We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel great location”
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel great location”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Having just spent two weeks here in January 2012 I would like to praise the hotel and it's staff for making my stay really enjoyable. I was in a party of seven which included 2 children. The staff were really friendly especially Ali, guest relations, for keeping the guest entertained with plenty of activities and Gabber at the bar for his really good service. The rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was basic but had plenty of it. Overall hotel is great and already booked to go back next year. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to go to Luxor. It has a great location facing the Nile just 5 min walk to Luxor temple and Luxor museum
The brown family
Scotland

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    210
    78
    44
    37
See reviews for
115
240
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We arrived in Egypt on a 19 day private tour (booked with El Sherif Tours) and stayed in El Luxor Hotel on the first night before boarding our cruise to Aswan. First impressions of the lobby and reception area were very good. Our room was on the second floor near the lift and I could hear the lift bell ringing all through the night every time someone stopped at our floor. The room itself was OK, although a little cold. Our view was to the side of the hotel and we had a small balcony with Nile view to the right. The bathroom was clean but looking well used and ready for refurb but everything worked well. We ate at a different restaurant with our guide so didn't sample the restaurant food on our first night.

We were up very early for a trip the next morning and saw the spectacular sunrise from the restaurant. The breakfast buffet selection was superb and there was a chef at the egg station who cooked us lovely omelettes. The waiter regularly came to see if we wanted refills of tea/coffee (we were the only people in the restaurant at 6 am). The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel for me! We checked out early so didn't see much of the hotel's facilities.

We went on a 4 night Nile cruise then stayed in Aswan at the Iberotel for a night then returned to El Luxor for two further nights and used it as a base whilst doing other trips. On the first night, the place was very quiet. We went to the Italian Restaurant by the pool which looked beautiful lit up at night. We ordered pizza which was acceptable but I've had much better - wouldn't order it again to be honest. We'd asked our guide to request a room on a higher floor away from the lift so we weren't disturbed all night and we were given room 601 which is on the top floor but still quite close to the lift. The room was freezing cold and there is no heating - only air conditioning that doesn't heat the rooms - so I put extra blankets on the bed and wrapped up well when not in bed. The bathroom was disappointing and worse than the first room we'd had. The toilet didn't flush properly and took a long time to refill, the sink was very slow to drain and the shower pressure was poor. The view from the room was much better than the first room as we were directly opposite the Nile. However I think I'd rather have the better bathroom and disturbed sleep from the second floor room.

We were disappointed with breakfast the next morning - having had such a pleasant experience on our first visit, we found the choice to be more limited and there was no egg station this time. Maybe there were fewer guests staying the second time around. What we did have was good though.

We ate in the 24 hr restaurant to the left of reception in the evening and ordered chilli & rice off the daily special menu which was delicious and well presented. I'd definitely eat in that restaurant if I were to return.

We had a late check out because we were doing an early morning hot air balloon ride at 6 am with Dream Balloons (highly recommended!) Our guide met us after our balloon ride and collected a breakfast box from our hotel for us which we enjoyed. We had 2 hours spare time when returning so packed then spent an hour on the sunbeds by the pool. It's a shame we didn't have time to use the pool because it's heated and looked so inviting! It's the only pool we found whilst in Egypt to be heated - all the others were freezing cold.

All in all, the El Luxor is good value for money and I would stay there again although reading other reviews, I'd probably request a room in the new wing and forego the Nile view (we didn't get chance to see much of it anyway as we were in our rooms for such a short time during our stay - it was really just a base for us).

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lift because bells are noisy and sound all night when someone stops at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebraSofiaMagdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you want a good base and a great place to stay in Luxor then the el Luxor is the place great staff great food and rooms and in a perfect place to explore Luxor temple a few mins walk away can't fault it

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Recently returned from our 3rd visit to Luxor & this hotel is our favorite for price & location. Right on the 'Corniche' not just overlooking it! We had an older room overlooking the West Bank where the ancient sites are primarily located & could even see Old Gurna (now a UNESCO site) & Hatshepsut's Temple (on clear days)! Wonderful! And watching the daily life activites of the people on both sides of the Nile was a 'plus': Folks going to/fro, boats moving up/down the river, ferries crossing, carriages carrying tourists, folks 'haggling'.

We were always greeted with friendly smiles by all staff, whether management, front desk, dining room, or room cleaners.

Asst Front Desk Mgr, Mokhlis Khalil, was always available with a charming smile to help us in whatever way he could. He was always advising us to be careful with whom we spoke out on the streets, since there are many scam artists about. His assistants at the Front Desk, esp. Randa, were also available to assist with travel plans, plane confirmations, room accomodations, and the like.

You won't be disappointed at the El-Luxor (formerly Etap & Mercure hotel) unless you must have 7* rating!

Room Tip: The older rooms in the main part of the hotel are in need of updating but are still reasonably clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AkDenizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Again we visited the brilliant El Luxor between the 11th and 18th of January. Absolutely fantastic! As they say at the welcome – home from home. Be in no doubt they mean it. We had a fantastic room with a superb Nile view. Sunsets to die for. The staff from the Managers down to the cleaners were brilliant and always most helpful. Ali, the Customer Services manager, has far too much energy and he encouraged everyone to join in the activities. Even the senior managers joined a game of Bingo in the evening which though I am not a great fan, went down really well. Apparently the boules also went down a treat with much laughter and frivolity. The food was excellent and the staff should be highly commended on their personal service – always anxious to help. First class hotel, staff and amenities. Well done!
Whoever it was who suffered from some food poisoning obviously contacted it from elsewhere i.e. handling money, poor hygiene and not the El Luxor as for all the times I have stayed at the El Luxor I have never had any digestive troubles.
Luxor is eager to welcome new tourists. It is safe and contrary to the British publicity machine there was never any trouble at any time. Visitors are down to 25% and everyone is eager to do business.
Come on you Egyptophiles get to Luxor and enjoy the ambience

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view superb views and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed here at el luxor in october at a last minute whim i had the room on the front of the hotel top left overlooking the nile which would of been good except couldnt see the nile for all the boats parked infront !! the smell of the boat fuel was bad they wer forever moving the boats to let other boats out so the noise was not good neither,
the hotel is a little old and wearing a bit now could do with a complete overhall fridges wer a little tired and rusty but still worked tele reception was ok had satalite tele so a couple of english channels rooms wer large an plenty of room bedding was clean as was the towels nice and white,
the bathroom was large if a little tired and worn
the pool area was brillant the pool size was massive and kept clean, pleanty of sunbeds and towels at hand ALI the giest relations guy was so hepfull and funny
must say the food from the different places inside the hotel was so expensive so much cheaper to eat outside the hotel such as oasis cafe authentic egyptian food and so cheap,
all in all a great hotel but i found much better hotels and cheaper

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is potentially the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Location on the Nile is great, away from the tour boats and the pool area is lovely. But the hotel is run down, tired and employs obnoxious management staff. Although very quiet, we had an older style room with no hot water at night, a power blackout for a few hours in the room, a balcony door that did not lock, a family of mosquitoes making the room their permanent residence, a toilet that ran all night and shocking room service. Within two hours of eating the tomato soup served in the room, I was vomiting, a sickness that got worse the next day. It was the only thing my partner and i ate differently that day, so it must have been the soup. My partner was not sick. In the morning I asked for it to be removed from the bill (only $US4) because it made me so ill. The reception staff called the Food and Beverage Manager who looked me up and down and basically called me a liar. He said it was probably "the weather" that made me ill, not the soup, and that I had signed for it, so bad luck. Even though I argued that I had signed for delivery of the meal, before eating it, he refused, virtually shouting at me and making a huge scene. Worst customer service ever. We did not chose this hotel, our tour company, Memphis, did. We have complained to them and I hope they will not book future clients here. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Pretty simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndoBeatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Property: Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing