We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mistake!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We made a terrible mistake with this hotel, we only stayed 5 nights! It was a great hotel, friendly, safe, clean, the new accommodation is large, well built, comfortable, the facilities are good, perhaps lacking evening entertainment for children. About 4 miles from downtown Luxor it is a tranquil setting, without any of the hassle in Luxor. Staff are friendly, room service is very good value and efficient, breakfast can be a bit chaotic so get there early. Free WIFI in rooms but very slow connection, I highly recomend this hotel for a quiet relaxing break, sports facilities are excellent with tennis courts and a new gym. Just needs a little more to do in the evening. Make sure you are booked into the new accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnerpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    407
    110
    50
    28
See reviews for
575
1,018
90
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Jolie Ville complex has effectively doubled in size since our last visit in 2008, with the addition of ten new two-storey accommodation blocks each containing 34 new rooms.

This well-designed new accommodation has taken the offering to a new level of sophistication, with spacious bedrooms and modern bathrooms which incorporate a bidet and double washbasins. The colour scheme is dark wood and cream throughout, with marble-effect floor tiles.

The upper floor rooms have the advantage of being more private, with access from steps located in the inner courtyard, whereas ground floor rooms have their doors on the outer perimeter of the block which open onto a public path. However the steps to the upper level could be a bit daunting for anyone with mobility issues.

So far, so good - but whilst the design is excellent, and everything the Jolie Ville's many fans could have hoped for, the build quality is downright shoddy in places. Walls appear to have been painted with expensive electrical fittings already in situ - and the project seems to have suffered from a complete lack of quality control. How much effort does it take to hang two pictures level with each other, for goodness' sake, or to avoid splashing yellow undercoat when putting 'gold' highlights on wrought-iron railings?

Don't blame the Egyptians. If I were in Maritim's head office right now I'd be wanting a serious word with my Eastern European contractors who apparently carried out the project under the noses of unemployed local people. Disgraceful on so many levels.

Outside the gardens have been newly laid, so there are a few bare patches in the grass and a lot of dust. There's also a serious lack of shade. The big open area between the new Horizon pool and the new accommodation blocks badly needs the same covered walkways that were such an attractive feature of the original development.

The Horizon Pool itself lacks the charm and idyllic situation of the original Infinity Pool. It's much bigger fora start, and being set back further from the Nile doesn't offer the same illusion of swimming with the cruise boats as there's always vegetation in view over the vanishing edge. More importantly there is only a narrow tiled strip around the perimeter for sunbeds ... no chance to laze on grass under the trees and sunshades.

Signs for 'Golf Cart Stops' are sprouting round the complex, and already new arrivals are driven to their accommodation on these electric vehicles. In future it appears there will be a regular 'bus service' around the site.

The original (refurbished) bungalows look smarter from outside, although I didn't see inside one. They all now have rattan tables and chairs outside in addition to sunbeds and brand new electronic 'mozzie zappers' mounted between each terrace.

The effect of these at night is to cast an eerie blue light around the blocks ... and the guncrack snap of mosquitoes meeting their end now blends with the calls of frogs on the Nile and the haunting calls to prayer from the mosques on the West Bank as part of the JV's evening ambiance.

With regard to public areas the new reception is functional, with a short 'arcade' of shops (jeweller, snacks, gifts) and a bank which incorporates an ATM and money-changing machine for when the staff are off duty.

The main restaurant has expanded in size to incorporate what was the original reception area whilst La Fleur remains where it was and the 'old' Sobek function room is being turned into a new Italian themed dining area (A 'new' Sobek hall has been created as part of the new reception block).

The bar menu is improved in both range and quality over the old version - the bar itself is now located in the area behind the 'old' reception.

La Fleur has moved downmarket, mainly as a result of a successful 'meal deal' promotion which offers three meals for LE375, one of which can be taken in what was the JV's 'fine dining' restaurant. It's a bargain (a single dinner in La Fleur can cost well over LE300) but it does mean the room is packed every night. The live musicians have gone, and so has much of the atmosphere, sadly.

Two intriguing new developments ... some 'town houses' (whatever they are) are being built behind the old nursery and gift shop by the Infinity Pool, and a 'Nubian House' is being built beyond the new accommodation blocks to replace the 'Fellah's Tent'.

Beyond what I assume is going to be a reception foyer and bar there are a number of private dining spaces (think the downstairs rooms at the Sofra, but with Nubian style 'mud' walls and windows - even a fake staircase to nowhere and a 'well' with no shaft).
Outside at the back they're laying a flat concrete area for performers, backing onto the Nile.

The three new Royal Villas (still being built) look like they're going to be amazing.

Private pools, private terrace, bedrooms opening direct onto the terraces, central sitting dining area - and a separate service area where (it would appear) your own staff can prepare your meals. And a bay to park your limo. All securely fenced off and screened from the prying eyes of the package tourists.

The challenge for the Jolie Ville in future will be to maintain standards and to safeguard the visitor experience when all the new accommodation is full, and the refubishment of the old buildings complete.

Our first few days on site, when the complex was maybe 30% full, were idyllic. The second week, during which numbers of guests increased to perhaps over 50%, saw strains begin to appear in the system. It was no longer possible to get a table on the terrace for breakfast. The breakfast buffets themselves were crowded (only one of two serveries was in use) and plates of food were running out faster than staff could replenish them. There was nowhere to find a sunbed in the shade around the new pool.

Management will no doubt respond that these difficulties will be solved when all the new facilities are in service ... when the gardens have grown around the new build, when the third (Italian) restaurant comes on stream, when both main restaurant serveries are open, when the outside terrace is extended.

Right now, in April 2011, the Jolie Ville could go two ways. It could remain the special place it was, in harmony with nature and with a friendly, caring, 'family' atmosphere. Or it could become a large, loud and less appealing version of what it was where guests have to scramble for the best places to eat and to relax. A lot will depend on the skill of the management, and how cautious or careless they are in 'sweating the assets' and driving profits from their investment. The jury's out.. Right now I would be delighted to go back, and I would hope to deliver a verdict in another two or three years' time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJNCOLN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My wife and i thought it was time to write a review on this lovely Hotel as we are going back again in June for our 3rd time, Our experiences at the jolie ville have been excellent be our time spent around the pool or sitting outside our room, eating out or at the hotel it has been a pleasure, with staff who have always been pleased to offer good service they say welcome home when you arrive and that is how it feels to us. We have not seen all the alterations as yet but they were working during our last visit and it did not bother us. We like the adult pool for the peace and quiet and kids and parents have the infinity pool suits us perfectly. Really looking forward to seeing the new rooms we have been told that they are excellent. Looking forward to our holiday what more can we say. Malcolm & Elaine

Room Tip: Peace and Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIKER55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed from 10th to 14th April 2011. From start to finish, our stay at Jolie Ville was extremely pleasant. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The superior room that we were given had a great view of the Nile and was extremely spacious. The air-conditioning worked really well and the accomodation was far enough away from the main hotel areas to avoid the extraneous noise and background music from the main dining areas. The infinity pool outside our room was a delight. Refreshing and easy on the eye. The food was excellent and varied. The spa facilities were also good. In fact, we really did not have any complaints and would happily come back again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room away from the main hotel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Travelled to luxor after a Lake Nasser cruise and had a delightful 5 night stay
Accommodation in the new blocks was excellent, any minor issus dealt with promptly and rooms very comfortable
Service all round as good as last time so no concerns at curernt levels of overcrowding
New fitness centre had just opened and was very good.
Travelled considerably - keep it to half days though unless a real culture junky.
Can really commentd the City visits - were taken into paces we would never have dreamt of going - the mosque in Luxor Temple , a Franciscan primary school and the proper part of the souk - skipped te naff touristy bit, before a browse in the Luxor museum.
Ate out most nights - Puddleducks and Jewel of Nile were fine. Used the bus service each way - hop off by the ISIS (first stop) and avoid the melee of taxi/carriage drives outside the Winter Palace.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I have just returned from my 4th visit to the Jolieville - for previous travellers who have not returned to the hotel since the extensive building works then you will be amazed at what has taken place. The single lane bridge onto Kings Island has been upgraded to two lanes, new apartments for purchase are in the process of construction just on the right as you get onto the island, the new reception building and Sobek Hall are huge and very welcoming. The ever efficient reception staff were polite and smiling throughout.
The old reception and bar area have been converted into the main buffet restaurant which if the hotel was up to full capacity would have been interesting to see see how they coped as they would need to get in a lot of extra staff. The hotel was quiet whilst we were there with I was told the hotel had 30% of all tourists staying at Luxor. The buffet restaurant struggled to cope however they remained cheerful and polite.
My family and I were all put into number 7 of the 10 blocks - excellent spacious rooms which were tastfully furnished. Previous recent entries have made reference to soundproofing between rooms but have to say it did not disturb us and we were on the ground floor. Our rooms looked straight out over the new infinity pool which I have to say is impressive - the team at the pool work really hard maintaining the pool and are a credit to the hotel.
As previous guests of the hotel we were invited to attend a presentation on the southen end of the island where the company have built three villas for exclusive party bookings - have to say wow to the interior of Queen Villa - stunning - a brave venture by the company and I hope it pays off for them. If you get the opportunity to have a look whilst there take it - if I win the lottery I would book it! In conversation with the GM, Urs Umbricht, he is rightly proud of what is happening on Kings Island. The old bungalows are nearly all renovated and once completed will bring the hotel bang up to date - in essence there will be 3 hotel areas on site:
1. The old bunglaows in the beautifully tended gardens.
2. The new 2 tier bunglaows and infinity pool, gym and bar area towards the south of the island
3. The 3 exclusive villas on the southernmost tip of the island each with individual infinity pool.

Overall I am most impressed with what has happened at the Jolie Ville and once the new areas are fully "bedded in" and the gardens established I am sure the hotel will climb to the no.1 position on TA.
Would I go elsewhere to stay in Luxor - no chance - it would have to be something really special to beat what you can get at Kings Island.

Three tips for travellers:
1. If staying at the Jolie Ville take the 3 meal deal offer - it is worth it for the La Fleur restaurant alone.
2. Book trips etc at the tourist shops in front of the Old Winter Palace - I would certainly recommend Abu Simbel Travel - their prices were the best we found - a balloon trip cost 300 E pounds for adults and 200 for under 13's as opposed to the £74 as advertised by the tour company we travelled with and the 500 E pound special deal they offered. I would fully recommend Dream Balloons Co - their Pilot Captain Tarek formally worked for Hod Hod Balloons who we had previously flown with and we felt safe all the time.
3. Eating out - lots of places in Luxor - Puddleducks is still the best - recently redecorated and the standard of food and value for money is excellent - Mick and Jill - many thanks to you for the welcome and the meal - I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken tagine. We also ate out at Jewel of the Nile and Lantern both of which were good and make a welcome change to the food offered in the buffet restarant at the hotel which in my opinion is a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StubbingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Arrived 30th March for 1 week, from the start to the finish nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. They do not expect tips though we used to leave 20 Egyptian pounds some days for the room cleaner, his face was a picture and always did something special for us. The pools were lovely, the new infinity pool had only been open for a week. Watching the Nile cruise ships sail past was a delight.
The buffet breakfasts were superb, usually sneaked some rolls and cheese for a lunch snack. Tip i advise taking up the offer of 3 meals for £40, great value, we had 2 theme nights and a a la carte evening, which alone almost paid for the initial price.
The free air-conditioned bus into town was ideal. runs every 2 - 3 hours
Yes you will get hassle in Luxor itself but just keep saying no and dont lose your temper.
Watching the sunsets over the Nile is a photographic dream. Due to the low number of guests because of the recent troubles, we were upgraded to one of the new rooms. The far bungalows are a fair walk from the restaurant & bar etc. Luckily we were on the near side, still took 3-4 mins though. The room was awesome, huge bed and comfortable as well. The room was very large, easily the biggest hotel room i have stayed in. Free wi-fi as well. A few walks are available on the large grounds. Head north and walk to the tip of the island for good views.
To sum up
No bad points, Just the best accommodation i have stayed in. Well done Maritime Jolle

Room Tip: Buy the 3 meal deal, cheaper then paying as you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkArtsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing