We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“What a Wonderful Place - Clean, Comfortable...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
The entrance of Home Sweet Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance of Home Sweet Home
The pool with view on the Theban hills The L shaped livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
25 reviews
The entrance of Home Sweet Home
The pool with view on the Theban hills
The L shaped livingroom
View on the Theban hills from the back of Home Sweet Home
The spacious master bedroom
A small part of the bathroom, it also has a toilet and sink
The open brick kitchen is fully equipped
The balcony on the Nile side
The surroundings of Home Sweet Home
Sunset by the Nile on the West Bank of Luxor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Luxor, Nile River Valley

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kathy L
Arbofield, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Place - Clean, Comfortable & Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My partner Mark & I have just returned from two awesome weeks in Luxor at Home Sweet Home (HSH) on the West Bank. Ahmed, Ragep and Mohamed were there 24/7 to help with anything we needed, but discrete if we were being quiet. We arranged several tailor made trips via HSH to historical sites near and far. All the arrangements were made on our behalf with meticulous attention to detail and at very competitive prices. The pool is cleaned twice a day and is a joy to jump into after a long day trekking the temples and tombs. An added bonus for us as dog lovers was the warm welcome home each night, not only from our hosts, but Blackie and Lilly the dogs. We really had a truly relaxing time and saw the most amazing sites. But as there is so much to see around Luxor, we could not see it all in one trip, so we must go back. We would not hesitate to recommend Home Sweet Home to anyone wishing to visit Luxor.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed, aircon, having people on hand 24/7 to help with any queries
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bartonwoo...
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spacious, spotless and superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Home Sweet Home was very easy to book, and communications with the owner (in Holland) were easy and prompt. The only inaccuracy in the description may be that it doesn't adequately convey what a truly beautiful apartment this is. It is spotless and spacious, with a big private balcony, a rooftop sitting area (with BBQ), a pretty garden, and a private swimming pool which was well maintained. All the furnishings are high quality - no "tat". The kitchen is very well equipped and the huge bathroom has a full length bath, not just a shower, and constant hot water. The owners even start you off with some food basics. The beds are really comfortable too. There's excellent wi-fi reception, and a satellite TV (not that we had much time to watch).

We were very well looked after by Ahmed, the friendly local agent. He speaks good English and is happy to help with trips to some of the local sites at a fair price. He also met us from the train station on arrival and returned us there when we left - all part of the package. Ahmed's support is well balanced - available when needed, but not intrusive.

Luxor is an amazing place, and we loved every minute. Of course there's a fair amount of hassle on the streets from touts trying to sell you souvenirs or take carriage rides or felucca sails (both of which we did). It's worth Googling about this so you get the picture in advance. But the beauty of Home Sweet Home is that it is on the West bank, i.e. opposite Luxor city. It is just a short ferry trip (E£1 by public ferry, or negotiable E£5-10 by private motor boat) from the ferry quay by Luxor temple to the West Bank village. This has reasonable shops and some good restaurants next to the river. The apartment is in a rural location surrounded by fields about 1 km away. From the balcony you'll have a ringside seat to watch traditional farming methods. There are more shops in the village down the lane (15 mins beautiful walk along the irrigation canal).

If you haven't been to Luxor, now is a great time to go. Don't be put off visiting Egypt because of news reports of trouble. That's a VERY long way away, and doesn't affect tourists (we also stayed a week in Cairo).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The apartment, the location, the freindly service.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHtg
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Luxor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We liked our 10-day stay in the beautiful appartment. The appartment is spacious, very clean and comfortable and is situated in a quiet area with beautiful views on the mountains and the Nile. Just as the other times we have been to Luxor, we hired bicycles. With the bike all the interesting sites of Luxor are within a 30 minutes reach. The staff is very friendly and they do everything to feel at home. So we are very satisfied about Home Sweet Home and recommend this place!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort and quiet location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nheby
New Egypt, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This apartment is very quiet and relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay. A beautiful apartment from the moment you step in, in a very modern updated way where furniture, fixtures, design and decor are concerned. Nice, clean and very tasteful home stay in a safe and quiet residential area. Has a nice swimming pool and very friendly people. It was being at home in a very foreign land.If you are looking for a place to feel at home and relaxed then look no further, home sweet home is the BEST!!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very quiet, friendly people. I feel safe being in this apartment
Liked least: None, co'z home sweet home meet all my needs.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunyia F
Salem, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country settin perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I had the most wonderful experience here with Mohamed, Margreet, Ahmed, Mahmoud, Ragep, and of course Lilly; all of whom have been most gracious and welcoming, Upon my arrival, I asked if there were an rules and the response was, "Rules?! The rule is to have fun!" And fun I had, I will miss the spacious and comfortable apartment, never-ending views from the gorgeous balconies, swimming in the perfectly cool pool (for a Northerner, it's perfect), the quiet serenity of the country-side, the walks through the fields to the Nile, and the beautiful courtyard with fruit-bearing trees. But most of all I will miss each and every person I have met. This has truly felt like a home to me with the most wonderful family. I will assuredly return as soon as I can! Salam

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The country atmosphere and the neverending resources available to us
Liked least: The mosqitoes - that's the only negative aspect of my entire trip!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b1uecee
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“I will certainly advise others to use it and i will certainly come back there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

I spent two nights in the accommodation as part of 7 nights i spent in Egypt.
the owner is excellent in communication and they make you feel welcomed and looked after well (warmly given the welcome back on my arrival for some necessary stuff needed for my stay, the owner also organized the taxi and the driver to take me and stay with me while visiting the different temples in the area ...)
the property itself nice, clean had its own clean swimming pool ,i had the apartment which was very clean, tidy and equipped with all what needed and made my stay very comfortable.
the building is secured

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the warm welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailady
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic place beautiful villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

must say the place was really nice and quiet and beautiful surroundings
from our apartment you can see the valley of the kings and at night when its lit up with the lights it is so beautiful as was the apartment
manager mohamed and staff nothing was to much for them
pool was good (but mohamed get some umbrellas for some shade at the pool side !)
very clean place really enjoyed our stay

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the pool and the quietness
Liked least: no shade at the pool the only thing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing