We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I’ll let the photos tell the story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“I’ll let the photos tell the story”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked this 28 day, Bed and Breakfast, deal with Accors Hotels. Please always check when booking what you are actually booking, i.e. if you want B&B make sure it says so! I think you get value for money.
Rooms - They are large and airy with fairly large balconies on which you can sit and watch the sunrise/sunset or call room service and have breakfast/dinner on it (if breakfast is not included)
Room Service - We had a few meals in our room. Do not order two full meals for two, since you will get far too much food. We used to order one salad, one main course and one dessert which did both of us. We always found something to eat.
House-Keeping – Wife wished she could get them home to do the flat to the same standard. We used the laundry quite often. Not sure what Mrs eLaReF would do without it. Prices seem to have stayed the same over the last couple of years, so when we go home, the only dirty clothing is the last two days’ worth.
Reception – Mr Oraby, who is the ‘main man’ there, will be retiring this year - unfortunately. If anything is wrong, he gets it sorted. Whilst we look forward to meeting his replacement, his shoes will be very hard to fill.
Pool and Pool staff - The pool is heated from October to the beginning of April. You sign your name and room number in a book and the pool staff will then take you and towels to any sun bed which is available. If you want extra shade they will move the movable umbrellas to you. Nothing is too much trouble.
Snacks, drinks and lunch are served from the Pool Restaurant. You can just order water and they will bring it to your sun bed in a wine cooler with a glass. You can even order your lunch to be brought to you if, like me, you are too lazy to move.
Breakfast is served in the Corniche just now from 5:30 to 10:30am. They cater for all nationalities so they have something for everyone in the buffet. They will bring you fresh hot water for your tea and coffee and hot or cold milk. Again ask if you require help - the staffs are there to help and they do it well. They may be reopening the Pavilion’s own restaurant, the Bougainvillier, soon, so you will get your breakfast in it, rather than walk through the gardens to the Old Winter Palace.
Wifi – Was available in our room and was free.
I am always amazed how many people go to Egypt and expect everyone to speak English. Many of the staff do have 2nd or 3rd languages, but they aren’t necessarily English. We met many other European nationalities there. Again, if there is a problem, let them know so they can sort it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eLaReF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    213
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
134
329
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Pavillon Winter Palace is a newer building in the grounds of the historic Luxor Winter Palace Hotel (the Luxor Winter Palace has been the premier hotel in Luxor for over 100-years).
This means you get to experience most of the aspect of the Winter Palace, at a much lower cost, including the beautiful grounds and pools, fabulous dinning rooms, grand entrance etc.
We had a family holiday over Christmas and New Year's in the Pavillon and were not expecting to be able to swim. However, the pool was heated to 28 degrees and in the afternoon the air temperature was around 25-28 degrees (we have had experience before of Luxor Hotels saying their pool was heated, but then finding the water too cold for the children to swim in). So we would go sightseeing in the morning and spend the afternoons around the pool, which kept the children very happy. As the hotel is in the centre of Luxor, beside Luxor temple, you can walk to many sights and save a lot of time and hassle of negotiating taxis etc. Despite being in the centre, the hotel is quiet - especially the rooms opening into the garden. The staff were all lovely and the rooms in the new building are what you would expect from this class of hotel, although unmemorable, other than having nice balconies onto the garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We just got back from a wonderful 10 day trip to Egypt and the best hotel we stayed at was the Pavillon Winter. The room was spacious, very well furnished and immaculate and the balcony overlooked the absolutely beautiful garden which is so peaceful in comparison to the rest of the city. We were very fortunate because we were able to use all the common areas of the Winter Palace, including the lovely restaurant where breakfast was served in grand manner. The staff is very kind. We also took advantage of the outdoor heated swimming pool. Relaxing by the pool was pure heaven

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have the best views. However, keep the window closed at night because there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmb1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a wonderful time we had at the Pavillon Winter within the grounds of the Old Winter Palace. The grounds of the hotel were so tranquil and so well maintained. Compared with the hustle and bustle (and constant harassment) of the corniche, upon returning to the hotel it was like a little bit of heaven in bedlam. The occupancy was low at the time of our visit and Luxor itself was a bit of a ghost town. We managed to locate the back exit of the hotel on the last night which allowed us to avoid the harrassment of the horse carriages parked outside the main entrance. Phew. In all, this is the only place to stay in Luxor. You get all the facilities and charm of the winter palace at a fraction of the price. Only complaint would be the lack of fitness facilities/gym.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0ddingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is always a pleasure to come to this hotel. Friendly staff, perfect location.the only thind we did not like was the continious music at the pool and the garden bar. We love the qiuetness no disurbing noices!
The rest was again just perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

OUR stay at the pavillon winter was a really fantastic experience. I went with my wife and 2 friends to celebrate my birthday and have a relaxing holiday.
the rooms at the pavillon are huge with very large balconies overlooking glorious tropical gardens. they are immaculately clean and the service at this hotel by all the staff is of a very high standard, nothing is too much trouble and you are always greeted with a good morning and happy smiling faces who are glad to be of service. this is true of all the staff in the bar the restaurant,at reception or by the pool. all the management team are also great at making your stay a one to remember.
if we visit luxor again this would be the hotel we would choose. I must thank the reservation manager Mr Safwat Ateia for all his help, we booked direct with the hotel and without his kind help I do not think we would have go there.
you can get to luxor with egyptair , great flights and this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEZ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Property: Pavillon Winter Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing