We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egyptian dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Egyptian dreams”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

IThe winter Palace is the most favourite Hotel for me to use during many holidays to Luxor .

My Family also agree with me. The Staff are so helpful and so willing to please, in addition it is so amazing to sit around the pool and read without any disturbance.
The bedrooms are very appropriate for the Tourist who likes to combine the homely atmosphere, togetrher with the exotic location is in my view the perfect holiday.

II have been lucky to meet an English lady called Debbie who has orgaganised most of my Tours for me. I must say the Tours that she organises for me are always a great experience and very much enjoyed,. ..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    239
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
496
135
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in December 2011 after a Nile cruise blighted by the gastro-enteritis. Very warm, friendly and helpfull and a haven from the aggressive caleche drivers and other "merchants" on the Corniche. Seasoned Luxor traveller had to be accompanied to ATM by a Bellboy. Quite a change since revolution. Hotel great but give the 1886 restaurant a miss as it is very overrated

Room Tip: above third floor-to avoid the nightly anti mosqito activity in gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToxtethTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a fantastic historic building with real character. Great location by the Nile, a lovely pool. Comfortable rooms. Two things let it down: the service is patchy and the food average.

I understand that it used to be a government run hotel and this shows in the staff attitude. You get the impression from some that they run the hotel for their benefit - a request to move a table into the sun was turned down "because of a big party" (which never showed up ...).

As to the food - the 1886 is not "fine dining" and the Corniche is catering food.

Having said that, the hotel responded well to our criticism and some members of staff were attentive.

Room Tip: The Nile View is lovely, but the garden rooms might be more to some tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here in mid-December to celebrate our anniversary. Got a room upgrade to a gorgeous room overlooking the garden. Hotel staff very friendly attentive to all our needs. The bar was excellent - great snacks when you're not starving for a full meal. Garden was beautiful. Nice restaurant by the pool - a nice place to rest after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBY_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Still a grand dame of a hotel. A balcony with a view over the Nile to the Valley of Kings - and no, we didn't find it too noisy. Music at the afternoon tea would have helped the atmosphere, but this hotel has more than enough character to make up for it - unlike its sister property in Aswan. Glad we stayed here three nights and only one at the Cataract in Aswan.
Grounds are extensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth, staffs
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We recently stayed in Luxor for one month (this is our fourth visit to Luxor) and we always stay at the Winter Place. The rooms are excellent. The garden is wonderful and the smell from the flowers (especially at night) is breathtaking. The sun beds around the pool are extremely comfortable. The staff are very friendly and make us feel welcome when we return each year. I would highly recommend this hotel and we hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: We prefer to overlook the garden rather than the swimming pool and a higher floors provides the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

we went for diner yesterday in the high class restaurant, hoping to enjoy really high class Sofitel standard, especially in such an amazing palace where so many stars went to spend time from A Christie, to Chruchill or more recently Sarkozy.
Nothing to say with the bar, very friendly and the cocktail menu was impressive of creativity and forgotten classic. Had the Tom Collins, and I think It'll be from now on my cocktail for 2012.
But why is whith this caothic dance of waiters to deal with a credit card machine not working. Seriously not very efficient, and you would expect more from the staff. Also, no possible transfer of cocktails bill to the restaurant?! how weird
I've nothing to say about the dining room, almost as beautiful as any Alain Ducasse at Plaza Athenée in Paris....very chic, superb silver plates and crystal glasses worth the detour as being the original marked from the WP logo...chic
Good service at the table....friendly, nice, attentive,...
But where the downfall was with the food, from the menu itself, I would say I was impressed, being french critic in a magazine, I was suprise by the level of complexity.
However, in the end, not to say that the food was not good, but I was expeting more from the decription. in the end simple food (don't get me wrong....good products) but used with no real creativity.
The cooking of the fish was nice, but too basic, no real uplift there. The lamb was certainly overcooked and bit chewy.
You can't expect much from this price I have to say, as it would be the price of a sunday roast in London or a trendy low cost restaurant in Paris...so cheap in the end. But i'm assuming that for an Egypt level it must be huge price. So i'm doing the advocate of people believing that Sofitel is high quality in the region, I afraid it is not. You better go in a local restaurant.
However, please got there and take pictures...the palace is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince75016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing