We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the banks of the Magical Nile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this most magical of hotels on the banks of the River Nile. We stayed in the Old Wing (which we always do) and enjoyed the character of its glorious past, with wide corridors leading to the flowing staircase down to the lobby, the Library Bar is quite unique and the piano player is worth the visit alone playing effortlessly while you have your pre-dinner cocktail. The 1886 Restaurant is a joy to behold and an opportunity to dress up and be truly spoilt by the restaurant staff, and listening to the gentle guitar music whilst you enjoy sumptuous food. The gardens are a credit to those who look after them, take the opportunity of a walk in the evening. The poolside restaurant offer good service, quality and choice of food, the pool itself is immaculately looked after the pool staff will make sure you are taken care of with clean towels every day. Room service is available 24 hours a day, we took afternoon tea and cookies on our balcony overlooking the River Nile every afternoon. If in the future the hotel has a makeover, like the Old Cataract Hotel in Aswan it would be hoped the hotel retains its character which is quite unique.

Room Tip: The Nile view rooms in the Old Wing offer wonderful views of the West Bank, but can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenbyTravellers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room,the High tea,the 1886 restaurant, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

If you need a weeks holiday and just want to relax and chill out we could not recommend a better place.History is all around, sun sun sun, amazing gardens, great pool ,great staff and anything you can think of or require ,just ask.Pool temp 21 deg.The gardens at night smells unreal nice.Large bats can be seen in the garden at night.Staff at the hotel could not do enough but did not bother you, all good.

Room Tip: corner suites , 3 rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

There is so much more that could be done with this property, but that is probably not going to happen until tourism returns to Luxor. The front desk staff, pool, and bar are the best assets in this property. The rest is forgettable as the property needs a genuine makeover (yes, the age and history is interesting) and the service is barely average, especially at the concierge, main restaurant, and pool side dining. Our room didn't get cleaned until 4pm as well. I could go on, but a historic property can always offset age with amazing service and that is clearly not the case here. Accor could and should be doing better.

Room Tip: Facing the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornell_Hotelie_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comments in view of doing the necessary changes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We just returned from vacation and a wonderful week, in Winter Palace Luxor.
Located on the banks of Nile river and next to Luxor temple, Winter Palace is truly one of the most charming and original hotels and buildings that we have ever been to. Almost all rooms and facility have very much kept its original glamour and glory; the Royal Bar with its wonderful old library, the Victorian room for an afternoon tea, the Lobby itself, the vast hallways ect. In fact there is so much more potential for this place than what is being presented. For example, in addition to not having a fitness centre, the Tennis court is also not being used and closed down.
The hotel also has a beautiful and well maintained garden with a very nice pool and okay poolside restaurant. Rooms are spaciouse, with a large bathroom and bathtub and fairly clean, though they could benefit from a good hoovering during the cleaning services.

All rooms have their own safety deposits box, and it is clearly mentioned that the hotel does not take any resposibility for valueables which are left in the room, and we recommend that you follow the hotel's advice and do not leave any valuables (mainly cash) outside of the box!

The building and garden are undoubtedly beautiful and glamorouse but the highlight of this hotel is its staff and management, who are extremely friendly and courtiouse and make your trip and stay so much more pleasant. We were travelling with our 15 months old son, who was all over the place and all staff were treating him very kindly and friendly.
During our stay, my partner had a birthday and they have noticed this from his passport so they surprised us with a birthday cake and gathered all staff to celebrate his birthday with us. We were truly touched by this gesture, and felt very much at home!
Another thing worth doing while there, is to book yourself a Massage which can be done for women and men with same sex masseuse, and both are very good and professional masseuses.

Overall, we had a great experience and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Both garden view and Nile view rooms have their own charm, but Nile view rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YaldaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the Victorian Lounge, the Garden, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comments about the fitness center and the Tennis court in view of doing the necessary changes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Winter Pavilion last week. It was very good and the staff could not do enough for us.
The problem is that we had to have our meals at the Winter Palace.
Service at breakfast poor - no teaspoons or eggcups and my friend's teacup was filthy!
We ate at 1886, supposedly a formal restaurant so we dressed up,- but there were customers there in a sundress and shorts and cans of drink on the table. also the prices did not reflect the poor quality of the food.
We appeciate that times are hard but they need to keep their reputation intact.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the food in view of doing the necessary changes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and I were wrapping up our visit to Egypt and thought we'd treat ourselves to what we hoped to be a nice, formal dinner with wine. When we arrived, we were told we needed to pay 50 Egyptian pounds EACH just to enter the lobby, with the 'benefit' of being able to apply that fee towards dinner if we chose to stay.

During our travels, we've been to far more upscale places like the Norfolk in Nairobi, the Oriental in Bangkok and Raffles in Singapore. None of those hotels ever felt the need to charge people to simply enter their premises. We were so put off that we decided to simply leave and have dinner elsewhere. Hard to believe that this was a Sofitel policy, rather than just some local interpretation, but they lost our business that night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank TTinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Pavillion Winter, which is in the Winter Palace Complex between the 10th and 22nd of April 2013. Yet again, the weather was wonderful and the service in the hotel was exceptional. They are even putting in ramps around the pool for disabled guests.
The problem in the area is that there are not enough tourists. I can only assume that its because travellers are frightened as to their security, but please WORRY NOT as everything is exactly as it was 5 years ago. Yes, there is a bit more hassle as competition for the tourist pound is intense, but a polite no and avoiding eye contact does the trick.
We are going back in October, so COME ON YOU BRITS, come back to Luxor, you will get the warmest of welcomes

Room Tip: In the Pavillion, try and get a room on the 4th Floor or above, as the garden and pool views are spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Pavillon Winter Luxor location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing