We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure elegance, grace and charm!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure elegance, grace and charm!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I have just returned home to Ireland following a week long stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace in Luxor and how saddened am I to have had to leave such a magical place. For me the hotel had such grace and elegance. From the second I walked up the beautiful red carpet into the hotel I felt I was transported to another era. The ambience was so graceful and magical. I have to commend the wonderful softly spoken staff who were always at hand to offer the very best of service. It is very hard to find such nice people who genuinely enjoy their work and believe me I have had my experience of hotels over the years and to me the Winter Palace had a special charm about it. One that you cannot buy. Having dined on nearly every night of my stay at the 1886 and la corniche, for me to say the food was good would be an understatement!! It was FANTASTIC!! The vision of the chef is to be seen, I had such magical presentations of my favourite dishes and I have to commend the head chef in residence..I was lucky to be staying at the hotel while there was a night of entertainment in the magical gardens which, believe me have to be seen to appreciate how beautiful they are. How amazing to be consuming the wonderful aroma of fresh jasmine from the garden while listening over surround sound to Umm Kultoum, as well as fantastic mezza and song and dance..This for me was the icing on the cake. I wanted to experience the true culture of Luxor and this night for me was everything I had imagined was on offer in Egypt. This was an experience that will not be forgotten and will be treasured forever.. To all at Sofitel Winter Palace,staff and team at all levels thank you from the bottom of my heart and may you continue to have many many years of success at this wonderful location!!!! If you can get to Luxor get to the Winter Palace for memories that can only live in ones heart.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank droches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    240
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
497
136
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Did a one-night stay in the Winter Palace Hotel in Sept 2008 and found the service and cleanliness of the room to be lacking for a hotel charging that level of price. That's why I packed off after staying only a night. The first thing I noticed was the bathtub, which was very dirty, and the hotel did not respond to my repeated call for them to clean up the dirts. The tv didn't work, and although they did send someone to fix it, I could only get grainy pictures on the screen. As for breakfast, the spread is very limited in term of selections.
However, the location of the hotel is great and the balcony view of the river is unbeatable. It is a beautiful hotel with great colonial feel to it. But one does not need to stay there to enjoy the atmosphere.
In short, if you are willing to trade in service and clealiness for great atmosphere and location, this may be the hotel for you. Else, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sllim1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Old Winter Palace while in Luxor this year. I can't say enough about this establishment. It is pricey, true. But it is worth the extra money, if you have the option to splurge. This is one of those rare five-star hotels without all the modern bling - it truly captures that old world charm with simple, elegant details. The large garden is lovely day and night, complete with a huge pool for hot afternoons. The front terrace that overlooks the Nile is a great place for sunset - and the rooms are large and comfortable. But the most impressive part was the staff - everyone was so friendly and helpful - and they obviously took great pride in their workplace. Especially Mr. Ahmed Oraby at night reception. If there is anything you need - chances are Ahmed can help you out. His quiet but professional manner was greatly appreciated amongst the noise and hustle of modern Luxor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The Winter Palace lives upto its name, a Palace indeed! Well maintained hotel with beauty spread all over. Lovely common use areas, beautiful rooms, magnificent gardens, and an excellent location. Nothing went wrong throughout my stay, from the minute a very polite and attentive hotel driver greeted me at the airport to my check out. I wish my travels take me back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CyprusTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

stayed here for 10 days in October and had one of our happiest holidays ever. staff are really courteous and efficient. a smile gets you everywhere in Egypt!! Room facing garden was a bit disappointingly narrow but we had a fabulous balcony prices are a bit steep but the hotel is simply beautiful .the pool area is wonderful and pool staff great.breakfast is good with a lovely selection.cant fault the place other than the small room.would not want to stay anywhere else in Luxor!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twomiddleagers973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Absolutely stunning hotel, a real treat. The pool was amazing and so relaxing. The people were wonderful, watch out for the tipping though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Typical for the region...claim 5*, but more like 3.5 by Euro/American standards. Rooms were dated, but good enough. We had a garden view. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is fantastic. Service is a little slow and expensive. Breakfast bar was plentiful.
Hotel is right by the Luxor Temple and a quick walk to the souk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing