We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th time at the Winter Palace and still going strong.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“15th time at the Winter Palace and still going strong.”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The Winter Palace is still the place to stay in Luxor, whether in the Old Building or the less expensive Garden Pavilion Wing. With the loss of the New Winter tower block and 180 bedrooms, prices have risen this year by quite an amount. Whether the management are trying to recoup the revenue loss by increasing the prices is debateable, but certain it is that most guests "in the know" now eat out at the many good restaurants locally, at half the price.

Having said that, the hotels central location cannot be beaten, and all the staff are still the same friendly and courteous people that they have always been.

We came back on Monday 19th October 2009 and have already booked to return in Sept/October 2010, as there is no place that we would rather be.

Osman2, Nailsea, North Somerset.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    239
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
496
135
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is the second time we've stayed here & in our opinion there's nothing quite so magical as a Nile view room at sunset.
It's very well located for all the Luxor sights.
The history and charm of the building is quite something. Service is excellent, staff friendly.
We had a disapointing meal in the 1886 (in our view the menu was too complex for the kitchen staff) but that aside we had not complaints, in fact meals in La Corniche were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelakstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

fantastique -great garden- a must once in alifetime ...

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kvbcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2009

A wonderful building and palacial rooms rooms with everything you would expect from a victorian hotel built to look after english aristocrats on their winter holidays. The big disappointment is the food which is two star at a push although the breakfast is perfectly acceptable. Be warned that all over Egypt you will pay £70 - £100 for a bottle of imported wine that you would pay £20 in Uk and the Egyptian wine at £20 a bottle is best left at the fuel pump. Sakara/Luxor beer at £5 a bottle is OK and all spirits are £8-£10 a shot.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel on first night of our holiday prior to Nile cruise. Booked with Discover Egypt and were delighted with our brief stay. Yes it is a very old hotel but it is a classic, charming service and lovely aroma of brass polish when you arrive at reception. We had a top floor garden view room which was lovely as the gardens are superb and not noisy like out the front. We did not eat within but regret going outside due to the constant harassment of kalesh horse cab drivers, avoid them at all costs! We did not like Luxor town itself and would not return on holiday,unless cruising but a stay at this hotel with its lovely pool area and gardens seems a million miles away from outside. Airport is good with reasonable priced drinks and food,also duty free is good. did not unpack mosquito repellant for first night and we both got bitten several times probably on balcony, we were fine after that though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Winter Palace is one of the most exquisite places of grand old tradition. Everything about it is the very best in Luxor, and the whole Egypt - its location in Luxor, with splendid view on the Nile; its stately building, rising as a true place; its astonishingly beautiful interior, its gardens, pool, service, excellent French restaurant - things from small to grand are absolutely superior.

It was my second stay in Winter Palace, and as in the first time, it was excellent. The first time I had a room with garden view, and the second time it was in the right wing of the hotel, with a private terrace and views on the Nile and Cornish, the major boulevard of Luxor, lined with palm trees and oleanders and graces with horse-drawn carriages - caleches.

Since the first time two years before, the hotel little changed - it remained as great as before, and they are removing the ugly tower, which was obstructing teh view. Upon completion of the project, it should attain its previous harmonious lines which travelrs from the past, such as Agatha Cristie, so admired.

On the hotel terrace facing the Nile afternoon tea is served, and drinks, too. It is a magical place to watch the sunset, the blue lapis of the Nile mounted into emerald grassy banks.

Inside there are magnificent rooms - I especially love the tea room salon, with the piano that does not work :), while there is also a formal bar with live piano music, decorated in Chippendale library style.

Further there is a crown jewel of the hotel - a wall-mirrored French dining room, 1886 Restaurant, named so after Winter Palace year of construction. A fabulous candlelight dinner awaits an elegantly hungry voyager there.

The rooms are airy and comfortable, although with old-fashioned wooden wardrobes they may surprise those used to faceless modern taste. Beds are very good, and marble bathrooms are spacious. The carpet could be a little newer, but still the whole aura adds to the charm.

One excellent improvement since some years ago was that the bar in the middle of the great heated pool is now open, serving various drinks. There is also a poolside restaurant for lunch.

Breakfast is very generous and I especially loved local Egyptian cuisine, copiously presented.

All in all, it is a place of perfection, and makes one fall even more into a life-long love affair with Egypt.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We had an excellent stay at the old winter palace. Nice gardens, nicely decorated rooms and a friendly and professional staff. We booked a room with garden views and even got one with Nile view and a balcony.
When you enter the hall of the hotel you feel like a royal.
Also the food is very good and cheap compared to European standards, we only ate out once because the restaurants in the hotel are the best you can find in Luxor.
We took room service every day because it was really good and cheap.
The only negative thing I could mention are the people outside the hotel, they clamb you all the time for a taxi, kalesh or a felugga... very irritating after a few days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhentSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing