We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our stay at the Sofitel Karnak was wonderful, we stayed here for one week and we could not fault anything.
The staff went out of there way to do anything for us and were so helpful, our room was very comfortable and very clean.
Too many people there to mention but the restaurant staff and the poolside staff were brilliant, it made our holiday and we are saving up to go again next year.
from Brian, Pat & Jen in England :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Penfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    482
    208
    69
    41
See reviews for
352
679
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

It was our 5th time to this Hotel and again we were not disappointed. An oasis of calm set in beautiful gardens, well kept pool areas with plenty of sun loungers. It is well worth taking the Half Board option and using the Opet Restaurant, which caters for all tastes. The food is of an excellent standard and the Staff fantastic, thanks to Ahmed Taha and Ahmed Omar. Taking Breakfast outside on the Terrace is wonderful, with views of the Nile and Thebian Hills. The Sunset views each Evening are Stunning. A must is the Friday Evening Mouled theme night. Great entertainment and buffet on the banks of the Nile.
All the rooms are spotless and Housekeeping second to none, thanks Eimad.
A Big Thank You to EVERYONE who made our Holiday so special. We will definately see you all again soon

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Sir;

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday; consider it your 02nd home

You are one of our valuable repeater clients using the hotel several times, and you became an asset for the hotel, I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming and seeing you again and again

Sincerely yours;

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

stayed here one week in september 2011 as also went on Nile cruise and enjoyed being in this hotel so much I intend to return June 2013. First class all the way, gardens beautiful, service exceptional and so friendly staff (you thought you had known them years). Ideal location, good taxi service from Saied cab 34 and others and of course great weather, the food variey great, party nite great - everything Great. Well done Mr Manager and hope you got the pictures I sent you. Margaret - Ramses ll 1017.x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Located in an extensive garden setting on the Nile this low-rise resort-style hotel was a real oasis after the heat of the Valley of the Kings and other temples. Being a bit out of town allows for the great pool and gardens area which we took full advantage of. There was plenty of shade too which was a plus and superior to other hotels.
Food was generally good quality "international" hotel food with limited Egyptian choices available. Breakfast was extensive.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. I left my sunglasses somewhere around the hotel and they went out of their way to find them and return them to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We are much delighted to reveiw your valuable comments in regards your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just returned from my 13th visit to this hotel over the last 3 years.The hotel position and layout cannot be beaten by any other hotel.Being outwith busy luxor is refreshing and it is cheap and easy to reach when you want to visit.The rooms are comfortable and kept clean and tidy daily.The pool is great with seats at bar in water.I always stay BB and there is always good choice of foods in mornings,I eat at poolside bar some lunchtimes and food is nice.I choose to eat outside hotel in evenings so I cannot comment on evening meals.
The evening entertainment is quite poor although I know that hotel is trying to improve this with Karaoke and Egyptian nights-think success of this will be dependent on the number and "type" of guests on visit to hotel.
Some of air conditioning in rooms are quite noisy but that doesn't bother me much,fridges too are noisy,new televisions in bedroom-but CNN news not available anymore.
shops within hotel at usual hotel prices but at least there is" no hassle" if you need souveniers and dont want to go outside.
cashline in hotel and exchange is useful
I experienced upset and distress from a very "decorative taxi driver " and considered stopping my trips to Luxor - over the last week several hotel staff helped persuade and convince me to return.The staff are all friendly ,polite and helpful.
couple of the rooms are very near mast with speaker and early morning call to prayer is loud (around 4am)but I personally like hearing this.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar-don't expect large balconies with views-majority are small (2 chairs) look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our holiday after a cruise and 3 nights in Cairo. The room itself was lovely and clean except for the very loud air conditioning and the slightly blocked plughole in the bath, which made the tub fill up when you showered. But not unbearable for 4 nights! We believed that the high rating of the hotel was due to the large number of facilities available for free, such as the gym, jaccuzi, sauna, squash courts, tennis courts etc. Some other facilities are available for an extra cost such as the pool table and massage. The masseurs and some of the staff did get a little irritating. I don't mind being asked if everything is okay every now and again, but we were being asked every 10 minutes when we just wanted to relax. Due to the tourism being affected by the revolution, nowhere was particularly busy with tourists, so we assumed that was the reason. There is such a thing as being too nice.
The restaurants and bars were lovely and the food was of good standard, but not much choice for the evening if you are staying on a B&B basis. Breakfast was brilliant though. The sundowner bar was lovely in the evening, with a good range of cocktails for reasonable prices and an absolutely gorgeous view of the sunrise over the nile! The gardens were also beautiful. The shops were also reasonable priced with very helpful and friendly staff.
If you do want to venture into Luxor town, there are shuttle busses and boats available. We didn't end up doing this as we'd been there for 10 days already and just wanted to relax.
Very nice hotel, but the staff were too friendly to the point of irritating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Sir,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments , it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and that we have met your expectations. We place great value on your continued relationship with Accor Hotels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Sofitel Kanak-Luxor or any of Accor Hotels Worldwide.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Have just booked for our 5th stay at this hotel, I can only say nothing is to much trouble for all the staff any request is met positively and with a smile, The gardens and pool view of the Nile and Valley of the Kings is second to none. Not the largest rooms but put against everything a small price to pay for a great stay, This will be our last visit as we have to move on but thanks for the memories to all the staff

Room Tip: ask for pool facing rooms for evening sun, or ask for upgrade to suite not to much extra, do take di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We are much delighted to reveiw your valuable comments in regards your stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
3.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing