We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Sad grandeur”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in January 2013, but I'm just getting around to writing this review. It sounds as if things have deteriorated since then, but when we were there the place was still splendid. It was virtually empty, but working hard to keep up standards. The food and service were excellent, the quarters comfortable, even elegant. It is so sad what is happening to hard-working Egyptians in the tourist industry like the ones we met here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    238
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
188
491
133
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed in Winter Palace after booking the pavillion i upgraded at a surcharge to the Palace-I was there a few days after the clearing of Tahir square and local authorities clearly were worried it might spread to Luxor. The following morning an armed carrier was stationed out the front of the palace which I referred to as The hotel taxi.This seemed to amuse the egyptian soldier conscripts but annoyed the commanding sargent as I would ask what price to the airport.

The room was a Nile view room, large with balcony but badly in need of furnishing updates.Had free wifi which was pleasing as the Mena House in Cairo wanted 150le an hour.ouch!Breakfast was poor no buffet as booked which they replaced as so few guest with a la cart.The omlette was poor juice wasnt fresh and pastries were returned from the previous breakfast.The pool area is great and gardens superb.Lunch ok but better to head to kebab shops that serve delicious sea food and the best lamb ive tasted and im Austarlian -the country that rides on the sheeps back! Staff were always friendly and adored Mohamed - who informed me "he was the Butler and could do anything for me inside or out"-cute as a pugs ear.Id like to take him home and put him on my mantle piece.I was the only guest staying in the Palace.I was King Farouk!Any opportunity to get a discounted room Id recommend stayin.With so little open in the hotel paying anywhere near the rack rate cant be justiied.Shop around discounts available my room was close to 600LE a night with breakfast a fair price given hotel closures.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishmishhabibi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleague and we will take in consideration your comment about the buffet. We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have just returned from a three week holiday in The Old Winter Palace. As usual everything was perfect, my room was lovely over looking the Nile and was kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping staff who placed flowers on my bed each day and changed towels twice a day. The staff are lovely, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.Enjoyed breakfast in the Corniche and lunch by the pool.A choice of juice was offerd around the pool in the morning as well as cold scented flannels and fruit salad. Luxor is struggling at the moment due to lack of tourists but it is a safe place to visit with no problems so I urge people to go. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNO370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I know foreIgn office say not to go but I went and spent 2 weeks in the Pavillion in a room over looking the garden and swimming pools, the room was big with king size bed, bathroom was also big and I had a bathrobe and slippers, had a turn down service which was a nice touch and fresh towels every night, flowers on bed and also had flowers in a vase. House keeping kept the room clean each day. Breakfast was served in the Palace and you could have asked for anything as no buffet service due to low occupancy and staff very attentive nothing was too much trouble for them. Swimming pool was lovely and staff again were great. Eat lunch most days at poolside bar although expensive the food was good and big portions. Gardens were lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wills01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the service and the Pavillon Winter location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Fabulous Hotel in Luxor while taking a Nile river cruise, its like stepping back in time such elegance the service was wonderful the room was very large and well appointed. The front of the Hotel faced the Nile and we looked the across the river to the Valley of the Kings, we woke early in the morning and saw several Hot Air Balloons quietly flying over the valley, the next day we joined them and it was a very exciting experience. The garden at the back of the Hotel has an excellent restaurant serving Egyptian style cuisine, also another serving Italian style cuisine,having a great meal it was lovely to stroll around the beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of Hotel have a fabulous view of the Valley of the Kings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the cuisines, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is a royal place, you will enjoy the stay in the amazing well decorated luxury rooms, unique classic restaurant, royal garden, the only thing missing is to see a king or princess beside you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolimanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadviosr. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of the history of the Sofitel Winter palace Luxor, the spacious room and the Garden. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sofitel winter Palace Luxor.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beautiful location, stunning gardens, friendly staff, amazing rooms, gorgeous pool. Everything about this hotel was perfect. We really didn't want to leave! Highly recommend the room service breakfast -ate on our balcony each morning. We had the pool to ourselves - now really is the perfect time to visit. We felt totally safe at all times - both in the hotel and around Luxor. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Egypt_girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing