We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Iberotel Luxor(Luxor)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
467
228
60
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
228
60
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel sharespool areapavilion wingcorniche restaurantlarge balconieswest bankamazing gardenthe main hotelnile terracela cornichebreakfast restaurantroyal baran oasispool staffegyptian restaurantsecond homeagatha christie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

An excellent hotel and room at a good price and we could not fault it.. Nice pool and perfect staff. Conveniently situated near the Luxor Temple. Only problem was, like the previous reviewer said, the hefty price of everything e.g. Wi-Fi costs £10 per hour, large water £2. We ate out!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My grown up daughter and I have just returned from a week at the Pavillion Winter, part of the Sofitel Winter Palace. This was our fourth stay here and once again we had a marvellous time. .

This hotel represents affordable luxury and a sanctuary from the excitement and bustle of Luxor. The rooms are spotless, spacious and peacefully situated away from the road. There are five restaurants: Egyptian, Italian, buffet with various themes, and two more formal restaurants in the Winter Palace which welcome Pavillion guests. Food quality and service in all is excellent and prices are comparable with UK.

The hotel's trump card though is the outside areas which are unique in Luxor. The football pitch sized grounds are superb with lush lawns, specimen trees, flowers everywhere and a wonderful fragrance filling the air after dark. The pool area is splendid with two linked pools, comfortable, well-spaced beds, plenty of umbrellas and such friendly and helpful staff. In fact all the staff at the Pavillion and Winter Palace are delightful - friendly and welcoming but never intrusive.

Of course the location is amazing - being right on the Corniche (Nile promenade), five minutes walk from Luxor Temple, the souk and the ferry across to the West Bank. The awe-inspiring Karnak Temple, Valley of the Kings, Queens, Nobles and the little visited gem of Medinet Habu are 30 minutes by taxi. A little further away North are Dendara (60 mins) and Abydos (2 hours) both fabulous and well worth the effort. South are Esna, Edfu, Kom Ombo and Aswan for the gorgeous Philae Temple and awesome Abu Simbel.

If you want to do more than relax in the sun you should do some research before you go. I found www.luxortraveltips.com really helpful with lots of information and up to date prices.

Don't be put off by the talk of hassle in the town. Most people are just trying to make a living. If you're not interested in what they are offering, just smile, say firmly 'No shukran' and keep walking. They will soon get tired and look for another potential customer.

Apart fom all the above do have a sunset drink on the Nile Terrace at the Winter Palace, take a sunset cruise on a felucca to old Banana Island, go to the Karnak Sound and Light, check out the Luxor Museum, cross the Nile on the public ferry to Gezira and see a slower pace of life, try the Gezira Gardens hotel's belly dancing party night - lots of locals, authentic band, belly dancing and whirling dervish.

Do all this and then return to the tranquil serenity of the Pavillion/Winter Palace sanctuary. Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Just arrived back after an elongated stay (thanks to the volcano ash/flight ban). This really is a gem of a hotel, situated within beautiful gardens dating back to the end of the nineteenth century.

Plus points: Beautiful surroundings, quiet (as set back from the road), great pool area (cleaned regularly), choice of restaurants, friendly staff, next door to the Luxor temple, 10 mins taxi ride from Karnak temple, across the road from the Nile, within walking distance of several restaurants, large bedrooms, 15 minute free internet access, cash dispenser just outside hotel, bank 2 minutes walk

Negative points: These are mostly outweighed by the points above, but rooms are a little dated and the drinks are expensive

Tips:
Avoid buying bottled water by the pool (LE18 a large bottle) and buy it from just outside the hotel on the traffic island as you turn right towards the temple (LE5 or LE3 if you're a good negotiator). Similarily cans of soft drinks are LE20 by the pool and only LE 5 at the same place.

Do try the local egyptian restaurants at least once - Sofra is good (colonial atmosphere - ask for a seat on the roof terrace) and so is The Jewel of the Nile (great food - mixture of egyptian and english). If you just want a snack or a beer - pop over the El Kababgy across the road (on the Nile) where beer is LE15 compared to LE40 in the hotel and you have a good view of the West Bank

If you can afford it, try La Corniche in the Old Winter Palace - great ambience, best desserts I have ever seen - just beautiful!

Go to Luxor and Karnak temples yourself (on separate days) - ideally go at 6.30am with a local taxi (LE20 to Karnak and they will come back for you). Then you can be back at the hotel mid-morning before it gets too hot. Cheaper and better than a large party!

If you want to see the Karnak Sound and Light how one evening go yourself by taxi - it's much cheaper and you can find out what time/day of the week the english show is on by asking hotel reception to phone them for you

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HornetsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed here for a week after a week down the road at the Jolie Ville. This hotel came out top. Really excellent service, breakfast and restaurant meals. We had a large room, large balcony, marble bathroom and very comfortable bed. Bit faded but very comfortable.
The garden really is an oasis right in the middle of Luxor. Lovely warm pools, plenty of luxurious sunbeds and shade.
We really enjoyed our stay here and will be returning as long as its here. I dont think its part of the new grand plan for the Winter Palace.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SussexShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I have been coming to this hotel for the last 10 years, sometimes on my own and other times with a friend - you can see that something is right with the place!.
Egypt is like a second home to me and this is the only hotel at which I wish to stay, the staff treat me like a 'queen', nothing is too much trouble. The service is excellent.
I am worried about the future of the Pavillon Hotel in the grand scheme of all the changes that will be happening, but I hope it will remain my 'home from home' for many years to come!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EgyptianQueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews