We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise - not quite lost, but mislaid a little ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise - not quite lost, but mislaid a little ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here 18 months ago in October 2009, and loved it - couldn't wait to come back. I'm not sure it's quite the paradise we found back then. Some things are as good as ever. The service is impeccable - friendly and courteous. Ramses the camel, and his handler Mohammed continue to delight everyone, young and old. The grounds are beautiful - constantly watered with a wide range of plants. The little zoo is great. We also consider the quality of food in the buffet to be an improvement on last time. The old infinity pool remains idyllic. There is a new infinity pool - much larger. I'm sure it will be wonderful when the bar opens, and the water warms up a bit! It's much larger than the other one, but doesn't have such a great view, or water that seems to spill into the Nile.
Now for the downside ... we are in one of the new blocks. Rather shoddily built. I think we may be the first to stay in our block (number 7). Lovely large rooms, but we have an interconnecting door to the next room and the sound proofing is zero. It is impossible to get the shower to hold a steady temperature - have been nearly scalded on the medium setting several times. The pillows are rock hard and VERY thick. We asked for some thinner, softer pillows. Were given a fresh supply, but no different from the originals. The main downside of the new blocks though is that it's a long trek to breakfast, the old infinity pool, reception ... basically everywhere. We managed to block our toilet, and it took several phone calls to get it sorted - unpleasant for them, and embarrassing for us !
On balance, still a wonderful resort hotel. But I can't help but feel the enlargement project has had an eye more for speed and profit than quality. Whilst larger than the old rooms, I think if we returned we'd opt for one of the small, refurbished bungalows.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FDDPAPtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    390
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
560
995
87
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We arrived off the first plane out of Birmingham after the revolution and were greeted in the stunning new reception area, conducted to our newly renovated bungalow amid the beautifully cared for gardens in a dinky little buggy complete with our luggage. Leaving the unpacking till later we took advantage of the fading light to stroll down to the boat area taking in the atmosphere of the nile accompanied by the sound of classical music before wending our way to the new Ascot bar for the first of our nightly light suppers. The weather was perfect and we spent many hours sailing with Mahmoud or Brian on Feluccas "Papyrus" and "Neptune", always a highlight of a holiday at Jolie Ville. This is no ordinary hotel, the staff are really helpful and friendly and determined to do everything in their power to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The adult only swimming pool is a delight, "Ramses" the friendly camel with handler Abdul and his little zoo, the attentive staff at breakfast time including, watching the local bread being made in a traditional oven overlooking the nile, the housekeeping and the beautiful setting all and the perfect weather all combine to make this the dream holiday experience

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welliegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Really friendly atmosphere, stayed in brand new apartments. There was building work going on, but did not interfere with our enjoyment at all. There is a free bus to take you to the centre of Luxor. Otherwise enjoy the seclusion away from the bustle of Luxor. Great grounds to walk around. Restaurants had good choice of buffet for breakfast. We went b & b and they had reasonable prices for dinner. Luxor also has a plentiful supply of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHippyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Eight months ago there was little evidence that big things were about to happen at the Jolie Ville Kings Island. When we returned in February there was a fantastic new reception area, new bar but most important of all and entire new 'Royal Wing' development which surely counts as a completely new International standard hotel! The new development bosts fantastic new rooms with satellite tv, widescreen televisions, beautiful bathrooms and a huge new infinity pool. Of course this isn't the only change that has happened at what is my favourite hotel. Regular vistors will remember with a degree of fondness the original rooms with their 1970's style bathrooms. Well, they are gone and have been replaced with new decor. The standard of service remains the same, the managemebt team and the staff as as comitted as always to making sure you feel really welcome. During our stay the unrest in Egypt was in full swing but at Kings Island and in Luxor it was business as usual with absolutely no threat to anyone. This has always been a great hotel but this new addional development has allowed the Kins Island Jolie Ville to become a true International resort hotel whilst retaining its original island charm. If you are visiting Luxor, and you should,this must be your first choice hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We really enjoyed staying here. The meals are buffet stile unless you eat at one of the special restaurants. The food was good and so was the service. Being on an island in the middle of the Nile was special. We could sit on our vaeranda and watch the feluccas sailing up and down the river.The one "Exception" to the stay was the flies. It was almost impossibe to lay by the pool because the flies were so thick. You found yourself spending the whole time there swatting them off of you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4happyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We had great holiday - despite the revolution while there! We would urge people to go back as soon as things settle down again - the people are wonderful and we never felt threatened. 4th trip to Jolie Ville over the 30 years of its existance. Originally it was Movenpick now under Maritim. Maritim are expanding it from something like 250 rooms to 500 rooms - by building deluxe and super-deluxe cottages and doubling the amount of island being used. We started off in the older cottages but the one we had didn't have bath only shower so we decided to pay more to try the new de-luxe cottages - we negiotiated and got it for extra $30 per night instead of $40. Excellent with balcony and stunning nile views (not all have Nile views). Free Wi-fi. My wife is light sleeper and unfortunately our room had door to adjoining flat (used for families) but this was by no means soundproof. So we moved to another room without the adjoining door and it was lovely and completely peaceful. Food excellent as always - tip-top! Don't miss the 3 dinners special offer (virtually 3 for price of 2). We had 6 meals over the 2 weeks - great. We "inspected" the other good hotels in Luxor over the holiday - (Sheraton, Steigenberger, Isis) but nothing matched the Jolie Ville. The building work did not bother us and should be finished very soon. Now 3 swimming pools - and the views are unsurpassed. There used to be a hotel courtesy boat to centre of Luxor which was working until Jan 2010 - it was great, Hope they bring it back. Otherwise there is courtesy mini-bus which is good service. We always have cup of tea or coffee at the majestic, historic WINTER PALACE - where Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon were based in the King Tut discovery days. Lovely gardens.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Africahopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed in a new room next to the new (3rd) pool - huge and very clean, the beds are a bit hard. The renovation work did not interfere in any way - we generally used the infinity pool which is close to the work but were never disturbed.
Breakfasts are huge and varied - I'm sure that some on B&B only ate one meal all day. The Fleur restaurant bears comparison with most good restaurants and was a pleasure to eat in. Wine is not cheap due to the tax, but the egyptian gin was adeaquate and half the cost of imported. Don't go half board, purchase the meal deal on arrival.
Get your trips locally, often at half the price of a tour operator. Reception will help with organising.
The staff are wonderful - provided you treat them decently.
The weather was perfect for us and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIkeW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing