We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you want a good base and a great place to stay in Luxor then the el Luxor is the place great staff great food and rooms and in a perfect place to explore Luxor temple a few mins walk away can't fault it

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank douglas_tindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    199
    75
    41
    35
See reviews for
111
230
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
K-town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Recently returned from our 3rd visit to Luxor & this hotel is our favorite for price & location. Right on the 'Corniche' not just overlooking it! We had an older room overlooking the West Bank where the ancient sites are primarily located & could even see Old Gurna (now a UNESCO site) & Hatshepsut's Temple (on clear days)! Wonderful! And watching the daily life activites of the people on both sides of the Nile was a 'plus': Folks going to/fro, boats moving up/down the river, ferries crossing, carriages carrying tourists, folks 'haggling'.

We were always greeted with friendly smiles by all staff, whether management, front desk, dining room, or room cleaners.

Asst Front Desk Mgr, Mokhlis Khalil, was always available with a charming smile to help us in whatever way he could. He was always advising us to be careful with whom we spoke out on the streets, since there are many scam artists about. His assistants at the Front Desk, esp. Randa, were also available to assist with travel plans, plane confirmations, room accomodations, and the like.

You won't be disappointed at the El-Luxor (formerly Etap & Mercure hotel) unless you must have 7* rating!

Room Tip: The older rooms in the main part of the hotel are in need of updating but are still reasonably clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AkDenizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Again we visited the brilliant El Luxor between the 11th and 18th of January. Absolutely fantastic! As they say at the welcome – home from home. Be in no doubt they mean it. We had a fantastic room with a superb Nile view. Sunsets to die for. The staff from the Managers down to the cleaners were brilliant and always most helpful. Ali, the Customer Services manager, has far too much energy and he encouraged everyone to join in the activities. Even the senior managers joined a game of Bingo in the evening which though I am not a great fan, went down really well. Apparently the boules also went down a treat with much laughter and frivolity. The food was excellent and the staff should be highly commended on their personal service – always anxious to help. First class hotel, staff and amenities. Well done!
Whoever it was who suffered from some food poisoning obviously contacted it from elsewhere i.e. handling money, poor hygiene and not the El Luxor as for all the times I have stayed at the El Luxor I have never had any digestive troubles.
Luxor is eager to welcome new tourists. It is safe and contrary to the British publicity machine there was never any trouble at any time. Visitors are down to 25% and everyone is eager to do business.
Come on you Egyptophiles get to Luxor and enjoy the ambience

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view superb views and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed here at el luxor in october at a last minute whim i had the room on the front of the hotel top left overlooking the nile which would of been good except couldnt see the nile for all the boats parked infront !! the smell of the boat fuel was bad they wer forever moving the boats to let other boats out so the noise was not good neither,
the hotel is a little old and wearing a bit now could do with a complete overhall fridges wer a little tired and rusty but still worked tele reception was ok had satalite tele so a couple of english channels rooms wer large an plenty of room bedding was clean as was the towels nice and white,
the bathroom was large if a little tired and worn
the pool area was brillant the pool size was massive and kept clean, pleanty of sunbeds and towels at hand ALI the giest relations guy was so hepfull and funny
must say the food from the different places inside the hotel was so expensive so much cheaper to eat outside the hotel such as oasis cafe authentic egyptian food and so cheap,
all in all a great hotel but i found much better hotels and cheaper

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is potentially the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Location on the Nile is great, away from the tour boats and the pool area is lovely. But the hotel is run down, tired and employs obnoxious management staff. Although very quiet, we had an older style room with no hot water at night, a power blackout for a few hours in the room, a balcony door that did not lock, a family of mosquitoes making the room their permanent residence, a toilet that ran all night and shocking room service. Within two hours of eating the tomato soup served in the room, I was vomiting, a sickness that got worse the next day. It was the only thing my partner and i ate differently that day, so it must have been the soup. My partner was not sick. In the morning I asked for it to be removed from the bill (only $US4) because it made me so ill. The reception staff called the Food and Beverage Manager who looked me up and down and basically called me a liar. He said it was probably "the weather" that made me ill, not the soup, and that I had signed for it, so bad luck. Even though I argued that I had signed for delivery of the meal, before eating it, he refused, virtually shouting at me and making a huge scene. Worst customer service ever. We did not chose this hotel, our tour company, Memphis, did. We have complained to them and I hope they will not book future clients here. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Pretty simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndoBeatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The El Luxor sits on the Nile and we had just the best time. We asked for a room with a view and got one facing the Nile and Egypt sunset over the Valley of the Queens! Beautiful. The staff were just the best. Very friendly and accommodating. Great pool and a short stroll to a market, Luxor Temple and local restaurant. Great rooms, good food, lovely staff. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front away from the lounge areas. We stayed on the 3rd floor. That was great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

we stayed here on the 28th dec 2011 for 1 week . at first sight its ok . the pool area is really nice but you cant get peace from the millions of flies that are around the pool, plus the 8 cats that sleep on the sun loungers when you get of to get something, the food in the evening buffet is cold and at the new year "gala" night we were sold water instead of tequiela? thinking we would not no the difference, and also the vodka was water and the same with the others who were drinking spirits which cost £4.50 each, the room cleaner was stealing cigarettes from the room,(mohammed) . and he left the room filthy ,and the staff that are in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner stand about using there mobile phones all the time which i think is rude and would not happen in the uk , one side of the hotel has been refurbished to a beautiful standard and the other is very poor,,, the hotel was only 40% and the stuck us in the old rooms, wouldnt stay here again . luxor is a great place and a must see but there are other great hotels to stay in. warren fisher

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natwarrenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Property: Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing