We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest, confortable and trying hard to please and improve service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Honest, confortable and trying hard to please and improve service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

An Oasis in a hassling city! The owners appreciated feedback and I Let him know in the morning about fixing the paint splattered tiles (ubiquitous in Egypt!), dodgy light, slightly blocked sink and TV not working, little things in the end in an otherwise comfortable, almost luxury, at a very good price Euro30 for three, in big beds,. They opened the new building adjacent in July 2010 and hope to have a bridge between the two buildings to accommodate parties and belly dancing (not my scene but good luck to them). They set to fix the problems that afternoon! We were guided there by a patient taxi driver who we did not trust at first (as usual) but who turned out to be a good man (and not a maniac on the road too!). Breakfast (good continental with 'American Tea' - teabag in cup with hot water - I explained the difference) on the roof overlooking the Nile and camels was a highlight, sunset would have been great too but we missed that (saw it another evening and swarms of birds flying downstream, spectacular!). We ate well in the restaurant, meat was the best we had in Egypt, although my Beef Curry and Bombay Potatoes was a bit like school curry! The owners are hard on their waiters and charged him for the meatballs that never arrived (despite his having written the order down) and the carrot salad never turned up too but we were so full both would have been too much!! We reimbursed the waiter and gave him a tip! They do try hard. Whilst other hotels (in the guides) were fully booked on Xmas Day night (we arrived at 21.15hrs after trying full hotels with a French family of four stuffed in a seven-seater Peugeot - that was the patient taxi driver - Mohammed - +20(0)1243 71132) they had empty rooms as they are not listed. We were MOST grateful that they did not rip us off and the room was the best of all our holiday. They restored our faith in humanity actually! The constant low background hum of the big Nile cruisers should be gone when the docks are moved upstream soon. They also produce a really useful leaflet - in real English - for tourists which we could have done with earlier! The website says it all with pictures. They say wi-fi in every room but we did not get it in 202, but they will soon. From the hotel you can walk into the countryside within a few minutes upstream along the Nile, great place to unwind and watch the bird-life at the backwater. The ferry is 200m away downstream, very convenient for popping over to the busy, noisy, hassle of the main town, although we did not bother as the peace just kept you there in the hotel! I gave them tips on how to get a star rating and they were very amenable to any advice. BTW El Mesala is Obelisk in Arabic. When it gets more popular then it may be more difficult to be accommodated at very short notice at peak times!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLondonSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    41
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tuscon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This little hotel is a delight situated as it is with the most fab views of the river and the floodlit luxor temple. We had never heard of the Mesala hotel, but we were recomended it by the owners of a nearby vacation rental, Villa Bahri, and boy, we were so glad we had taken their advice.
The owners are friendly and the room was clean and comfy. The star attraction though is the restaurant where we had the most delicious meals at the most reasonable prices. Their chef has worked all over and it shows in the quality and presentation of the food.We just loved the fact that we could dine looking over the river, eating super food, for less than the cost of a couple of drinks at the huge hotels over the river on the east bank.
Thanks to you all for a great few days, and special thanks to Villa Babri for their advice and guidance. I hope to be back and would recomended the west bank of luxor to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

I was introduced to Mohammed one of the charming owners through Ahmed and Yasmina,who run a self catering villa nearby who showed me around this well situated small hotel near to the motor boat landing from where you can be on the Luxor town side in a few minutes I took several meals here and all were freshly prepared to order and well cooked.All the rooms were very clean and well cared for and a big plus lovely LARGE fridge in the room.They arranged a felucca trip the on the nile for us, a hot picnic lunch was cooked by themselves and taken on board and served for us. The Aubergine dish was memorable !!The sunset on the nile never to be forgotten. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMajordomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Hotel El Mesala is an Egyptian owned hidden gem off the beaten path, and the value cannot be beat. My husband and I spent 3 nights here during our visit to Luxor. This hotel is located on the west bank and about a 30 + min drive from the airport, but because it is on the west bank the hotel is much quieter and has a relaxed pace which is hard to find in Luxor. We found this location after a reference from the owner of Villa Bahri. We flew into Luxor early in the morning so their driver efficiently met us at the airport, drove us to Karnack Temple and then safely delivered us to the hotel by early afternoon. We stayed in one of the corner rooms. It was sunny with a desk, wireless internet, and two windows. Our room was well appointed and everything was new, including the Air Con which kept us comfortable after a hot day exploring. I forgot to take a picture of the bathroom; it was clean and had its own water heater. We did not plan in detail our agenda in Luxor before arrival (we like to be spontaneous) and Wendy helped us to make arrangements, for driver and for a sunset Felucca ride with Omar and his brother. We decided to not hire a guide but did hire a driver for 2 days to VOK, tombs, and to drive us to Aswan so we could see temples along the way. Enjoyed it all including exploring Luxor on our own. The price was very reasonable and our driver was always on time and helpful. When we were not out at VOK, we ate our meals at the hotel restaurant (breakfast included). The food was the best of our entire trip, and safe to eat (I have a sensitive tummy). No kidding, really, really good food. Egyptian dishes, Indian, Mediterranean are on the menu. Bar was open during lunch and dinner. (See my review under restaurants for more detail). We enjoyed taking the public ferry, or hiring a private boat taxi for 5 Egyptian pounds, when we wanted to join the crowds exploring Luxor located just across the Nile. We did not see the garden view rooms and there are two buildings with rooms, 3 have views over the River Nile. If you like crowds and lots of tourists, stay in Luxor. Having just left Cairo we were ready for a more relaxed pace. This is a great place for the budget minded traveler or for someone who wants to be off the beaten path and still accessible to the sites. The staff was very efficient, attentive, and kept everything clean. The buses from the large boats shuttle folks across the Nile and use an adjacent parking area, the activity did not disturb us in the least but is worth mentioning. We enjoyed watching the local activity from our balcony and the views of Luxor and the river Nile. Most of all we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Luxor and in large part it was due to the nice, comfortable and clean accommodation, excellent food and most importantly the warm and friendly staff at El Mesala.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MK_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

El Mesala Hotel was very nice hotel
Great Food great service nile view
was fantastic

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greathassn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We attended a social function at El Mesala Hotel. The food was delicious and extremely reasonable. It was a buffet supper served in the garden, with wonderful views of the East Bank of Luxor and Luxor Temple. There was a great variety and everything was perfectly cooked. The staff were extremely attentive and saw to our every need. And the home-made lemon and chocolate cakes were wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonstoneLuxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.3 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Property: El Mesala Hotel
Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing