We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Historic Hotel with Old World Values and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2009

From the moment my wife and I entered the hotel we were met and then looked after by courteous and delightful management and staff.
Our large room overlooking the gardens was quiet and with a balcony to sit and enjoy the view of those gardens. The sheets and pillow cases made going to bed a pleasure
The bar had old world charm, the Corniche restaurant was good and the 1886 restaurant excellent.
The gardens and swimming pools were lovely with excellent service from the restaurant and bars. The only downside was some young boys who shouted at each other and dived and jumped in the pool to the annoyance of some residents; there was no cautioning of them by hotel staff and the parents did little to discipline their children even though there were notices stating 'No Diving'.
And the young 'shoe shine boy' cleaned my shoes perfectly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGBonVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

the ambience and attention to detail is superb excellent staff of particular help was duty manager Mohamed Ali food in restaurant 1886 was very good my e-mail adress is johncraig1939@talktalk.net and my user name is clyde12

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clyde12falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The Winter Palace is still the place to stay in Luxor, whether in the Old Building or the less expensive Garden Pavilion Wing. With the loss of the New Winter tower block and 180 bedrooms, prices have risen this year by quite an amount. Whether the management are trying to recoup the revenue loss by increasing the prices is debateable, but certain it is that most guests "in the know" now eat out at the many good restaurants locally, at half the price.

Having said that, the hotels central location cannot be beaten, and all the staff are still the same friendly and courteous people that they have always been.

We came back on Monday 19th October 2009 and have already booked to return in Sept/October 2010, as there is no place that we would rather be.

Osman2, Nailsea, North Somerset.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is the second time we've stayed here & in our opinion there's nothing quite so magical as a Nile view room at sunset.
It's very well located for all the Luxor sights.
The history and charm of the building is quite something. Service is excellent, staff friendly.
We had a disapointing meal in the 1886 (in our view the menu was too complex for the kitchen staff) but that aside we had not complaints, in fact meals in La Corniche were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelakstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

fantastique -great garden- a must once in alifetime ...

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank kvbcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

A wonderful building and palacial rooms rooms with everything you would expect from a victorian hotel built to look after english aristocrats on their winter holidays. The big disappointment is the food which is two star at a push although the breakfast is perfectly acceptable. Be warned that all over Egypt you will pay £70 - £100 for a bottle of imported wine that you would pay £20 in Uk and the Egyptian wine at £20 a bottle is best left at the fuel pump. Sakara/Luxor beer at £5 a bottle is OK and all spirits are £8-£10 a shot.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel on first night of our holiday prior to Nile cruise. Booked with Discover Egypt and were delighted with our brief stay. Yes it is a very old hotel but it is a classic, charming service and lovely aroma of brass polish when you arrive at reception. We had a top floor garden view room which was lovely as the gardens are superb and not noisy like out the front. We did not eat within but regret going outside due to the constant harassment of kalesh horse cab drivers, avoid them at all costs! We did not like Luxor town itself and would not return on holiday,unless cruising but a stay at this hotel with its lovely pool area and gardens seems a million miles away from outside. Airport is good with reasonable priced drinks and food,also duty free is good. did not unpack mosquito repellant for first night and we both got bitten several times probably on balcony, we were fine after that though.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
928 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £59 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing