We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$50
US$45
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$32
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$33
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Saint Joseph Hotel(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Iberotel Luxor(Luxor)
US$36
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$94
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
US$48
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Al Hambra Hotel(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$19
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveller rating
832
278
94
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
278
94
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter palaceroyal barhistoric hotelroyal suitegrand staircaseold palaceagatha christieking faroukhoward carterjacket and tiela cornichegarden viewsteeped in historycorniche restaurantswimming poolpool restaurantan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at the Pavilion last year and re-booked for this year. We were upgraded to the Winter Palace as the Pavilion is still closed, post revolution.

I would never have booked this hotel as its not really my style. However, we enjoyed our stay and is was an experience to stay in a palace. Just like living in a stately home only you can sit on the chairs, walk on the carpets and touch the antiques. The main rooms are huge, stylishly furnished and everything gleams from daily cleaning and polishing. The corridors are wide with beautiful carpets. Our room was lovely with a view of the Nile from a tiny overfurnished balcony. Breakfast seemed very hushed and formal with waiter service for eggs and tea/coffee, and a buffet for the rest. Lovely food but far, far too many cakes.

There are a lot of steps to climb in and out of the front and rear of the hotel, and the lifts seemed to stick on the 3rd floor, so we did a lot of stair climbing. We also had 2 power cuts at shower time, not very good.

When we return to Luxor I will book again at the Pavilion as I preferred staying there and I was looking forward to the re-furbished rooms. The lifts work also and the balconies are much bigger. Breakfast is nicer and you can eat outside in the garden, also the restaurant is not so stuffy with more normal food.

The building work on the new wing of the hotel is ongoing, they were filling a huge hole with sand during the week we were there and this could get very noisy when they progress further. The garden was being dug up all along by the old hotel, maybe to de with the new building?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We were very lucky to be upgraded to this hotel, having booked with the Pavillon next door - the cheaper less luxurious alternative (I like to think it was to thank us for not cancelling our trip after the recent troubles in Egypt, but it was probably easier for them to have everybody under one roof :)

The building is just amazing, inside and out (I think it used to be an actual palace). The garden and the pool area are very beautiful and well maintained. The room was a good size, with a marble bathroom and lovely L'Occitane toiletries. Our balcony overlooked the garden - the other side of the hotel gets a view of the Nile.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and served in a gorgeous room with a view of the Nile. They also do an afternoon tea in a different room - would be worth doing for the room alone!
We didn't do this, but if you ask I think you can see the Royal Suite, where many famous historical characters have stayed.

The location is brilliant as well - a few minutes' walk to Luxor Temple, market, restaurants, etc.

If you go down the stairs and to the right there is a little tourist office (not Thomas Cook). They organised a couple of tours for us for a good price (make sure you ask for Bob as your guide, he is not only an enthusiastic tour guide but also an Egyptologist working on his PhD).

There were no signs of the recent troubles in Luxor and we felt perfectly safe the whole time. Go there now - we had the surreal experience of having the Temple of Hatchepsut all to ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Its an expensive place in Luxor. If you can afford it I am sure you will enjoy the most elegant, classic, beautiful stay in Upper Egypt. This hotel has history in every corner, the architecture, the design, the rooms, everything, plus a perfect Nile View. I enjoyed my early morning walk by Corniche there everyday

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyZohney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Winter Palace is by far the best hotel in Luxor in terms of;
Location: Next to Luxor Temple, by the Nile and facing the Valley of the Kings.
History: One of the oldest hotels in Luxor (bar the new block)
Gardens and Pool: Lush gardens with a beautiful range of trees and flowers, many planted over 100 yes ago. Lovely big pool including pool bar.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We travelled to Luxor from Cairo on the train and were ready for a bit of luxury. We booked online direct with the hotel's sister hotel (the Winter Pavillon), but they did not have the booking. It didn't matter as there were plenty of rooms and we were upgraded from the Pavillon to the Winter Palace. The hotel was an easy ten minute walk from the train station so it was nice not to have to speak to the taxi drivers...

Needless to say there was no sign of any problems resulting from the recent revolution in Egypt. All the action was in Cairo and the curfew in place there was not being enforced in Luxor.

The building was opulent and well maintained. Plenty of high ceilings and impressive collonial style. The room was big, clean and comfortable and had a nice balcony overlooking the lush gardens. The wifi connection was weak in our room on the third floor, but seemed better on the lower floors. good. Otherwise everything in the room was great as you'd expect for the price.

Breakfast was excellent and varied.

The location was good too as it was directly opposite the Luxor Palace. We used the little tourist office next door (not the Thomson one, which was more expensive) who arranged an knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide called Bob for us for a decent price.

Recommended. Not the cheapest and the wifi isn't great, but otherwise I can't fault it. I'd also recommend Egypt as a destination. There are hardly any tourists at the moment so you get the sights to yourself!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritTravellingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews