We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graet value hotel in central location”
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We are a family of 4, with children aged 9 and 10, who stayed at the Mecure for 5 nights over Easter. Considering what we paid, we were really pleased with the hotel. The room was a bit tight for 4 people, but then you don't spend much time in a hotel room, apart from sleeping! Room service made interesting creations with towels and pjs on the beds every day! Breakfast was great and staff were friendly. We loved the pool. There were plenty of seats and towels were provided. The pool restaurant was great for lunch. We didn't eat in the restaurants at night, but chose to go out.
The hotel was very close to the Souk, Luxor Museum and temple and the Mummification Museum. We hated the caleshes, all trying to attract our attention and we disliked so many cruise boats docked along the Nile, blocking the view. The view from our hotel room was of the Nile and was great. We had a 4th floor Nile View room.
Our favourite restaurant was Ali Babas-upstairs overlooking Luxor Temple, which is lit up beautifully at night. We went to kebebgy which was right on the Nile, but service was slow and poor. We also went to Snobs - but it doesn't have a licence to sell alcohol. We went to the Sunday evening show at the Steinberger Nile Hotel. The meal was very expensive - eat before you go and arrive late. The show is free and the Whirling Dervish is great. The dancers were ok.
Overall we had a fantastic time in Luxor. We had a guide and car for 400LE for the day. He was with us from 7.30am until nearly 6pm. He certainly earnt his money! Our highlights were the Valley of the Workers and Nobles, Hetshepsut and the sunrise balloon ride, booked with Viking in the hotel, for 250LE an adult and 125LE a child. (Take this fact in writing with you and show it to the guy on the desk!!)
I wouldn't say it's a luxury hotel but brilliant value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAECambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

It was my first time to Egypt. The hotel itself was so welcoming the staff were pleasant everytime you saw them. Out of the hotle there was the hustle which such a pain but as soon as you got back to the hotel you were in safe and friendly hands. they took great care of us. We thought it couldnt get any betta until we met Aly he wasa the best we played games by the pool, he got on great with us aswell as the children.
I made such great friends there including Aly, they are greatly missed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panda-eyes-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Having read only excellent reviews of this hotel i was a little confused, was i in a different hotel ? The hotel is right on the main road, only set back by a small patio which serves nicely as an outside rest and drinks area. The reception area is large and gives access to all the amenities including the swimming pool, which is the hotel's shining glory. A large pool surrounded by loungers and a bar/restuarant, by 10:30 nearly all the loungers are occupied however there is a large grass area for use. Inside the hotel on the ground floor are two more restuarants and a bar, reasonable food, but a little pricey. The first floor has another restuarant which also serves as the breakfast room, breakfast is self service and is very good, however the restuarant again is quite pricey. There are several lifts that serve all floors, and to the rooms. Our room had the 'Nile View', although it also had a view of the ground below which the hotel used as it's rubbish tip, the view also included a side street where local calesh drivers queued to trap unsuspecting tourists, their shouting continues to nearly midnight every night, however shut the balcony door and very little exterior noise can be heard.
The room itself was very poor, worn dirty carpet, furniture probably dating back to the 70's and a bathroom that certainly needed to be modernised, The bed was the hardest i have used anywhere in the world. There is a small 4 digit safe in the room. Housekeeping was very poor, towels would be taken in the morning and not replaced until late afternoon, i had to ask reception every day for fresh towels.
There is a 'bureau de change ' in the reception, a word to the wise, Do not exchange your sterling for Egyptian money back in the UK, Take sterling and change as required, you will get a better rate by at least 12% in the hotel, furthermore if you use the tour company for tours they will accept sterling. Outside the hotel vendors are waiting in earnest, pestering commences the second you step away from the hotel, pretend to be deaf and totally ignore everyone, it is the only way ,best bet is to join other westerners and presume safety in numbers. The location of the hotel is probably the best of all Luxor's hotels and is a short walking distance from Luxor temple. and Luxor museum, the walk to Karnak temple is further, but only about 20 minutes at most. Opposite the hotel, the Nile accommodates all the cruise ships, some berthed 7 abreast, it is noisy as all the ships leave their donkey engines running all the time to remove bilge water. There are no decent restuarants near the hotel, these can be found at the southern end of the town where the majority of the hotels are, a nice walk past Luxor temple and takes about 20 minutes. The best of the bunch is a restuarant called Snobs, down a side street you have to run the gauntlet of abusive locals and street vendors, but it is worth it. This part of the town has the better hotels, personally having now seen them, and if i ever go back to Luxor i would pay the slight cost more and use one of them. Mercure is a tired hotel, the staff are most excellent, the location is perfect, but luxury it is not

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrishawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

- very convenient location, close to market for some cheap finds
- walking distance to Luxor Temple & few other museums
- nice pool scene
- services were pretty good as expected from the chain
- though rooms can be upgraded & better maintenanced (w/ old beds that lack any sort of support, "shower head bar" fell off...), other than that, very clean & comfortable

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Just returned from The Mercure 8th April, What an amazing Honeymoon . The Hotel was fantasic, Ali entertainment manager, Gabor, Ahmed and Barkura from the bar and the pool boys all made the holiday special. The rooms and hotel was spotless. Visit captain Ahmed on the Nile Smaile boat opposite the hotel, Just go down the steps next to the Cocktail bar and you will find his boat his trips are excellent value for money (JUST SAY ALISON AND PETE SENT YOU) Once outside the hotel you do get a bit of hassle from the Caleshe and Taxi drivers but its harmless and you just say "no thanks" quite firmly and the usually listen.Visit the Souk but remember to Barter, its a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolStarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We have just returned from luxor the hotel was great the staff were very helpful, you could not ask for more, just outside the mercure is a tour guide named captain Ahmmed whos trips were excellent,

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishop56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

This was my first trip to egypt and my first holiday alone. I did have a fantastic time however 3days into my trip i fell on the unlevel pavement just outside and sprained one ankle and fracutred the other. However i cant fault the hotel staff they made sure i had everything i needed even went to the effort of making sure where i was during the day etc to see if i needed anything. My big tips are dont go with the tour opperatours for the trips as you can get them for less than half price with the men on the boats. If your looking for a drink the cheapest place in the bar on the boat which is just oppersit the hotel where its £10 eyption pounds which is alot cheaper than the hotel. The King Edward pub is another nice place to grab a bite to eat. As for trips my best ones were watching the sunrise in the hot air ballon which i got for £300 egyption with the tour operators its double. Go over to the west bank i spent a day over the with a couple that i met hired a guide who took us rounds the valley of kings and queens £350 egyption pounds. Although its i fantastic place people will bother you as soon as you leave the hotel. You just have to say no thank you, some off the men do take this in a bad way and tell you to [--] off under thier breath but hey its your holiday.My best buy was my ipod as no one bothered me when earphones were in. I'm off back on the 1ST April however couldnt get into this hotel so had to find another hopefully one without high curbs. Just be alittle wearing of leaving money in your rooms as a few poeple had had some stolen whilst i was there. Breakfast is amazing bu the why, hope this is usefull to someone

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zippyy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £25 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing