We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovel hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed at the Sofitel Karnak for 2 weeks in October. Went to Egypt purely for the guaranteed weather at this time of year. Hotel is lovely, maybe not 5 stars but nevertheless it was everything we wanted it to be. It is in a lovely quiet location, not within walking distance of anywhere really so you do need to take this into consideration. We however were lucky enough to be picked up from the airport when we arrived, by a lovely driver who continued to look after us for the whole duration, stopping to buy us bottled water (never asking us for payment) and even refusing to take money from us one day because he was late picking us up!

The review that is headed up 'basic miserable hotel with lousy food' is a completely unrealistic review, but this is fairly obvious when you read all the other positive ones surrounding it. The food isn't fine dining, but there always plenty of choice, every night something different and always served up with a smile. Our rooms were cleaned well every day, as were all the other areas of the hotel and I was always stopped by our housekeeper who wanted to make sure that we were satisfied and he also made sure I had the fruit juice that he knew I liked, stocked in our fridge. If you put yourself out to talk to the people who work in this hotel, they will look after you so well.

The pool is beautiful, cleaned every morning, the grounds are very well maintained, there are masses of sun beds with plenty of shady areas to sit. The pool bar is great with trays of fresh fruit juices continuously being brought round.

In summary, it's off the beaten track (therefore blissfully quite, which suited us), it is clean, comfortable, beautiful grounds, perfectly good food, and the staff are absolutely amazing, they made our holiday wonderful and we even got a personal send off when we left. We will be going back.

Room Tip: All I can say is if your not completely happy with your room when you arrive, speak to the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv10507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    482
    208
    69
    41
See reviews for
352
679
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Spent a week at this hotel from the 7 November and had a fantastic time. Everybody was very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for you without being overbearing. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. There was plenty of food to eat at both the breakfast and dinner and very well presented. The pool area was kept clean and the pool was cleaned out everyday. The gardens are lovely with a view over the Nile to the other bank. There is a free shuttle boat and bus service into Luxor everyday which comes in very handy. Went on a trip on a Felucca and had a fantastic time. This is attached to the hotel so you cannot be ripped off by them. All in all had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to place to rest and relax a bit. Can you trips from here so also good as a base. Would we go again? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodvale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just back from The Sofitel and we found it to be lovely. If you want a nice relaxing holiday then this is the place to come. I agree it is not 5 star, more 4 star but our room was ok, the beds very clean and comfortable. The food was ok and there was plenty of it. Most of the staff were nice but we did come across a few surly ones. There is a shuttle bus and boat which we used a couple of times but 1 day the bus had gone before the allocated time and I was told it was full.I was a bit annoyed about that as the male receptionist was a bit " couldn't care less attitude". However, my husband had arranged to meet me from the bus and he said the bus was empty!!!
There is a lot to see and do in Luxor and it is quite safe, there is some hassle from people trying to sell you things or offering a service but a quick no-thanks and continue walking seemed to sort that out. My only problem was, one day I went to the sauna/jacuzzi place and a male member of staff started talking to me and asking loads of questions, he wouldn't leave and was hanging about so I didn't feel comfortable using the facilities whilst he was there, so I never got to try them out.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would use it again.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room when you arrive ask for it to be changed there and then. The fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nefiwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

It is totally beyond belief that anyone would give this hotel more than one star.

The hotel bedrooms are gloomy with hard beds, cupboards with handles falling off, bathrooms with filthy taps and handles on the bath, television from the 1960's with only couple of English channels.

Room service and cleaning abysmal. Bins not emptied nor drinking glasses washed.

The restaurant is akin to an unused banqueting hall with a few cardboard cut out Egyptian models, only a third of the tables are laid. The food is tastleless to dire with cheap cuts of meat and fish and often cold.

The pool area is in need of refurbishment, many of the odd plastic chairs in need of replacement as ripped and damaged, poor pool service with only a machine for coffee and one person servicing a large area.

Garden area in need of good clean.

Common areas in between rooms also in need of good wash.

The lobby is cheaply decorated with nasty furniture. The only entertainment is in the bar which has an old fashioned projector system, where the sound is indecipherable and the cd's are ancient and repetitive and based on the Egyptian history.

Many flies around the banks of the Nile, which were not apparent in other hotels. Therefore it was not easy to rest or sunbathe.

We paid £5 for half an hour on the computer, which was so slow, we could not check in online for our flights and thus wasted the monies.

The saving grace were the staff who were charming.

Luxor itself is fabulous, the best hotel being the Hilton which is definitely five star, with fabulous views on the edge of the Nile, gorgeous furniture and furnishings and delicious food.

Give the Sofitel a miss as there is not a redeeming feature.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Sir,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments , it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uksurrey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Make an annual trip to Luxor and for the first time we Stayed at the Sofitel Karnak hotel for a week in October. Beautiful gardens, good size rooms. the staff were professional and attentive without being over bearing. As we were volunteering for the week at the sunshine Orphanage it was an oasis of calm after a hectic but rewarding day. This hotel is a little out of the city but that makes it ideal. You can enjoy the bustle of the souk and temples but return to the tranquility. The hotel offers a free shuttle boat, which is a lovely trip up the nile and drops you within walking distance of the Luxor Temple. There is also a free bus too. A Taxi cost £3.50 ... know we could have negotiated it cheaper but so few tourist around that we felt the need to support the locals.We
made our regular trip to the Radwan jewellers where Hussein made us toe rings as always excellent quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddessUksurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel is is a lovely quiet location though still very good access to all the sights and sounds of Luxor which are less than 10 minutes in a cab. they also have boat transfers into Luxor whcih is a lovely way to travel

Best points of the hotel- great value for money/huge well maintained gardens and pool- with stunning views of the nile. (hotel is located on nile itself)/ facilities are excellent- outdoor bars/restaurant/well maintained complex.. also they have small boats moored in front of the hotel (feluccas)- a real must to watch the sunset.. very romantic indeed..

Points to note- Note a real 5 star in Europeans standards- more 4 star plus.. and to be fair sthe price reflects that as is GREAT value. Service is very good and we loved the bar in the pool. Restaurant - they had a buffet style dinner - food little bland for my taste but was decent standard/ rooms - size ok though not large but no wow factor/ however comfy beds - to be honest we spent very little time in room as weather was perfect in Oct (Low 30's) and at night was sat watching sunset in the lovely hotel gardens and bar/ views from rooms all seem to face inland not of nile.. we loved the chilled out atmosphere of the hotel after a busy 2 days of sightseeing and we would def. return.. oh and Luxor is safe.. Please dont be put off by the news on TV- remember Luxor is 12 hours drive from Cairo... the people are charming and friendly and u just have to learn to ignore the way they try to sell to you- just be polite and ignore them!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJL3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel; we were here last Xmas when we toured Egypt and found it a peaceful haven away from the hustle of the sights of Luxor. This October, we returned for a week of rest and relaxation in 30+ degree heat, blue skies and with the added bonus of being able to revisit the temples and tombs in the Valley of the Kings. We booked a direct Easyjet flight to Luxor from Gatwick, and the hotel via Alpharooms.com for less than £300 B&B for 4 of us.

We had the same room type as last time: separate bedroom with a kingsize bed and good storage, while the kids (7 and 10) were on single beds in the lounge. Sheets were wonderful soft Egyptian cotton and beds were comfy. We had chairs and a table outside. Lots of table lamps, soft furnishings and a roof dome in the main bedroom made a change from bland hotel rooms.

The pool is large with thick padded cushions on the loungers and towels long enough to cover them. The pool area felt relaxed as there was enough space for everyone either by the pool, or on the grass area overlooking the Nile. The kids played water polo at 3 every day and there was a popular aqua aerobics class in the morning, but otherwise the pool was quite quiet.

Breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool and Nile were fine - the usual fare with eggs and pancakes cooked to order. We had buffet dinner once and again, it was fine. This isn't a gourmet paradise! Lunch by the pool was good with meals for about £5 (fresh fish, burgers, shawarma etc) which is incredibly reasonable and filling, and large bottles of water for £1 - unheard of in most hotels. I wouldn't recommend half or full board, as you'd be restricted to the buffet and miss out on local restaurants. We particularly liked upstairs at El Hussein in Karnak with a choice of set Egyptian meals for about £8. There are more expensive English restaurants we were recommended to like Puddleduck, but they were full of expats having Sunday roast the day we tried to get in!

Yes, this isn't a 5 star hotel in the true sense, but it's a comfortable and welcoming 4 star in need of a bit of TLC, but then that's what gives the place its charm and we don't like glossy arrogant 5 star hotels and other guests here were very friendly. If you want "here we go" then head to Sharm. Luxor's for the more discerning traveller who appreciates Egyptian culture.

We found staff to be even more attentive this time - maybe the events in Egypt have reminded hoteliers about the importance of customer service - and extrememly friendly. No one asked for tips, but welcomed them if offered. The reception staff were particularly helpful.

We used the same taxi driver we'd had last time (Ahmed in car 69) - he's just one of the c30 drivers who wait outside the hotel for fares from guests - and he greeted us like old friends and took us back to his favourite coffee house near Karnak temple, and all the sights we wanted to see. He also organised a sunset felucca trip to Banana island for about £15 for 4 of us. The guy at the Sofitel wanted double. You can use the hotel shuttle bus into Luxor (about 15 mins drive), but a taxi's less than £3 and it's door to door service and helps locals earn a living.

I can recommend taking the free shuttle boat to the Winter Palace - it's a lovely trip down the Nile taking about 40 mins. We stayed on it and came back. The crew stopped to buy some pastries on the East Bank and shared them with us.

I'd definitely return here.

Room Tip: It's quieter the further away you go from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sir,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
3.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing