a great location which offers excellent value for money and friendly staff. Recommended.

PS: Note to owners - in Trip Advisor the hotel is only listed as a restaurant - therefore can't find it when searching for hotels. Advise you fix this pronto or miss out on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at El Mesala at the end of October 2012 for just 3 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and professional and keen to ensure we all had as good a time as possible. The pool was wonderful. On our last night they really pushed the boat out and organised a birthday celebratory feast with live music. We enjoyed that on the roof overlooking the Nile, with dancing and amazing food. You couldn't get a better view in or position in Luxor. You never know quite what a hotel will be like when you first book but seriously this is the best value, best located and most friendly hotel in Luxor.

Room Tip: As we had two large family rooms we were at the back of the hotel. If I were travelling in a smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vertiginous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the whole hotel to be good, the rooms are nice, the roof top restaurant and bar was great with a good view over the Nile looking at the Luxor Temple.
Easy access to the ferry to get across the Nile.
But the best bit was the service, all their staff were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExcitedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at el Masala for 5 days earlier this month, and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in a double ensuite room with a balcony overlooking the Nile, and everything was perfect. The staff is very friendly, the WiFi was strong, the bed was wonderfully comfy, there was lots of hot water (I love long hot showers), and the hotel was located in a quiet but central location mere yards from the ferry landing. And the food at the restaurant and the one next door (which sells beer, not all restaurants do) was excellent. Go! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Hotel El Mesala is located on the West Bank and only a short walk to ferry which crosses the Nile to the East bank. The hotel is perfectly situated and of you can get a front Nile view room then you have a prime location. We spent 6 nights there and found the pool to be welcome relief to the heat of the day especially after cycling out o the Valley of the Kings, Queens, Tombs of the Nobles and the myriad of other attractions on teh West Bank. The owner is a colourful character and is currently adding rooms to his property - so there was a bit of work being done to the relatively new hotel. The rooms are clean, but like many other places the furniture doesnt quite fit the rooms and the sheets dont fit the bed. We did have a TV and fridge (for our cold beer and water) in the room and the rate is very reasonable. It is nice and quiet on the west bank and we were blessed with a terrific view looking back over the Luxor Temple all lit up in the evening. Breakfast is the same every morning, without variation so maybe something for them to consider changing slightly especially if you are there for several days. We only had a snack in the restaurant the 1st night but this was fairly average so we ate elsewhere on the other nights. There are several great little restaurants/cafes right on the banks of the Nile directly outside the hotel to your right along the water front. Nile View Restaurant was great as were the others.

I would maybe like to see the hotel staff ( and friends) not occupying the reception area all day (and night) smoking, watching TV and using the internet. Maybe they should have an area and computer for the staff and manager to use.

A great little place and it will only get better as they progress and also good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IncaPerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel has a great view. The owner is trustworthy and straight forward. The rooms are exceptionally clean. On the downside, the rooms are a little cramped and the restaurant is a little limited. Overall, we felt this hotel was a good value for the money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conventiontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Property: El Mesala Hotel
Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing