We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel for my honeymoon, loved every minutes of it, I couldn't have found a better place to stay, the garden were beautiful, the swimming pool set in a nice and relaxing setting and the view of the nile wonderful, the staff were all really friendly and helpful, I really can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    475
    207
    68
    41
See reviews for
341
668
116
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Furness, Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

There is much to say about this hotel in attempting to balance criticism but I'm afraid the negative wins hands down. Immediately upon arrival the standard was set by an indifferent performance by the reception staff. The room was found to be minimally cleaned with much dust/bits to be seen in the corners etc. The bathroom, wardrobe & patio doors were in serious need of a carpenter. Breakfast was a free for all in gaining attention from poorly trained staff who were inattentative and disorganised. A plus for this place is the gardens but daily watering ensures a constant fly nuisance - a sun bed snooze was impossible. After an awful first day chicken burger lunch by the pool that was it for me and the hotel did not see another EGP of my money. What saved the week at this hotel was the trips out into Karnak\ Luxor to dine in local restaurants where a mix of Egyptian/English/German/Indian hosts knew how to please and more without overcharging as Sofitel does. Restaurant excursions were planned using Trip Advisor reviews and I would wish to say thanks to all who contribute with their most accurate reviews. Keep the reviews coming because the small businesses deserve our support where the big like Sofitel don't. I say Sofitel should downgrade this hotel to Egyptian 3 stars, qualified by excellent experience enjoyed at both Reef Oasis Blue Bay and Renaissance Golden View Beach Resorts, Sharm El Sheikh.
As a footnote my first week was a cruise on the Nile for the second year. It wasn't as good this time for many reasons and I'm afraid that the last decade will be seen as the golden era of exploring the Nile. It is now too overcrowded on the Egyptology tourist trail with the fleets of boats noisy and polluted by ever present diesel fumes. The schedule was tiring with dinner at a ridiculous late time of 20.00hrs.
Having said that I would not hesitate to say to anyone thinking of going to the Nile for the first time that it is a lifetime experience that has to be done.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel after a week on the Nile Cruise Ship The Royal Viking which was my third time on a Nile Cruise. Unfortunately due to Egypt’s popularity now, every Temple that was visited seemed extra crowded and felt like our groups were herded in and out and the itinerary on the ship was suited to pick up more travellers along the Nile like a bus service. Two nights stay in Aswan (with not so nice weather) then a dash back to Luxor to dock for a further two nights, so only a couple of days, (and stops for temples) actual sailing during the day time which is the best part. Whilst docked of course alongside other ships the smell and noise from the ever running diesel engines spoils the cruise. But getting back to the Hotel Sofitel in Karnak that lays just 10mins by taxi outside the busy area of Luxor, peace and tranquillity prevailed. Lovely garden and pool areas with plenty of sunbeds overlooking the lovely Nile. Rooms ok but a little dark during the day with small amount of natural lighting. The staff are very friendly but unfortunately lack training in the breakfast dining room. Most of the waiters seemed to be wandering around in a daze half of the time. I sat and watched each morning as guests grabbed spare cutlery or cups from empty tables, waited patiently for someone to bring either coffee or hot water for tea and I spent many a morning asking where is the fresh fruit and can the cereal bowl be filled please. Many of the waiters looked very fed up or just tired. Sofitel Management please wake up! This is not 5 Star Service. My advice would be for you to take a look at how they do it in Sharm! And Reception Staff please be alert, you are the first contact with new guests arriving and first impressions often last. I am afraid you did not leave a good first impression as you kept us waiting in reception on arrival for over an hour with our room key waiting for us. But no apology! Finally, the best thing about this weeks holiday (apart from the fantastic weather 30-40c) was definitely the restaurants that are out and about in Karnak and Luxor. We got a list from TripAdvisor and couldn’t fault any of them. Jewel in the Nile, The Lantern, Puddleducks, A Taste of India, Gerda's Garden and JJ's. All good value with most of the hosts being English and very helpful. To get to the restaurants THE BEST TAXI DRIVERS EVER are AHMED HELMY Taxi 246 and his brother MOHAMED. So reliable, helpful, speak excellent english and wont let you down. Just ask at reception and they call the gate and they come from just outside to the front door. Ahmed’s car has LED lights along the bottom of the front of the car so you cant miss him and you are always greeted with a lovely smile! As with any holiday you have the good and bad but these are just the facts as found by myself. I love Egypt and all the lovely Egyptians and can’t wait for my 7th return! I hope you have a pleasant stay and want to return aswell.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NefertariCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Arrived back yesterday. Brilliant Hotel. Clean, friendly and beautiful. Rooms were cool and cleaned daily. The grounds were beautiful and well kept and easy to relax in plenty of cool areas. Beautiful location looking over the Nile. A variety of eating places on the complex but not far from a number of other places to eat. Some to try JJ's in Karnak and Puddleduck in Luxor. All amenities available on site. Cash machines, saunas, gym, beautiful pool and pool service. Free pool towels, and plenty of sun beds. Staying just outside Luxor was the best way to go. Just a short ride from the bustle of city centre (which in itself was an experience). It's easy and cheap to travel off the complex to see the sites. Our taxi driver Ahmed (692) made our week a real treat couldn't do enough and showed us real Egypt. Would recommed the experience to anyone. We will be returning the sooner the better. Alcohol expensive take your own or try the tea as good as at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

This is a poorly maintained, slightly grubby property which inexplicably belongs to the Sofitel chain — More like Mercure, or even Ibis judging from the bathrooms.
Our room had dust and debris behind the door, where obviously no one had swept or cleaned for a very long time. There was mouldy grouting between the tiles in the bathroom; the shabby shower curtain hung partly off its hooks and there were hairs (not ours) on the floor. The twin beds had greyish sheets on them. There was a small balcony, but without a light.
The public areas and garden are nothing special.
The buffet restaurant caters for mass-tourism, but to be fair to the chefs working there they made an effort to provide a good variety with fresh ingredients and we managed to find some tasty (Egyptian) dishes. I would recommend staying away from the ambiguous mayonnaise-laden salads from the appetiser section.
Our stay was included as part of a package holiday in Egypt but I looked up the price for a double room on their website, which was listed at 76 €. For that cheap rate, it's an acceptable place stay. Just as long as you don't expect it to be anywhere near Sofitel standard.
P.S. They also charge a totally outrageous fee for Internet connection and the 'free' shuttle and ferry into Luxor run at inconvenient times - they charge for the convenient times.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lady from Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

I was also apprehensive of staying here after some of the negative reviews. But in the end I booked here and I don't regret it at all, would go back in a heart beat. Its a beautiful location and the rooms and hotel are clean and safe and staff are friendly and if you tell them something needs attention they fix it. It is however an inexpensive place and so you also have to bear that in mind and set your expectations accordingly.

You should not expect the quality of food, service, linen that you get paying 4x the price, but its great value for money. What don't you get, well there's no 24hr room service, fruit at breakfast is limited in selection, rooms are adequate size but not large. Linen, towels etc are not top quality. Its basically a family tourist hotel so if you are going during the English for French school holidays you better like children.

The only complaint I have is the price of the internet access, its extortionate. Basically set at business hotel prices. Come on Sofitel this is a leisure hotel. Internet should be free or very cheap. You pay more for 24hr access than you would at home for a month. The only upside is that you get reasonable bandwidth as no one else is using it :)

Also we had a great driver who set reasonable prices without haggling - his name was Mohsen (Mo zen) and you can reach him on +20 176807521. Best find of our trip. Oh and the Lantern Restaurant in Luxor is great as well. Try the Egyptian traditional meal on Thursdays - need to book @ least day before.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillionmileflyerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

This was our 2nd visit, being here for the first time 2 years ago. We doubted whether to go to the recently opened, next door Hilton Luxor or return to the Sofitel. We decided to return to the Sofitel because of the huge price difference compared with the Hilton and the good memories we had of our previous stay. After an exquisite 4 nights stay at the Cairo Sofitel el Gezirah, where we were a bit spoiled with great food and a stunning location, we were a bit disappointed with the Sofitel Karnak. If you come to this hotel looking for value for your money (€75 p/room, including breakfast and taxes) then you have chosen wisely. If you come to this hotel expecting the usual “Sofitel” luxury 5 start resort environment then do not choose this property. As expressed by other reviews the hotel is idyllically located, secluded from the busy and noisy Luxor streets yet close enough to all this marvelous historic area has to offer. A 10 min (30 EGP) taxi ride takes you to Luxor, (that is if you choose not to take the free hotel shuttle bus or paid boat ride to Luxor) where you have a wide variety of eating options ranging from EGP 150 for two (Sinbad very basic Egyptian food in a Garden set-up, on the town side of the Luxor Temple) to EGP 300 (Kebabgy, alongside the river port side, in front of the Winter Palace), both options offering good Egyptian food. If you’re adventurous enough you can even walk from the Sofitel (15-min) and try your luck at one of the Karnak (Egyptian) restaurants along the road. The experience of the walk is worth taking the chance. The Sofitel is located along the Nile with exceptional views, breathtaking sunsets and beautiful gardens. The staff is very friendly (for Egyptian standards) and you could even relax around the pool if you’re lucky enough not to be there during the hours that the “Animation” team is convincing relax seekers to join their daily (annoying) aqua gym, water polo or other peace disturbing “entertainment” madness that involves lots of screaming, loud music which combined with the daily rounds of the beauty parlor’s personnel trying to convince you to visit their “salon” for a hair treatment, manicure, massage…., support their “Animation Team” colleagues to cut through the tranquility and enjoyment the pool area and beautiful gardens could offer if they would all disappear and just leave us “relax” seekers alone to enjoy this privileged spot on earth. (Advice; avoid the pool area between 11-1). The whole infrastructure is in desperate need of a long due renovation making even the €75 per room per night (for 2) seem expensive if they wait another year. Expect room floors that look as if they haven’t been thoroughly cleaned for ages, bathtubs that look shabby, closet doors that need a Goliath to slide, noise making defect air conditioning and many other details that confirmed to us that this place has not been well taken care off for at least the 2 years, since we were last here. Spare yourself the embarrassment of eating at one of their restaurants that is unless you want to add to your list of “worst” meals registry. The pool area restaurant is the only place worth taking the chance. Like all hotels, in general their food & beverage prices are much more expensive compared to places in the surroundings, but the worst is they do not meet the expectations of a Sofitel. I don’t mind paying more for my food (as I did in Cairo) as long as I get value for my money, which was not the case at any of their 3 eating options, except for the pool café serving regular lunch options. At the end we should have paid the €185 and stay at the Hilton buying us much more peace, relax and satisfaction then what we got for our “cheap” Sofitel choice. And I repeat, if you are looking to save money and don’t mind the lack of that added touch of luxury, comfort and refined surroundings, Sofitel Karnak is still a good option. If you’re after a real 5 star experience, go to the Hilton, it’s worth every single extra cent you pay… A word of advice to the Sofitel management, stop advertising this property as a 5 stars and get to terms with the fact that the property barely reaches 4 stars (thanks to its location)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonenJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
3.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing