We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful old palace with friendly efficient staff and fabulous gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“beautiful old palace with friendly efficient staff and fabulous gardens”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

stayed here for 10 days in October and had one of our happiest holidays ever. staff are really courteous and efficient. a smile gets you everywhere in Egypt!! Room facing garden was a bit disappointingly narrow but we had a fabulous balcony prices are a bit steep but the hotel is simply beautiful .the pool area is wonderful and pool staff great.breakfast is good with a lovely selection.cant fault the place other than the small room.would not want to stay anywhere else in Luxor!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twomiddleagers973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    238
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
188
491
133
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Absolutely stunning hotel, a real treat. The pool was amazing and so relaxing. The people were wonderful, watch out for the tipping though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Typical for the region...claim 5*, but more like 3.5 by Euro/American standards. Rooms were dated, but good enough. We had a garden view. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is fantastic. Service is a little slow and expensive. Breakfast bar was plentiful.
Hotel is right by the Luxor Temple and a quick walk to the souk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

From the moment my wife and I entered the hotel we were met and then looked after by courteous and delightful management and staff.
Our large room overlooking the gardens was quiet and with a balcony to sit and enjoy the view of those gardens. The sheets and pillow cases made going to bed a pleasure
The bar had old world charm, the Corniche restaurant was good and the 1886 restaurant excellent.
The gardens and swimming pools were lovely with excellent service from the restaurant and bars. The only downside was some young boys who shouted at each other and dived and jumped in the pool to the annoyance of some residents; there was no cautioning of them by hotel staff and the parents did little to discipline their children even though there were notices stating 'No Diving'.
And the young 'shoe shine boy' cleaned my shoes perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGBonVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

the ambience and attention to detail is superb excellent staff of particular help was duty manager Mohamed Ali food in restaurant 1886 was very good my e-mail adress is johncraig1939@talktalk.net and my user name is clyde12

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clyde12falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The Winter Palace is still the place to stay in Luxor, whether in the Old Building or the less expensive Garden Pavilion Wing. With the loss of the New Winter tower block and 180 bedrooms, prices have risen this year by quite an amount. Whether the management are trying to recoup the revenue loss by increasing the prices is debateable, but certain it is that most guests "in the know" now eat out at the many good restaurants locally, at half the price.

Having said that, the hotels central location cannot be beaten, and all the staff are still the same friendly and courteous people that they have always been.

We came back on Monday 19th October 2009 and have already booked to return in Sept/October 2010, as there is no place that we would rather be.

Osman2, Nailsea, North Somerset.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is the second time we've stayed here & in our opinion there's nothing quite so magical as a Nile view room at sunset.
It's very well located for all the Luxor sights.
The history and charm of the building is quite something. Service is excellent, staff friendly.
We had a disapointing meal in the 1886 (in our view the menu was too complex for the kitchen staff) but that aside we had not complaints, in fact meals in La Corniche were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelakstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing