We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That 70's Hotel with a great pool and breakfast buffet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“That 70's Hotel with a great pool and breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Two of my friends and I traveled to Luxor for two days recently (we are all young women). My friend described this as "That 70's hotel" which just about sums it up. Very 70's decor that looks like it hasn't been updated in 30+ years. My shower was very slow to drain the water when I showered, but other than that the bathroom was clean and there were some toiletries (soap, body wash, etc.). It looked as if they had reused the same plastic bottles and just refilled them though, which was a little strange.

The beds are pretty uncomfortable but suitable enough. Air con worked just fine. There was a TV with numerous foreign language channels (my friends' TV wasn't working in their room), a desk, room service menu, a mini fridge and a nice balcony overlooking the Nile with a chair to sit on. As I said, if you're not planning on spending much time in the room (besides sleeping and showering) it's no big deal. The mini fridge was quite convenient for storing bottled water overnight so you have it nice and cold before heading out in the 100 degree weather.

As far as the other amenities in the hotel are concerned, the "shopping" area is really dated and most of the stuff they sell is small overpriced trinkets. There is a bookstore with some books and postcards, but you can probably bargain with someone selling the same thing on the street for a much lower price. There were several restaurants: Le Champollion, Le Flamboyant as well as an Italian restaurant and a bistro cafe that sells coffee, tea, hot chocolate and small pastries. We had the breakfast buffet at Le Flamboyant and it was really great food. A very large selection of pastries, breads, eggs, fuul, tammiya, cereals, yogurt, fruit, salads, potatoes, juice, tea, coffee, cheeses. It was included with the price of the room and totally made up for all of the other little complaints we had.

The pool is really gorgeous and well-maintained. It's only open from 9 am to sunset though, which can be very early in October (5 pm). We didn't get to use it.

We found the guy selling the taxi services (Mr. B) very unpleasant to work with, although it was nice prearranging our car rides before going out in Luxor as we weren't part of an organized tour (which many people in the hotel were) and you can be constantly hassled if you're independent travelers.

There is a bank counter where you can change your money or ask for smaller currency notes which was very convenient. There's an ATM inside the hotel and the front desk staff were friendly and willing to help. Finally, we were also able to check in very early (although we had to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned) which was extremely helpful, and we were allowed to leave our luggage after checkout for a several hours.

The location is great (walking distance to Luxor Temple and Luxor Museum, right across from the Nile) and if you're looking for a moderately-priced place to stay in Luxor with some amenities and services not offered at the cheaper budget hotels, then this would be a good option. You can save some money by not eating at the hotel and buying your bottled water from the shop right outside to the left (large bottle of water is 2 EGP whereas at the hotel it's 11 EGP).

I had a nice time in Luxor but probably wouldn't stay here again as there are other nicer, smaller hotels in Luxor at a lower cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisfille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    201
    77
    41
    37
See reviews for
111
233
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed at el Luxor for 3 nights. There were too many things not right with the room such as safe not working, dribbly shower, tv remote broken and dirty. The location is ok but the standards need to be improved drastically

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzfamily255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Just arrived back home after another lovely week at El Luxor hotel this is the second time we have stopped there The staff are all friendly especially Aly Mohamed the guest relation manager who gave us the same room as year before with great views over the nile.Aly took us around the rooms in seperate wing which had been refurbished and were all new and looked gorgous and should be ready at end of year.The pool area is nice and peaceful with a large pool.It is a short walk to Luxor temple and markets are not to far away either walk or take a carriage which is good fun haggling with drivers.Breakfast catered for everyones tastes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Luxor generally, excellent sites to see. A lot a hassell from locals (and hotel staff) so be prepared. Karnak temple, highlight, a must see (light and sound show optional, was good). Valley of Kings good but a lot of hassel from people who appear to work there and expect tips on top of the entry fee, so be careful!

Hotel: Good location for most things,but thats about it. it isn't in my opinion a 4* hotel, at best 3*. Only ate breakfast to fill the belly, it wasn't too great; it was bland, not much variety or fresh fruit considering it was Egypt. Staff weren't very helpful, rather arrogant and rude in their manner at times.

I wouldn't recommend the salon based in the hotel. I don't think their staff have any professional qualifications to carry out their treatment and their working practices are unprofessional, the cashier observes the treatments which they carry out in your room!!!??

"A Fitness centre" - A tredmil and cross trainer which they charge for!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grrEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival and we were offered some hibiscus juice while checking in and then quickly shown up to our room which was in the southern extension block and had the most wonderful view out to the Nile and Theban Hills.

Within 5 minutes we had a phone call to check everything was OK with the room.

I would say the room was in need of modernisation but the hotel appears to be carrying out an extensive refurbishment program on the rooms at the moment, there was no noise disturbance caused during our stay by this work. Although it needed modernised a little, it was clean and 'very' comfortable. Plenty wardrobe and storage space, safe, t.v. (no idea about channels it was never on the entire 2 weeks).

On our first morning we were greeted with a friendly "Welcome to the breakfast room" and shown to a 'properly' set table, breakfast staff were cheery and actually looked happy to serve us. Quality of food was good with plenty choice available, coffee wasn't to my taste but the waiters would make you nescafe if asked.

Lovely pool area, sunbeds only have the one position - flat, however I had no problems and managed to read my book and use my laptop while relaxing on them. There was waiter service by the pool for drinks and food, we ordered a few poolside lunches, all well prepared, tasty and reasonably priced.

I would say the best bit about this hotel has got to be the staff, they go out of their way to create the friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere the hotel has. Aly, from guest relations makes time every day to ask guests if everything is OK with their stay and ensure everyone is happy. Nothing seems too much trouble here.

I liked it so much I got home and instantly changed my booking for my next holiday from the Winter Pavillon over to the El-Luxor as I feel it really was a "home from home" I can really see why people return here year after year and can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent , England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed for two weeks in August, with children aged 9 and 12.
The hotel is well located, it's away from most of the other hotels, on The Corniche, which if you didn't get hassled from the 'touts' as soon as you stepped outside the hotel, would be a nice place to go for a stroll. The main part of the hotel is six floors, we had a Nile View room, with good sized balcony, and balcony funiture. We were on the first floor with interconnecting door to our childrens room. Rooms were a good size, if a little dated in decor. Both rooms had a fridge with a ice box which we found invaluable, as we freezed water bottles overnight, ready for doing the sites the next day. After a week we had to move rooms as the air con broke down in our part of the building. The staff and management could not have been more helpful, relocating us to pool side room. The room was again interconnecting, but this time it opened onto the garden. After stupidly leaving the garden door open a gecko got into our room, staff came to help rid the room of the harmless beast, but as I HATE anything like this and knew I wouldn't be able to sleep for thinking 'it' would be back in the room, the hotel staff relocated us again, back into the main building and this time on the 5th floor, again, Nile view room. However, the rooms, though next to each other were not interconnecting. I was slightly nervous of this as I like to be able to pop into the children etc, but we found the internal phone system sorted out all our worries, we were literally a phone call away. (or a bang on the wall). During the room moves, the staff could not have been more helpful, courteous and understanding.

The pool area was quite busy at times and the pool boys would quickly find a bed and towel for you, we only had one day when a towel was not instantly available and that was because they had had a large part of people in that morning who were delayed going onto a criuse boat and they had used towels. Ali, the customer relations guy was great with children and adults around the pool, he and some other guys would get in the pool and arrange volley ball and water polo, then they would have lilo races with the children. Again, the staff were a pleasure to been around.
Pool side drinks and snacks were served from the Italian restraunt, pizza was Ok, nothing special, but were in Egypt, not Italy. The breakfast buffet we found good. Their was always fresh fruit, cereals, breads, pastries as well as hot selection, which tended to be grilled tomatoes, eggs to order, potatoes and a meat, I found the hot selection rather strange on some days, but we always a had something to eat. Your not going to get a full english breakfast though.
The evening restraunt, which we eat in only once was good.
My recommendations for staying at this hotel are
Shop at the 'corner shop' found just to the left of teh hotel, they have cold bottles water, snacks soft drinks etc. Take a bag for life from home as it seems a bit of a cheek to walk through the hotel with your own drinks, though no one ever said anything.
If you enjoy being in the pool, take a beach ball, lilo, or whatever you like to have in the pool, things like this are VERY expensive out their and we can pick things up for a pound or so at home (if you have room in your case, take a couple and flog them to Harry at the corner shop!!!!)
Try and find your way to Oasis Cafe, and Roma Italian restraunt. We found Roma on our last night, and 6 of us had a great meal with soft drinks for £20 - a momorable night. They are located in 'Little England', as the rep where to find them and then grab a Caleche or taxi. We walked from the hotel, along the Corniche, but we did have family living there who were able to show us the way.
Another tip is, get off the beaten track, if you have time, walk a few streets back from the Nile, it's another world. We did see some of the 'real' egypt and despite wandering through unmade roads, with no street lights at night we never once felt unsafe.
Another tip is, go to Macdonalds, they have the best air con in Luxor, they also have from the first and second floor, the best view of luxor temple and the sun set over the Nile. Its also worth sitting in there and just watching the world go by, watch the Caleche driver, admire the taxi and buses driving, wonder how 6 people can fit on a moped.....

Luxor is a experince, yes you get hassled by touts, some days it really got to me, other days we were able to laugh it off, Egyptians tend to have a good sense of humour, so laugh at their joke.
My only word of warning, the children are beggers, the adults will scam you but you know thats what they are doing, they will try to make money any way they can, but the kids will just try to rip anyone off. My son decided to buy some book marks from the street kids, her handed over a note, quick as a flash the child had swapped the note for one of a lower value and started shouting that my son was trying to steal from him. I knew about this scam so just said, "fine, call the police" at which point he sais sorry Madam and high tailed it.
These poeple are very poor by our standards, go to the souk and barter, but don't try and get something for a stupidly low price, let them make a few pounds out of you. If you get good service, give a decent tip.

I would also recommend booking your own trips when you arrive, by the Winter Palace hotel are some travel agents, we used the same one each time, Abu Simbel Travel, and we found we got better and better prices as the day went on. We always went in with a price in mind that we wanted to pay and always got that price (but be realistic) We booked balloon trips, camel ride, felluca, and Karnak temple with them. We also took a felluca, dealing with the 'captain' direct. we had a amazing morning fishing and sailing on the nile, We went on the "King tut" and the guy was brilliant, he also took us swimming, which I think is frowned upon, but swimming in the nile with some local kids was the highlight of my sons visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawkinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

This was our second trip to Luxor and to this hotel, and we really enjoyed it again (would definately go back there). The staff and Aly the guest relations manager can't do enough to make your stay a really pleasant one. They are in the process of updating this hotel, and yes some of the rooms are dated but they are cleaned daily with clean towels and bedding. We had a Nile room view again and yes it is a bit noisy with the boats moored opposite but this is Luxor and part and parcel of the holiday. Breakfast is buffet style and with plenty of choice and again the staff in the restaurant are wonderful. Added to this meet again a couple we meet at the hotel last year and had a really great time. In all another wonderful holiday, sorry to leave and can't wait to go back there. Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvanahblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Property: Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing