We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I know foreIgn office say not to go but I went and spent 2 weeks in the Pavillion in a room over looking the garden and swimming pools, the room was big with king size bed, bathroom was also big and I had a bathrobe and slippers, had a turn down service which was a nice touch and fresh towels every night, flowers on bed and also had flowers in a vase. House keeping kept the room clean each day. Breakfast was served in the Palace and you could have asked for anything as no buffet service due to low occupancy and staff very attentive nothing was too much trouble for them. Swimming pool was lovely and staff again were great. Eat lunch most days at poolside bar although expensive the food was good and big portions. Gardens were lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wills01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Pavillon Winter location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    240
    88
    43
    22
See reviews for
196
500
140
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Fabulous Hotel in Luxor while taking a Nile river cruise, its like stepping back in time such elegance the service was wonderful the room was very large and well appointed. The front of the Hotel faced the Nile and we looked the across the river to the Valley of the Kings, we woke early in the morning and saw several Hot Air Balloons quietly flying over the valley, the next day we joined them and it was a very exciting experience. The garden at the back of the Hotel has an excellent restaurant serving Egyptian style cuisine, also another serving Italian style cuisine,having a great meal it was lovely to stroll around the beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of Hotel have a fabulous view of the Valley of the Kings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the cuisines, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is a royal place, you will enjoy the stay in the amazing well decorated luxury rooms, unique classic restaurant, royal garden, the only thing missing is to see a king or princess beside you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolimanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of the history of the Sofitel Winter palace Luxor, the spacious room and the Garden. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sofitel winter Palace Luxor.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beautiful location, stunning gardens, friendly staff, amazing rooms, gorgeous pool. Everything about this hotel was perfect. We really didn't want to leave! Highly recommend the room service breakfast -ate on our balcony each morning. We had the pool to ourselves - now really is the perfect time to visit. We felt totally safe at all times - both in the hotel and around Luxor. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Egypt_girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Amazing old world hotel which is a great base for many of the historical sites in Luxor. Room was a little dated but it was lovely having a balcony overlooking the Nile. Breakfasts were excellent, possibly the best array I have seen anywhere. Food was very good in all the restaurants and there are great seating areas both inside and out to relax or have a drink. Staff were very pleasant. Have very fond memories of this grand hotel and its gardens. Found it to be a peaceful and welcome retreat from the bustle outside. Highly recommend and would love to return.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia NSW
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for 6 nights in June. As its very hot in Egypt in June the motel was very quiet, however the service was fantastic. Every day our room was serviced twice a day by a lovely man named Mohammed. He would go to the garden and pick flowers and then arrange them on out on our bed in the shape off a love heart and other designs. This was very much appreciated. Each morning we were greeted at the restaurant for breakfast by very friendly and efficient staff members, who went out off there way to make us feel welcome. The pool area is just lovely and has plenty off room for everyone to swim. There is also a bar and you can order food from there also. The location was perfect and is straight across from the Nile river, so its very easy access if you want to pop down and find a Felucca. I would definitely return to this motel, please ensure you tip your room attendant daily as this is much more preferred than a lump sum at the end off your trip. We tipped our room attendant around 20 Egyptian pound per day, which is approx $3.00 Australian.

Room Tip: Ensure you choose a room that is located in the newly renovated area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theaussies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were not staying at this hotel but you are able to go and have afternoon tea! Its like stepping back in time once you walk up the stairs to the reception you feel your entering somewhere special. You are able to tour the gardens as well which are beautiful. All the paintings and the building is wonderful - long sweeping corridors steeped in history. The afternoon tea experience is fabulous sitting in a beautiful large room being served dainty cakes and savouries on old fashioned cake stands and china cups. You can take as much time as you like it was a fantastic experience its not cheap at £15 per head but its worth it just for the amazing ambiance - to imagine King Farouk walking the corridors and even having tea himself in that same room - truly awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the high tea at the Victorian Lounge, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing