We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty again!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I've just returned from a very enjoyable stay in Pavilon; as usual the staff were faultless -one room service waiter even returning when I had vastly over-tipped him by mistake on my first night. This is unheard of in Egypt!!
All staff are well trained to look you in the eye and to greet guests whenever they pass them - unlike my local supermarket where staff are obviously under orders to try to process customers without even uttering one word!!!
Now that the 'New' block has completely disappeared, if you ask for a high room you can see the Nile and the West bank. I was even upgraded to a suite!
If you want loud music, animation and loads of kids then try Sioitel Karnak; if you want peace and quiet, excellent service and an excellent location you can't beat the Winter palace. This is my 10th visit - I know that may sound a bit sad - but if you want cheap winter sun - this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JUDITH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    213
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
134
329
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We actually stayed in the Winter Pavilion which is behind the Winter Palace Hotel but the same complex. The pavilion is probably more for groups since it's a smaller building on site. It didn't matter since the garden is the best part of the hotel and we had a great view of it. It's a lush field of green grass, trees, flowers, etc. The rooms were really big and fit three beds nicely. The bathroom was average for hotels. The breakfast buffet was huge and had a nice variety for everyone in the group. There are two pools, both large and both heated. All in all a great hotel and will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MindyCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

The Winter Palace is in a great location on the banks of the Nile by Luxor temple. There are numerous reasonably priced restaurants across the road on the Nile bank within 2-3 minute walking distance and the temple of Luxor is only a minutes walk away.

I had a couple of very pleasant meals in El Kebabgy, opposite the Winter Palace on the Nile banks.

I had a room overlooking the beautiful gardens in a separate block to the old building and there is a nice walk through the gardens to the block, The staff are helpful and gave a hand with heavy luggage so there was no problem with the room access at all.

The room itself was clean and comfortable and immaculately made up.

At breakfast the buffet food was excellent, and sitting out on the terrace was a very pleasant start to the day.

The pool area was extensive and the pool was simply beautiful.

There is a well stocked drinks bar in the rooms, and bathroom was simply immaculate.

All in all an excellent experience, and one of few hotels i would give a universal 10/10.

  • Liked — Location for Luxor and Courtyard garden
  • Disliked — Having to Leave!!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LezGoLezGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

stayed for one night in december . The hotel has a quality feel right from the grand front entrance through the old winter palace , to the clean spacious rooms with balconies overlooking the fragrant gardens. Couldnt believe the cheap price i paid for them! Didnt get to use the pool but it looked lovely. Had breakfast buffet and sat outside as wasnt too hot. Staff helpful and polite and very good with kids. Hotel right next to Luxor Temple and corniche so central location but feels like an oasis of calm especially the gardens.Cant fault this hotel in any way and hope to stay longer next time.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

we had stayed at the new winter palace previously and enjoyed that but now preferred a quieter location ,the hotel staff may come across as a little reserved but they really are very helpful and especially in the restaurant ,we were there for a week and we could not fault anything to do with the food and the chefs were always on hand should you need anything which was never any trouble,the menu every night was varied and the food excellent,
the bell boy in the lobby was chatty but left you alone if required,
the actual hotel (new winter palace was very shabby and we were shocked that this could be in such a state as its reputation with the old winter palace shows it to be a top class hotel,
if the hotel gets refurbed then it will attract a lot more travellers
the rooms in the pavillion were fine no problems there,

  • Liked — the location in regard to the historical sites ,food and friendliness of the egyptians
  • Disliked — the main hotel its shabbiness
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

The Hotel has a really nice exterior and was for sure a very attractive location in the old days. However now it has really become dusty and doesn't look up to standards any more.

What really shocked us was the unfriendly entrance to the hotel - as non-guests of the Hotel you have to pay a large sum to even enter the hotel and look around (this is something like a minimum consumption which has to be taken). Not only do you have to pay this entrance, but also the service is very unfriendly at the entrance and the restaurant.

The hotel does not give you a welcome feel the way you would expect it to. After this experience I cannot recommend staying there.

  • Disliked — Unfriendly ness and a bit run down
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECelebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

we loved the ambience of the Old Palace ( yes the main one) but the warmth, friendliness and room rates of the Pavillion. Since it overlooks the gardens, morning tea or an evening drink on the balcony is a heavenly experience. The fountain and lights create an Oasis- like feel. we enjoyed eating at both places, formally at the La Corniche (a la carte) , breakfasting at La Verandah and a round of drinks on the Nile Terrace Bar ( with the unfortunate view of the Cruise ships rather than the Nile itself).

If you're looking for OLD world charm and NEW hoteling experiences, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Shellsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Property: Pavillon Winter Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing