We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, nice food, nice environment, 好美味的食物,強烈推薦” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams of Memnon - CLOSED

Dreams of Memnon
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice people, nice food, nice environment, 好美味的食物,強烈推薦”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have pleasant time here. Abdoul and Mido the owners are the rare nice people in Egypt, especially in the touristy Luxor. They teach us how to play backgammon. Their food is good and they obtain the ingredients from their backyard farm or obtain from nearby small farms. They have internet access so we can share our picture of Memnon, it is so near, just in front. Their menu price is the same for local Egyptians and tourists. We like this fairness to all and it reflects the integrity of the owners.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MariayAdley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
196 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Dreams of Memnon Cafe/Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times during our stay in Luxor, and each time we have been met by Abdoul and Ali both very nice gentlemen, After the usual greetings we have enjoyed some very good and tasty dishes. With a unique view of the Colossus of Memnon just across the road from the restaurant while you enjoy your meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Observer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food with a View! Memnon Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Paid a return visit to this lovely restaurant last night. As usual, the food was excellent - tahina to die for, chicken curry, rice, vegetables, salad and a free pud of bananas in syrup. This is Egyptian cooking as it should be, simple and full of flavour. The free kharkaday drink was so good, we had two. To sit at night next to the illuminated Colossi is an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoonstoneLuxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing view,super low cost delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

To sit in an open fronted restaurant looking out onto the floodlit Collossi of Memnon for an evening meal is an unforgetable experience. The menu is varied,the smple dishes are delicious and the low prices amazing..My meal cost the £E36(around £3.30),and included a free fresh fruit dessert. and kharkaday drink..The service was prompt and friendly.
I will return on my next Egyptian visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo-Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“REAL EGYPT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were staying in an apartment not far away ( villa Bahri )and our hosts brought us here - we had some of the best food of our holiday and the view was something else.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacjon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dreams of Memnon also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing