We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed results”
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had booked this hotel by e-mail based on other Trip Advisor recommendations. I had pre-arranged a taxi pickup at the Luxor train station, but when I got there I was greeted by a man with no sign or identification. My pickup service involved me walking (with two bags) the 500 meters to the river, then taking a boat across to the west bank, then walking to the hotel. The refrigerator in my room had left over fruit in it, which smelled horribly. In the bathroom, the shower spray handle mount was broken, meaning I had to take one-handed showers. The shower curtain was useless, which resulted in a very slippery bathroom floor. On the plus side, there was very good hot water and pressure. Room decor is basic and beds are of average comfort. Hotel is located close to town and the public ferry dock and street noise is minimal. Front desk is often unattended. The pool and lounge area is very nice, and makes a great break from the heat of taking in the sights in Luxor. There was a smell of bug spray mixed with incense in the lobby. Skip the upstairs restaurant: service is slow, both at breakfast and dinner. I waited an hour for a barely warm kebab with rice. Prices are in line with other places. They have a live band at night, which is fairly loud. Overall, good location and pool, but offset by poor service and room quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel which is located on the west bank, we were greeted warmly with a welcome drink of freshly squeezed juice made to order. It is wonderfully located right in front of the Nile river very close to the ferry to take you to the East bank ( though for 5 LE we were able to take a speed boat. The ferry is 1 LE per person. The staff, manager and owner were beyond warm, welcoming and helpful, which is what really made our stay here a wonderful one.

We arrived in the morning and they very nicely let us check in early at no extra cost. We stayed 3 nights in the family room which was very large and spacious. 2 large bedrooms, a kitchen ( in need of some minor repairs), living/dining room and bathroom. The only issue we had ( as did our friends we were travelling with), was the rooms were not exactly the cleanest. The walls and floors were in dire need of a really good cleaning, as were the rugs in the halls. However our beds and sheets were clean. Price for the rooms here was extremely reasonable.

There is a small spotlessly clean pool and they provide clean towels free for use at the pool which was a nice touch.

We ate supper here 2 nights and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was included and pretty basic with a fried egg, yogurt, fruit, cheese but was sufficient for us.

I would recommend this place to others, provided you aren't expecting squeeky clean floors and walls. The staff was probably some of the best we encountered on our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel has a great location, the satff are amazing nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotless and the roof top resurant is excellent with fresh food every day. Beer and wine are avaliable here . If u want to stay in a clean traditional hotel then look no further this is the one for u. The west is best. Hello to the owners Mohamed and ahmed and to the staff. See u again in august Jackie and Maureen x

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had an evening in their restaurant and I was served up quite a dry and over cooked omelette and chips. Disappointing and there are plenty of tastier venues on the west bank to eat at. It did seem clean enough though but the waiter mentioned they charge for taking photos of the east bank from the restaurant balcony. Whats that about? We didnt know if he was joking or not so just ignored him. Good customer service though?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrilliantBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the family suite with out two kids. Fantastic rooms and very good value had 2 bed rooms a living room, kitchen and bathroom. Lovely swimming pool great to come back to after the heat and hassle of luxors sites. Very friendly staff definitely suggest staying on the west bank. Lovely little local shops and village feel. Much more laid back than the mad chaos of the eastbank.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First of all, I want to say that the west bank of Luxor is the place to be. When I first came to Luxor in 1971, it was a peaceful country town. One could linger on a park bench on the grassy bank of the Nile and chat with Luxor's charming children. By the time I visited in 1988 Luxor had become a roaring city. The bank of the Nile is all concrete these days. The children are just as pretty and charming though.

The west bank still retains the pastoral feeling that Luxor proper lost long ago. On the west bank, the walk from the Nile to the farm fields is about 3 city blocks. The shop keepers and residents are very friendly and there is definitely a small town feel.

El Mesala Hotel is a lovely place to spend one's time in that setting. It has a very light and airy feeling. Its pretty tile floors are kept in a pristine state of cleanliness as is the hotel in general.

We purposely targeted small, family run hotels for our visit to Egypt as we wanted to be closer to the people of Egypt. It is perfectly possible to stay in an international, corporate hotel with staff that is impeccably polite in a rule bound way in Egypt. When you are in those hotels, you wouldn't know you weren't in the Hyatt Regency in some American or European city. It's like you never left home.

El Mesala Hotel is not at all like that. The staff is genuinely friendly. You can have real conversations with them about their lives and ideas. They pay attention and are interested in who you are. For example, they noticed us giving our daughter presents for her eleventh birthday one morning. That night, the staff showed up after our dinner with a delicious, custom made, birthday layer cake for her. It was a touching gesture.

We had a two bedroom one bath suite for our family of four. It was clean and comfortable. It had a good sized refrigerator which was great for storing bottled water and other drinks. While it was winter during our stay, the temperature outside was 80 degrees F or so. The air conditioning kept the room at a nice cool level. The swimming pool was also pretty and well cared for. My kids did find it a little too cold for very long swims. We took advantage of the laundry services and did a couple of tour arrangements as well. We just wanted drivers, not guides, and they were able to provide that service with no hassle at all.

The roof top restaurant did not have a big menu, but the meals were well prepared and very reasonably priced. I think they will accommodate special requests. They had a number of outstanding fruit juice drinks. The breakfast included in the price of the room was light and nutritious (yogurt, fresh fruit, omelet, tea/coffee, bread). The ambiance was matchless. The view of the Nile and the Temple Luxor was unimpeded and exotically beautiful. It was a pleasant place to hang out in during the afternoon with a drink and a book.

I have traveled very extensively both for pleasure and business over the years. I don't think I have ever stayed in a more memorable and pleasant hotel in all that time. I am left with a feeling of affection for the staff and the place. El Mesala Hotel is more than a good value for the very reasonable price. It is a memory worth having.

Thomas Laxar
Stayed at hotel March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just returned from a holiday on the West Bank of Luxor where we stayed at the El Mesala Hotel. The hotel has a great location, just a few minutes from the public ferry which only cost 1 Egyptian pound to cross to the East Bank. The view from the hotel could have been fantastic but sadly it was slightly marred by the cruise ships moored up across the river, I would have loved to have seen it without them because the hotel is directly opposite Luxor Temple. The hotel is clean and bright, great shower and comfortable bed. Shower curtain was a bit of a nuisance but that was hardly going to spoil a great holiday. The food in the rooftop restaurant was some of the best we ate during our stay. The breakfast was the same every day but the manager made it very clear on the first night that we only had to ask for something different if we wanted but we were quite happy with an omelette, bread, fig jam, a banana & yoghurt & coffee/tea.
The pool area is secluded and well kept. There were times when we were lacking bath towels, pool towels or toilet paper but this was always remedied as soon as we mentioned it. This is not a 5* hotel, if you want all the extras go stay at the Winter Palace but if you are looking for a hotel on the West bank with a great location, helpful staff and reasonable room rates then I recommend the El Mesala Hotel.

Tip ~ There is a taxi driver called Mohammed with a red taxi that has a yellow sign on the door and back window that we used all the time ~ his fares were reasonable, he was always on time, his local knowledge was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. He has a little book that customers have signed. I think perhaps the hotel would have liked us to have booked trips through them but we preferred to make our own arrangements.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elefturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#12 of 54 in Luxor
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £15 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing