We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salahadeen: The Best Meal Of My Trip (Ameen!)”
Review of Salahadeen - CLOSED

Salahadeen
Price range: US$16 - US$20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Salahadeen Feast - 15 different local dishes served over 3 courses - an experience to savor and remember!
Reviewed 30 March 2013

As others have noted, the restaurant isn't open every day so it's best to call ahead and make a reservation. That said, the decor, the splendid food and the overall atmosphere make it an unforgettable meal in a marvelous little out-of-the-way neighborhood of Old Luxor.
With its splendid soups and salads with marvelous entrees, dinner with Mara at Salahadeen will be one of the highlights of your trip to Luxor--it certainly was one of mine.

It's located in the wonderful "Mara House" which would now be my top-recommendation for anyone thinking of visiting Luxor--an easy or carriage ride from anywhere you'd like to go. The rooms are beautifully decorated little "suites" and the staff is extremely fine. You might start with drinks on the rooftop and continue from there--or ask for an after dinner beverage overlooking the old town...

Your hostess, Mara, is a splendid Irish mystic whose taste and judgement is impeccable. Her "Mara House" is the "private Egypt" of which I had dreamed and her hospitality was marvelous!
She can also provide any tour of the area that you might wish--from Abydos to Karnak--and arrange for an airport pickup should you need one. The service is excellent!

Enjoy the experience--but remember to call ahead as it takes all day to prepare one of Mara's Egyptian feasts!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Salahadeen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were lucky enough to be staying at the Mara House, the sister hotel to Salahadeen, but weren't sure when we arrived if the restaurant would be open. How lucky we were that it was. Mara only opens when she has enough people wanting to eat there, as she's a way from the tourist strip and there's no passing trade who might pop in on the off chance. However, even if you are staying in the grandest of Luxor's grand hotels, make a booking, hop in a caleche and get yourself down to the Salahadeen for the feast. It was without doubt the best meal we ate in a week of very good meals in Egypt (who said Egyptian food isn't good?). It's a three course extravaganza of the very best of local cooking (cooked by a local, too, Mara's excellent chef, Amr). But three courses doesn't really give you a sense of it. You start with two soups, then move on to an array of different dishes, presented mezze style, including the quintessentially Egyptian molokhia, fabulously spicy pickled vegetables, foul medames and umpteen other things - all delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hotelsarelovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Salahadeen not only looks beautiful (decor) but the food is excellent and you can't find most of these local cookings elsewhere. When I heard it is open, had to go there again. Reservation is needed. At first you might think the cost is more than in other restaurants - but - they have lots of different food and i just couldn't move when I finished eating. If you eat starters etc. in any other restaurant the cost will be the same if not more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daniellax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We tried to eat at this venue but the door was looked and no one answered, the road outside was a building site - we were very disappointed to not be able to try the cuisine :-(

Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara_House, Owner at Salahadeen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

I am so sorry we were not open when you called. As per our website it is a must to make an advance reservation. We are not an ordinary restaurant and only cook if and when we have reservations. Even calling on the day before is not sufficient notice.

We only do one service when we are open and that is a Feast of 15 traditional family food in which you are served all 15 dishes over 3 courses.

We are not in the normal tourist area - we are behind the train station and do not have any 'passing trade' to benefit from. Apart from that the number of tourists in Luxor at the moment is so low that we are rarely open. So, please anyone else wanting to experience our wonderful feast - you should make your reservation even before you come to Luxor so we know we have enough to schedule it for specific days.

On the other hand I can also say that the mid-Dec to mid-January period is looking extremely busy and our situation for that period will be over-booking so you need to book in advance for a different reason.

Wishing everyone a pleasant time in Egypt and for those coming to Egypt for Christmas I hope it will exceed your expectations.

Mara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Mara House is supremely comfortable and the dining room is a beautiful and relaxing venue for the wide and varied feast which is prepared when there are enough takers in the hotel. The meal consists of a large number of small dishes served on one large tray; having read other Trip Advisor reviews, it appears that others had had these served sequentially: starters, hot & cold etc. In our case, we started with a choice of two soups and then the rest all came together. I think it might have been nicer to have the hot and cold dishes served separately, but the range was excellent and the food all freshly prepared. Mara House staff are extremely helpful and attentive at all times, and it is a pleasure to be so well looked after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara_House, Owner at Salahadeen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Hi Jackie,

You are wonderful for taking the time to write us up here on the Salahadeen Feast - thank you so much. Good food and flavours are important to me and Egyptian dishes are wonderful in their variety - so glad you enjoyed it.

We always serve the main course - 12 dishes combining hot and cold together because that is the way Egyptians have their meals, it's the combo that makes for the great experience, though that is not what we are used to. I think the Egyptian way of eating much more satisfying and enjoyable than our usual European selection of meat, veg and potatoes/rice!

The third course is the dessert and kirkadee. There was a table in the restaurant the night you had the Feast and it was their second night dining with us - they did not want the full meal so I think that is why you thought they had the hot and cold dishes separately.

Again, I truly appreciate your taking the time to recommend our Salahadeen Feast.
Best wishes and thanks,
Mara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salahadeen also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing