We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nile view rooms noisy but cannot complain about the upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nile view rooms noisy but cannot complain about the upgrade!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

SOFITEL WINTER PALACE
CHECK-IN:
Check-in was fast and efficient and you are made to feel welcome - simply by how they seat you in the old antique furniture that lies around the lobby and bring everything needed for check-in to you.

ROOMS DAY 1:
We had two rooms booked (one for my parents and one for my brother and I) and we were given interconnecting rooms, which was nice. The twin beds were put right next to each other with no gap. These beds were quite harder than the usual Sofitel MyBed I have experienced at Sofitels in Melbourne, Dubai and Munich (to name a few). While they were not uncomfortable, they were much harder than the standard Sofitel bed I have experienced.

TV - was a small widescreen LCD with 30 channels and average reception. No DVD player in the room, though the TV did have HDMI input for those who want to connect their PC to the TV. No USB input however for external hard drives.

Bathroom - was tiny and cramped. The toilet was behind the door (no big deal) and it had a shower-over-bath combination.

The complimentary ethernet internet connection was extremely slow and kept cutting in and out. The Wifi in the room was not much better either.

We had Nile View rooms on the second floor. Note that while the view from these rooms is nice (trees do block some of the view being on the second floor - the third floor views are unobstructed) it is very noisy with the traffic going by and honking their horns like Egyptians do. The rooms on the garden view side would be much quieter.

Also there were a few mosquitoes buzzing and sucking our blood through the night. Don't bother trying to kill them either - the ceiling is like four meters high. We had to wear insect repellent to get to sleep.

There was no hot water on the first day for the entire day, which was a huge inconvenience after flying down from Cairo that day. The hotel did deliver platters of fruit and nibbles, but I didn't really want food - I wanted a hot shower.


ROOMS DAY 2:
Our hot water was working when I woke up at about 0530 the following morning, which was a relief. However the hot water was still not working in our parent's room when we left for the Valley of the Kings at about 0700.

Upon returning to the hotel at approximately 1400, the hot water was still not working in our parent's room and the hotel pre-empted any complaints or issues by saying they would upgrade them to a suite. As an added touch, they also upgraded my brother and I and we were all brought up to the Howard Carter Opera Suite! This room was on the third floor and was simply amazing with two bedrooms (one with a queen bed and the other with two singles) with a separate living room between them. Each bedroom had its own huge bathroom and television (the living room TV had a DVD player). The furniture was of very high quality. The shower in the bathroom was wall-mounted and positioned that if you turned it on with the curtain open a lot of water would end up on the floor.

We could not find the ethernet connection in this room for internet and the Wifi was stronger in this room, but still cut out for periods of time.

The view from the room was fantastic with unobstructed panoramic Nile views, but still came with the noises of traffic and people yelling at tourists to sell them horse chariot rides.

The hotel also extended us an invitation for afternoon tea in the Victoria Lounge, which was a fancy high tea with scones and little nibbles with very attentive service from our waitperson.


FOOD:
Breakfast was quite good with the usual large Sofitel spread of food. Each table has an Egg Menu and the eggs are fantastic! The hot foods changed day to day so I was a little disappointed the second morning there was no beef bacon, but the beef sausages were good too. There is a choice of about six teas on the table to choose from. There is also the usual selection of juices (both normal and diet), cereals, breads, fruits and yoghurts and desserts.

Room service at this hotel was surprisingly well priced and it was welcome to see that the cost on the menu was inclusive of all taxes and service charges (unlike every other hotel we have stayed at in Egypt which puts a 10% city tax and 12% service charge on all items). The food was a good quality and delivered promptly.

We did not dine in the restaurants (opted for room service) but the menus look good and are also decently priced for a five star hotel.


FACILITIES:
The garden at the back of the Palace is simply amazing to walk through. They employ a team of twelve gardeners and the garden is kept very tidy. Keep off the grass, of course.
The pool area is something out of a remote island resort. There is a 25m pool for lap swimming and there is a shallower pool with a swim-up bar and about 15 "stools" around it. There was about 40-50 deck chairs around the pool with very comfortable cushions. There is also a bar with seating and food options available poolside, as well as a sun lounge bar about ten meters away.

The pool water was far too cold for me to use (water temp was 22 degrees) and they closed the pool at 1700, which was quite early. On top of that, they had already started packing down the lounges and stacking the cushions when we got to the pool area at 1600 - it would have been nice if they waited to do this when the pool actually closed rather than before!


SUMMARY:
While the hot water being out hotelwide for an entire day was completely unacceptable - when the hot water in one of our rooms continued to still not work (there were a couple other small issues with their room too) the hotel pre-empted any complaints or scenes by upgrading us to a room that was simply amazing (and out of our budget at about $1500 per night).

The level of customer service shown to make our stay enjoyable and ensure we left with a smile was fantastic and the staff were real ambassadors of the Sofitel brand.

PROS:
Lovely old building
Great customer service
Nice food at a reasonable price

CONS:
Nile View rooms noisy from traffic - almost impossible to sleep until late
Internet very slow if you have a connection at all
Mosquitoes are a problem!
Pool not heated
No fitness centre (that we could find)

Room Tip: Nile view rooms very noisy. The view is better on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maelstrom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comments in view of doing the necessary changes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    234
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
186
478
132
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a fantastic old hotel, I was staying in the cheaper, newer Pavilion Wing. Rooms are very quiet & comfortable. Service immaculate. Gardens are a haven from the craziness outside. Mosquitoes are a problem. Pool is fantastic but NOT heated at the moment as no gas! Food not cheap but very nice. Use rear exit to hotel to escape madness at front.
I would stay again if I came to Luxor but not sure I will.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the Mosquitoes in view of doing the necessary changes as pool is heated now.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 11 days. It was a happy stay. We loved the hotel. The pool and gardens were spectacular. The food was excellent, and completely safe. The service was swift and courteous. The room was magnificent. It was a haven from the incresingly desperate run of touts that feature in Egyptian tourist destinations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maynard_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

The staff at this Palace deserve credit for their genuine care and hospitality. This was an amazing Hotel for its beauty, it's awesome gardens and shisha bar. We were upgraded to a bigger and better room with a splendid view on arrival. I couldn't fault anything with this place or its food as we were always spoilt for choice.

Shukran to all the wonderful staff! :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan, italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

What to say....outstanding historical place! I'm here very often during winter time for working reasons. This a the place where you really rest. Perfect in any corner, excellent accommodations, great restaurant, great food. Gentle, educated and always ready to help staff. A breathtaking garden with a giant pool. Yes, it's all true! You must try it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nightflyer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Sofitel Winter Palace, Luxor, Egypt is situated on the banks of the great river Nile. This former palace still contains all the luxury and charm of yester year. Note that there are two hotels. One is the actual palace itself and an adjoining hotel. I would recommend splashing the cash and staying in the main palace hotel. There is a world of difference.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel for views of the Nile and brilliant sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Dear Mr. Kahil, 12/13/12

Thank you very much for the nice welcoming note and upgrade to the Royal Suite (Rm 343)..I have had a wonderful 5-day adventure in Luxor, seeing ALL the major sights
and enjoying your hotel particularly breakfast, garden with fountain, trees, and birds,
and especially your team most notably Monia in guest relations and my day maid
(Baghdadia Hussien).

I have stayed at all three Grand Touring Hotels of Egypt, and yours is the only one that employs women - Good for you!

Sincerely,

Everett Daly

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EverettDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing