We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed this year” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley. Lancashire. England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed this year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Having stayed here for the last 10 years, I was bitterly disapointed on arrival to find that the left side of the building was being pulled down - this made it appear to be a building site. We were given other room accommodation but this was dirty so we were then changed to another room. - good view but sadley needing updating. 2 of the restaurants were closed due to lack of visitors, clouds of dust billowing over the pool due to the demolition. (They were calling this - modernisation)
It was NOT the fault of the hotel but the fault of Thomson tour operators who had not informed us of these activities before our departure.
The hotel and there workers were very polite and caring for your needs as always and I would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    201
    77
    42
    37
See reviews for
111
234
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

hi i stayed at the mercure with my daughter and her friend we had the 2 top rooms from the right at the front of the hotel rooms 606 and607 these rooms overlooked the nile and all the boats, the rooms wer joined by a door which could be locked when id had enough of the 2 girls and wanted to watch tele in peace!!
the rooms were large with 2 single beds and had plenty of room and the bathroom was clean and plenty of white towels the beds wer nice and clean sheets lovely white rooms cleaned every day
we had the sun in the afternoons which was great as we sat on the balcony with a drink and chilled the breakfast wasnt up to much the staff wer so pleasant and so funny, as was ali the front of house guy we had a good laughwith him dureing the day and at night playing bingo!!
the only downside to the hotel are the food and drink prices LE25 for a stella lager which is LE15 outside, the pool is brilliant and theres enough sunbeds for everyone as well , i wouldnt hesitate to stay at the mercure again as we all had a lovely stay maggieomx

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

enjoyed our stay at the mercure,the hotel was very nice,all the staff was very friendly .The food was good ,a varied choice every day.
Over all we all enjoyed our week in luxor but there is a lot of building work going on in luxor due to the road widening ,this is only noticable when out and about if your walking .We did find the locals pestering us every time you set foot out of the hotel a nuisance, but usually a firm LA SHOKRAN,and they left us alone.
do be aware that if someone approachs you and offers to take you to a goverment shop with 50%off the prices are higher anyway,and your guide gets 30% of what you spend there anyway. but you must haggle wherever you are if buying anything.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

we stayed here for two weeks, we found the price for food and drinks was twice as much as what you would pay outside the hotel, the shopping centre inside the hotel rips you off big time wether its for a lighter, fags or soveirners and when we complained to the customer relations that evening about 22:30 the shop owner came up and shouted at us in front of everyone in the bar for complaining, so anything that you need you can buy outside for a lot cheaper. when reading a review it said this hotel had 4 restaurants and evening entertainment well there was 2 restaurants and the same entertainment each evening which consists of the same songs each night. there was no special events like egyptian dancers or bbq so staying in the hotel of an evening got very boring. for a bottle of water you would pay £12ep, outside the hotel there only £2ep, a bottel of stella was £35ep outside was only £15ep. The bar staff were fantastic they made your stay very welcoming and also the restaurant staff. make sure you pack an iron as as it stated online you can request one but that is not true, you can request hot water to be brought up to your room if you want a tea or coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruelladevil85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Just got back from Luxor after a weeks break. The weather was fab but the hotel/Ramandam lspoilt the holiday a bit. Stayed in a pool room for the first time, lovely refurbished room with the new bedding (quilts)! felt like home from home. Cleaned every day, new towels and refils of the free hair & shower gels. I asked for the remote to be changed. Never happened. There was no back to it so when you picked it up the batteries fell out and it never worked. Breakfast was the same everyday. Lunch around the pool was good. The prices of coffe/tea and soft drinks are extortionate. 15LE around 1.40sterling for a coffee. Coke/Sprite 12LE. 50% more that what I paid in March. Champillion rest I eat once as they thought serving burnt food was ok. Really none of the guests ate anywhere in the hotel at night as the food and choice is still under par. Lastly the entertainment. For all that have been before you are aware that the terrace outside the hotel was always packed. Both with tourists and local people and there was a band that people came to see. Well the band is now inside the bar. Very noisy and now the terrace is deserted. All because of one complaint. There is never now any buffets around the pool as there is no customers. So the evening is now dead. For me Luxor has changed for ther worst as the charm has now gone as they are putting the avenue of Sphinx back and anything in it's way is being knocked down. There are now families on the streets wiht no where to live. Time for me after 16 years to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sueper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

IF YOU DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL YOU ARE INSANE!!!!
This hotel was exellent service,rooms everythin staff could do anything to help you we stayed Bed and breakfast we thought betta than Half board but wasnt we tries the dinner at the hotel it was exellent the breakfast was also very good they had potatoes,meat, cheese, ice tea, 2squashes pastries millions of breads and buns would highly recommend you try every thing when we arrived here we checked in and they took out passports and it took all 2 mins and that person who takes you bags up we wanted to give him a tip and said no sorry i dont take tips so what i did he had a pocket when eh was talking to my dad put in :) our rooms where 944 and 943 in 1 room we had 3 ppl and they said there were 3 beds and when we came in only 2 but than the house keeper came put the 3rd bed in bathrooms where excellent and always filled with bath gel and shampoo and soap best thing was they put like 5 towles each day and clean and hoover every 2 days pool was excellent quiet big and always the pool guy finds you a sun bed even if you want it in the sun or shade 1 thing i will recommend dont buy drinks and was at hotel bottle of water cost 12 Egyptian Pound and coke glass bottle 500ml 15Egyptian pound which i think is a rip off but you know hotels charge and so we had a fridge in out rooms best thing i think about the rooms next to the hotel on left hand side 10 second walk from hotel Savoy Market on the entrance right hand side sell water and drinks and snack bootle of water 1,5 L is 2LE and Coke bottle 2L 5LE betta than anything i would also recommend the al hussain resturant near to the airport exellent food also went to cairo by air and west and east bank and dendara abydos, komobo,ensa,edfu i would tell you we went valley of the kings and there is not point there are these tunnels inside grounds painting on walls and nouthing else same thing in every tomb and charge you 80LE for ticket we didnt go tour we went alone with taxi its cheaper and saves money and 1 thing best temple is the karnak temple and medinat habu temple on west bank if you do want see tombs go to valley of the queens and not valley of the kings thats a rip of and also sometme when you pay the security inside the tomb he lets you tke pics if no one is in there else we gave him 5LE and took 10 pics!!

SO RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL BETTA THAN OTHER!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghettogurl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

The staff are friendly always smileing nothing is to much trouble, clean rooms,beds made for you everyday, we stayed halfboard food great.
Pool staff excellent as soon as you go to the staff came with towels. Pool food great.
Would go back again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Property: Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing