We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as we remembered - and then some!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as we remembered - and then some!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Like many others, we are long term fans of this hotel. We visited a number of times between 2002 and 2005 and then had to miss a few years as we started our own business and had a son. He is now 4 and this was the right age, we felt to take him abroad for the first time.
We booked the hotel with much anticipation but - call me a cynic - I did not expect the experience to perhaps live up to our earlier memories. Previously we were a young couple and the bungalows were cosy and romantic, the service excellent and the holidays everything that we could have wished for. I had looked at the reviews over the last few years, wistfully longing to return but with the expansion and the intervening years, I expected that my recollections to be rose-tinted. I was wrong.
We arrived to see a lot of change - all very positive and the staff were as attentive and welcoming as previously. The food was as good as we remembered and the facilities all immaculate and impressive. The new accomodation is huge and very well suited to a family. All the staff, we felt were extremely proud of the additions to the hotel and were keen to express this - this shows a wonderful sense of team work.
Bearing in mind the current political situation - of which there was no sign whilst we were there, we were most impressed with the atmosphere on the island. It must be worrying to everyone to be running at only 20% occupancy yet this did not affect the level of service that we received in any way and is a tribute to those in charge. I cannot imagine that, were a similar situation to evolve in our country, the good old British would continue to work with such enthusiasm, genuine warmth and absolute dignity. We were pleased to note the number of visitors increasing as the week went by.
There are some comments on this site about the lack of planting around the new buildings. These were only completed very recently and you have only to look at the number of groundsmen at work to know that this will be addressed as soon as possible, and that it is a proirity - but even the Jolie Ville team can't get the plants to grow quicker! There is a gym and there is WIFI, so not quite sure what the problem was with the previous post.
We can't wait to get back - it will be next year rather than 6 years time! Our son adored it and all the attention he received. Thank you Jolie Ville for proving me a cynic!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamsMum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    390
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
560
995
87
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I have just returned from this fantastic place and just had to leave a review to tell anyone thinking about staying that they definately should!

The hotel grounds are huge and well kept. There are 3 pools including an infiniaty pool a horizon pool and a quite adult ont pool which is pure bliss.

The staff were very helpful and could not do enough to ensure that my mother and I had the prefect holiday, which we did.

There IS a brand new gym (previous poster said there was not) the food was good. The restarant has a different theme every night which keeps the food interesting.

As the hotel was only 30% full due to recent political problem we had 7* service at the jollie Ville. Some guests found the attention a little over bearing however I loved it.

I'm planning a return trip as soon as possible! My advice is BOOK IT!
I'm certain that you will not stay anywhere else in Luxor after you have stayed here.

Hope our holiday is as fabulous as ours was!

Happy travelling

Room Tip: Go to the sunday night egyptian party
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Great staff, lovely rooms, average food.

Wifi and Gym are both listed on the ebrochure. Wifi totally broken, gym doesn't exist

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This was our 6th Visit to Luxor, and our 5th to the Jolie Ville.
The Jolie Ville has undergone major changes since our first visit some years ago, and now has many new rooms in two storey units, as well as newly refurbished rooms in about half of the original bungalows. The original bungalows between the adult pool and the original infinity pool are still been refurbished, and work on the new town houses has at present ceased.
The grounds as always are immaculate lead by the amazing Mrs Reda and here team of gardeners, who are always ready to chat about the gardens, A garden tour with Mrs Reda is a must do.
The original rooms now refurbished are to a very good standard, and chatting to all the other regulars on our visit are much appreciated after such a long wait. The grounds around the original bungalows are mature, and the more dedicated visitors seem to appreciate this.
The newer buildings, built on what was adjoining farmland have much larger rooms, which attract an upgrade tarriff, and a completely new infinity pool similar to the original one at the other end of the island. Buggies are available to transport you to the furthest rooms if required.
There are also three villas with their own pools, one of which is finished.
The main restaurant has been completley refurbished , is nearly twice the size of the original, taking in the old reception area, and there is a new bar for snack type meals next to it, plus La Fleur restaurant for those extra special dinners. A new italian restaurant is also due to open shortly.
The staff, from the managers, reception, room boys, waiters etc etc are extremeley helpful, and make the holiday for us.
The guys who look after you around the adult relaxation pool deserve a special mention especially Osaka who seems to remember everybody and everything - much appreciated.
So once again it has been a very pleasant experience, one we look forward to repeating again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedevon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the amenaties were all cleaned regularly, the food is very good and the service was excellent (particularly in the kings bar) Our only gripe was that the dining tables outside were not cleaned between customers, neither were the paper table mats changed between customers. We would recommend a stay here to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in Luxor.

Luxor itself was very quiet, not many tourists due to the uprising earlier this year. We never saw anything that would make us nervous during our stay, and the sites are much quieter and easy to visit because of it.

Room Tip: Kings bar serve food, not well advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaddleworthClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We made a terrible mistake with this hotel, we only stayed 5 nights! It was a great hotel, friendly, safe, clean, the new accommodation is large, well built, comfortable, the facilities are good, perhaps lacking evening entertainment for children. About 4 miles from downtown Luxor it is a tranquil setting, without any of the hassle in Luxor. Staff are friendly, room service is very good value and efficient, breakfast can be a bit chaotic so get there early. Free WIFI in rooms but very slow connection, I highly recomend this hotel for a quiet relaxing break, sports facilities are excellent with tennis courts and a new gym. Just needs a little more to do in the evening. Make sure you are booked into the new accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnerpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Jolie Ville complex has effectively doubled in size since our last visit in 2008, with the addition of ten new two-storey accommodation blocks each containing 34 new rooms.

This well-designed new accommodation has taken the offering to a new level of sophistication, with spacious bedrooms and modern bathrooms which incorporate a bidet and double washbasins. The colour scheme is dark wood and cream throughout, with marble-effect floor tiles.

The upper floor rooms have the advantage of being more private, with access from steps located in the inner courtyard, whereas ground floor rooms have their doors on the outer perimeter of the block which open onto a public path. However the steps to the upper level could be a bit daunting for anyone with mobility issues.

So far, so good - but whilst the design is excellent, and everything the Jolie Ville's many fans could have hoped for, the build quality is downright shoddy in places. Walls appear to have been painted with expensive electrical fittings already in situ - and the project seems to have suffered from a complete lack of quality control. How much effort does it take to hang two pictures level with each other, for goodness' sake, or to avoid splashing yellow undercoat when putting 'gold' highlights on wrought-iron railings?

Don't blame the Egyptians. If I were in Maritim's head office right now I'd be wanting a serious word with my Eastern European contractors who apparently carried out the project under the noses of unemployed local people. Disgraceful on so many levels.

Outside the gardens have been newly laid, so there are a few bare patches in the grass and a lot of dust. There's also a serious lack of shade. The big open area between the new Horizon pool and the new accommodation blocks badly needs the same covered walkways that were such an attractive feature of the original development.

The Horizon Pool itself lacks the charm and idyllic situation of the original Infinity Pool. It's much bigger fora start, and being set back further from the Nile doesn't offer the same illusion of swimming with the cruise boats as there's always vegetation in view over the vanishing edge. More importantly there is only a narrow tiled strip around the perimeter for sunbeds ... no chance to laze on grass under the trees and sunshades.

Signs for 'Golf Cart Stops' are sprouting round the complex, and already new arrivals are driven to their accommodation on these electric vehicles. In future it appears there will be a regular 'bus service' around the site.

The original (refurbished) bungalows look smarter from outside, although I didn't see inside one. They all now have rattan tables and chairs outside in addition to sunbeds and brand new electronic 'mozzie zappers' mounted between each terrace.

The effect of these at night is to cast an eerie blue light around the blocks ... and the guncrack snap of mosquitoes meeting their end now blends with the calls of frogs on the Nile and the haunting calls to prayer from the mosques on the West Bank as part of the JV's evening ambiance.

With regard to public areas the new reception is functional, with a short 'arcade' of shops (jeweller, snacks, gifts) and a bank which incorporates an ATM and money-changing machine for when the staff are off duty.

The main restaurant has expanded in size to incorporate what was the original reception area whilst La Fleur remains where it was and the 'old' Sobek function room is being turned into a new Italian themed dining area (A 'new' Sobek hall has been created as part of the new reception block).

The bar menu is improved in both range and quality over the old version - the bar itself is now located in the area behind the 'old' reception.

La Fleur has moved downmarket, mainly as a result of a successful 'meal deal' promotion which offers three meals for LE375, one of which can be taken in what was the JV's 'fine dining' restaurant. It's a bargain (a single dinner in La Fleur can cost well over LE300) but it does mean the room is packed every night. The live musicians have gone, and so has much of the atmosphere, sadly.

Two intriguing new developments ... some 'town houses' (whatever they are) are being built behind the old nursery and gift shop by the Infinity Pool, and a 'Nubian House' is being built beyond the new accommodation blocks to replace the 'Fellah's Tent'.

Beyond what I assume is going to be a reception foyer and bar there are a number of private dining spaces (think the downstairs rooms at the Sofra, but with Nubian style 'mud' walls and windows - even a fake staircase to nowhere and a 'well' with no shaft).
Outside at the back they're laying a flat concrete area for performers, backing onto the Nile.

The three new Royal Villas (still being built) look like they're going to be amazing.

Private pools, private terrace, bedrooms opening direct onto the terraces, central sitting dining area - and a separate service area where (it would appear) your own staff can prepare your meals. And a bay to park your limo. All securely fenced off and screened from the prying eyes of the package tourists.

The challenge for the Jolie Ville in future will be to maintain standards and to safeguard the visitor experience when all the new accommodation is full, and the refubishment of the old buildings complete.

Our first few days on site, when the complex was maybe 30% full, were idyllic. The second week, during which numbers of guests increased to perhaps over 50%, saw strains begin to appear in the system. It was no longer possible to get a table on the terrace for breakfast. The breakfast buffets themselves were crowded (only one of two serveries was in use) and plates of food were running out faster than staff could replenish them. There was nowhere to find a sunbed in the shade around the new pool.

Management will no doubt respond that these difficulties will be solved when all the new facilities are in service ... when the gardens have grown around the new build, when the third (Italian) restaurant comes on stream, when both main restaurant serveries are open, when the outside terrace is extended.

Right now, in April 2011, the Jolie Ville could go two ways. It could remain the special place it was, in harmony with nature and with a friendly, caring, 'family' atmosphere. Or it could become a large, loud and less appealing version of what it was where guests have to scramble for the best places to eat and to relax. A lot will depend on the skill of the management, and how cautious or careless they are in 'sweating the assets' and driving profits from their investment. The jury's out.. Right now I would be delighted to go back, and I would hope to deliver a verdict in another two or three years' time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.8 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing