We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“esthetically appealing hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Luxor
2 reviews
“esthetically appealing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Esthetically most appealing hotel, beautifully situated, nice and attentive service, food average (but better than most restaurants in town), rooms nice but rather small, with (splendid) view towards Nile loud

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthonya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the food in view of doing the necessary changes. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    226
    86
    41
    21
See reviews for
170
460
127
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Walking out onto the enormous terrace of our room which overlooked the Nile made one feel as close to a Pharaoh as one ever could. A grand hotel, in an even grander setting, the Winter Palace is a hotel of history. Beautiful rooms and common areas, an expansive garden and pool in back, and the benefit of a river-view room (spring for one here) is too hard to pass up.

Room Tip: You have to have a river view if you are on the Nile. The corner suites with the large terraces are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room, the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in December 2013. Very friendly staff in an almost deserted hotel due to the political situation in Egypt (Luxor was practically deserted). Hotel badly needs renovation but understandably this is not a viable option now. Even as it is, it oozes charm and is very inspiring with an old fashioned bar and lounge very inviting to relax in after a busy sight seeing day. Food frankly rather average and overpriced. Eating out makes sense. All in all would gladly stay there again though.

Room Tip: If you ask for a Nile view room make sure it is above the second floor as the trees cover the Nile a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine_Loizides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the prices of the food in view of doing the necessary changes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Were at the pavillon and were upgraded to the Old Winter Palace after 7 nights of our 19 night stay can honestly say that everything about this hotel is special.
the water service at breakfast is superb and the selection of foods and quality of it is fantastic.
the royal bar is like going back in time the service and atmosphere is excellent.
the reception staff are genuinely glad to be of service and were all very helpful.
we had a room with a garden view that we will remember for a long time.
the garden is like another world,a real treat to walk round but even better as a guest.
the walk to the pool after breakfast and the pool itself are things that make you relax.
the pool is fantastic like an oasis of calm the staff by the pool were all kind and helpful.
the hotel rooms are immaculately clean and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff at this hotel.
the restaurant staff for breakfast are excellent they make you feel special.
I would like to thank Mr Safwat Ateia for all his help with our reservation.
This hotel will make you feel very special

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEZ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Garden view room, the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Winterpalace is definitely the best hotel we stayed at in Egypt in the two years we live here. The hotel is unique, staying there makes you feel part of history. The service is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are huge compared to other newer hotels, everything was clean and the breakfast was great. We hope this hotel will not change a thing, the old school style of this hotel is its charm and main asset. We had an amazing deal and cannot recommend the Winterpalace enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yagov88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and the grounds are spectacular. The inside and the rooms are showing wear and need a refresh. We had a Nile facing room - big mistake! Many of the Nile river cruise ships are parked outside the hotel and are used for parties - we heard loud music and shouting each night, late into the night. Get a room on the garden side, much quieter and cheaper. You're 50 steps from the Nile and can see if from the front of the hotel or walk across the street and be at the water's edge.

The gardens/lawns and pool were immaculate and stunning.

We were on the 3rd floor - 2nd floor must have been totally unoccupied, as they turned off all the lights in the evening. After getting stuck in the elevator the night before, we took the stairs after that - very creepy to pass by that floor in total darkness.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening - what a great disappointment. We ordered a Mediterranean sampler with hummas, baba ghanoush, etc. The brought a large platter with no bread, when we asked for pita, they told us they didn't have any and brought us white sandwich bread.

Room Tip: Choose the garden side - much quieter - you can still see the Nile from the front terrace of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the garden, the pool, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues and we will take in consideration your comment about the food in view of doing the necessary changes as the second floor is already enlightened now.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in January 2013, but I'm just getting around to writing this review. It sounds as if things have deteriorated since then, but when we were there the place was still splendid. It was virtually empty, but working hard to keep up standards. The food and service were excellent, the quarters comfortable, even elegant. It is so sad what is happening to hard-working Egyptians in the tourist industry like the ones we met here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the charm of history, the service and the Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Best regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing