We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Mesala Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$245
US$147
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$48
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$39
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
95
44
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
44
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantwest bankpublic ferryluxor templesmall swimming poolbalcony overlooking the nilesmall libraryfamily suitebig balconyincluded in the room ratewonderful guidebedside tablelocal ferryyogurtroom balconyhassle freeabydos and dendara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed in this hotel but this was my first time eating here. The orange was freshly squeezed and delicious. We were only here for lunch but the salad and soups we orderd were lovely and the service was great. The place is spotless which is always a plus point. Wifi connection on the rooftop is great and you really can't beat the views, I posted a pic! We will be comming back again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emmaporelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and bright, extremely nice friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you, the roof terrace restaurant is stunning with amazing views of the Nile. Great pool area to relax and cool down, breakfast is traditional - omelette, yoghurt, cheese and local bread everything was fresh and served by two fantastic guys who couldnt do enough for you and aways made sure you had plenty of tea and coffee, other food was excellent and very reasonably priced which went down a treat with the local beer (Stella), you are literally a stones throw away from the Nile and its many motor boats, where you can easily go across to the East bank for shopping and Luxor temple, but there is plenty to do on the West bank local cafes, supermarkets and of course the Valley of the Kings is about 30 minutes away. We stayed here for 14 nights, had a wonderful time and cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Positive: Online appearances and photographs to the contrary, this is a surprisingly small hotel offering big hotel facilities. It has a nice pool, a lovely roof top terrace and large, well furnished rooms. The location, a two minute walk from the West Bank public ferry dock, is ideal, allowing easy, cheap access to the main city but sitting on the quiet, low hassle side of the Nile. And several of the rooms, as well as the roof top terrace, look straight out across the Nile to the lights of Luxor temple and the city proper - it is a beautiful location in the evening. There are a number of nearby restaurants available for dining, as well as convenience / corner stores about five minutes walk into the township of Ramla behind. There is a store immediately beside the hotel but after experiencing their rude manner and high prices on our first day we chose to shop elsewhere! The in house restaurant provides a simple menu but delicious meals and we ate here most nights - meals were 55 EGP each and very generous servings. The wait staff were friendly and helpful and never held out their hands - which is very unusual in Egypt and it was a delight to stay in a place where you could relax and hide a little from the pursuit of the touts which infest Luxor. The owner, Ahmed (forgive my spelling if its not right), as opposed to the manager Ahmed, is a delight to deal with and well worth talking to - he is local to the village and seems to know everything and everybody. If you are energetic consider hiring a bicycle to visit the tombs from here - it is a nice ride and a lovely way to experience the country side. Also use the public ferry to cross the Nile (1 EGP each) or if you can't be bothered waiting see one of the numerous small boat skippers who will swarm you around the waterfront - many charge 10 EGP one way (total - not per person) but some will do it for 5 EGP. If you find one you like remember the name of their boat - we liked the boat "Hatsephut" which was skippered by a nice guy and straight out charged 5 EGP and recognised we didn't like being hassled. WiFi at the hotel varied but generally good - it pays to move around within the room to find the best place.
Negative: Not much really - this is great value for money considering what you get for what you pay. The room servicing could have been a bit better - it was inconsistent rather than bad - and the rooms were always clean - they would just leave varying numbers of towels or forget to leave more toilet paper - little things easily corrected. The standard of finish in the room is sometimes a bit surprising given it is a new hotel, but this is probably a testament to the standard of workmen available and were minor cosmetic defects (such as poorly grouted tiling and some light switches didn't work) - again nothing serious. This is a comfortable hotel in a great location which offers excellent value for money and friendly staff. Recommended.

PS: Note to owners - in Trip Advisor the hotel is only listed as a restaurant - therefore can't find it when searching for hotels. Advise you fix this pronto or miss out on business.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NatDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at El Mesala at the end of October 2012 for just 3 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and professional and keen to ensure we all had as good a time as possible. The pool was wonderful. On our last night they really pushed the boat out and organised a birthday celebratory feast with live music. We enjoyed that on the roof overlooking the Nile, with dancing and amazing food. You couldn't get a better view in or position in Luxor. You never know quite what a hotel will be like when you first book but seriously this is the best value, best located and most friendly hotel in Luxor.

Room Tip: As we had two large family rooms we were at the back of the hotel. If I were travelling in a smaller group I'd ask for the front rooms with balcony overlooking the Nile.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vertiginous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the whole hotel to be good, the rooms are nice, the roof top restaurant and bar was great with a good view over the Nile looking at the Luxor Temple.
Easy access to the ferry to get across the Nile.
But the best bit was the service, all their staff were great.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TheExcitedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews