We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Christmas 2011”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We opted for this hotel because of its location and amenities and suffice to say we were not disappointed,it is a great location for relaxing and especially if you have young kids, the facitilities for them are second to none. The staff were responsive and friendly, safety for you is paramount for them. Facilities are excellent for adults, a wonderful spa, so my wife opines, a lovely gym if you want to work out and generally a great place to have a drink and watch the majestic nile flow by. Plenty of greenery and away from the hustle and bustle of luxor. The Infinity pool is amazing and the greenery of the gardens makes you even wonder if you are in Egypt. As with countless others, we will most definately be going back. Finally, regardless of the political sitution in Cairo,Luxor is safe and needs to be visited. You will not be disappointed if go here.

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms are well maintained and very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishtaq h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Ishtaq H from Northampton UK,

Greetings from Luxor! Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for having taken the time to publish your very positive holiday impressions about the Hotel and services on Tripadvisor.

Wishing you a very happy and prosperous New Year, we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor, and a save heaven for all!

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    403
    108
    50
    28
See reviews for
573
1,013
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have been going to this hotel for the past seven years, I either go in May or October. It is good if you have children as it has good water features, however if you are wanted to go away with a partner or a girls holiday for relaxation this hotel is great. The staff are friendly and will do anything they can for you, they have fun recreational activities. It has two pools on just for adults which is lovely and peaceful and over looks the Nile and then there is a pool where children can play, there is little noise here and you can lie and look at Nile or watch the boats go by. The food is to very good standard the breakfast nice and they cook you eggs to your liking, they have themed food nights I have never attended one, the food served on the terraced is very nice and the food in it's restaurant is very nice too, remember to book a table on advance. The hotel is situated on a little island on the Nile and is around 10 mins from city centre so it's nice and peace full, there is some beautiful birds and wildlife here, many birds on the island will come right by you lounger whilst sunbathing but will not harm you. There are many fantastic activities to do whilst in luxor, there is a museum which has a real mummy in, you have to visits the temples they are stunning but go either first thing in morning or in the evening as it can be to hot otherwise. valley of the kings is a must see, and is truly breath taking. They also have hot air balloon rides which the hotel may be able to arrange ask for prices and details. The view from the hot air balloon is magnificent and you get to see the sun rise, the only downside is you have be up around 4:30am. The locals in the city centre on bother you when you walk past their shops, I would advise to just keep walking and not say anything, if they keep nagging I always say 'LA' which mean no in Arabic, if they know you are English they bother you move, they are normally taken back when you speak there language, also ignore the children asking you for money, if you give to one a loads will swamp you, just say 'imshee' this means go away. This is a beautiful county and one which has to been seen and experienced. ENJOY

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbird247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Travelbird247 from Coventry UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed on Kings Island last April and for having taken the time to publish your views about the hotel and your holiday experience on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel as well in the 7th year of visiting Luxor. I agree, the hotel is suitable for all sorts of travelers and ages, especially for families with younger children for which the flat grounds, the “Kidz Club”, the shallow pools with the water splashes, the play grounds, the Zoo and if we have a good number of VIK’s we built up a special evening buffet for them!

Bird watchers attention: one of our loyal “Regulars” has just counted 72 different species on the and around the island during his 2 weeks holiday this December!

One tiny little correction, we have 3 Pools, the new Horizon Pool with 2’800 sqm with the “Moga” Bar inside, the fantastic Infinity Pool with 2’400 sqm and the, adults only, Relaxing Pool.

Wishing you all the very best for the New Year and already looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

An excellent holiday. The location is stunning and the facilities are of a very high standard. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly; they make you feel special and important. Our room was huge, with a view towards one of the pools to one side and the Nile's sunset to the other. The food was wonderful; breakfast from 5am to 10.30am had so much choice and freshness, you could even make your own pancakes, if you wanted to! Meals near the pools were freshly prepared and delicious. Evening meals were a treat, with a choice of places, each providing a specialness, never a canteen feel. Trips out to Luxor and beyond were easy, exciting and interesting, yet for me, staying on site was an adventure of relaxation and luxury too. Excellent gym, beauty salon and spa. My first visit, I tend to not go to a place more than the once, but I am drawn back to this hotel and will book again for Easter.

Room Tip: If you want something particular, just ask. We emailed before and our requests were sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Sarah N from Bristol UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for the 1st time and for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you have had great time on our little Nile Island and that you intend to come back for your Easter holidays.

I am particularly pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet in the mornings and the food quality in general in the various outlets. The brand new 52 sqm Deluxe Rooms in the vicinity of the Horizon Pool are indeed very spacious and all have a big terrace or balcony with comfortable big size rattan easy chairs to relax and enjoy the views.

Wishing you all the very best for 2012, we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island next Easter, which by the way will be on the 8th April next year!
I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolvey Heath England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed here 2nd week in Dec after a Nile cruise. We stayed in a lovely Nile view room close to the beautiful infinity pool.It is probably as relaxing a setting as you can get with beautiful views across the Nile towards the Valley of the Kings,you can actualy see the hot air ballons doing their flights over the West Bank and the Valley of the Kings if you get up early enough.The gardens are quite beautiful in places and they continue to plant more shrubs, the mature palm trees make for an appealing setting. It was very quiet, which was good for us, but I guess a shame for the Hotel and Eygpt in general as it feels incredibly safe and I can honestly say the people in general are very friendly, all the staff here will greet you as they pass .. the exception being the sellers in Luxor but don't let them worry you too much as they are only trying to make a living themselves and if you make it obvious you are not interested, they will soon leave you alone.If you want relaxation then you will definately get it here and if you want more to do in Luxor then the Hotel run a regular shuttle bus into town and collect's you around 2hrs later on average.The breastfast at the Hotel was excellent with a huge choice of almost anything you required from eggs any way you liked to breads freshly baked ,cold tasty meats and other hot acompaniments.
The other food we had in the Hotel was far better than we could find in Luxor with the Ascot bar providing the best value, however if you do not smoke like us it can get smokey if it fills up, so we ate early to try to overcome this with some sucess.The buffet in the main restaurant had lots of choice but we we only used this once and the The Le Fluer which I'd say is their top restaurant was good but could of done with something extra to give it some charm.Weather around 24C around 9:30ish but drops to very cool 12 to15C by 7:00pm
All in all, a great place to stay but once you've eaten it seemed to us to offer little else to do but would definately return for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank firtreepete74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Firtreepete74 from Wolvey Heath UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor this December and your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have truly enjoyed your holiday and the services granted, especially the food selection in our various outlets.

You are so very right about the safety in Luxor and Egypt in general (exception Tahrir Square) it is perfectly safe for any Tourist and Traveler that sticks to normal routes and sights (I would not go myself to the Bronx discussing race issues with local “homies”!) to visit this wonderful and interesting country.

A balloon ride early morning is a fantastic thing to do in Luxor and give one a great impression about the rural development and living along the Nile. The Hatshepsut Temple waking up in the Morning Sun from a bird eye view is a sight nobody will ever forget again. And it’s safe too…..

Wishing you all the very best for the upcoming New Year and hoping to be able to welcome you back on Kings Island in 2012, your home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from fascinating Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is just as good as the previous reviews states. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. And what it makes it even better is its contrast to the hectic city of Luxor. After travelling a day in wonderful but chaotic Luxor, it was always great to return to this quiet island.

The rooms are quite big with good beds, a 32" television with four movie channels (fx. FOX movies), free wireless internet (a little slow), a fridge and coffee making facilities. There were sofa chairs on the terrase, perfect for a cup of coffee in the afternoon.

Pools were great and the gym had brand new Technogym equipment- fx. four threadmills.

The free transferbus drives to the city and back at 9am, 12am, 2pm, 5pm, 7pm and 9pm. It stops at Iris hotel, Winter palace and Luxor temple.

The breakfast was very delicious - we enjoyed omelettes, fruit and damn good coffee.

I had dinner at Ascot Bar one night - this was not good, but quite cheap. 45 pounds for lasagne and 30 for a beer. The lasagne was like a microwave tv dinner. The other nights we had dinner in the city.

We rented bicycles in Luxor center and parked them at the hotel. 5 km south of the hotel, we could cross a bridge to west luxor. A great way to explore the west bank.

The staff was nice and efficient.

Very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFromDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel did all the standard things either well or excellent. What made it extra special were a multitude of unexpected extras including huge grounds with abundant birdlife, felluca and motor boat rides on site, a small zoo (ideal for the children), classical music at sunset and much more.

The hotel is on its own island about 10 minutes taxi drive from the centre of Luxor (£3). It is well laid out making it suitable for those who want a peaceful time through to young families.

Food offerings range from an exceptional buffet to a french styled restuarant and pool-side bistros. It was so good we ate mostly at the hotel which is not our norm

I will definitely stay her again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Adburnett from Luton UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for your holiday this year. Thank you very much as well for having taken the time to write your personal view about our Resort and the facilities.

I am particularly happy to read that you have enjoyed our various restaurants and the meal selection, be it the theme buffets in the Jolie Ville Restaurant or the French a la carte, the La Fleur.

Wishing you a merry Christmas and all the very best and hoping to be able to welcome you back on Kings Island in the near future, I remain with

Sunny and festive regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Just got back from a week at Jolie Ville after visiting for a day 2 years ago.
The hotel delivers all it promises, from accommodation to staff and food.
Every single member of staff from reception to garderners welcome you with a genuine desire to make your stay as happy as possible.
We were in the refurbished bungalows and found everything to be excellent, if you needed anything al you had to do was ask the staff.
The food in the dining room on an evening was fabulous, the choice was breathtaking and the pastry chefs must spend all day getting their displays ready.
Brakfast too was the same with anything you could think of available and to be sat eating breakfast in the sun in mid December was awesome.
We spent our days around the quiet (adults only) pool and this was a great way to relax, again the pool staff were only too hapy to make the days as enjoyable as possible, from allocating and setting up the beds to bringing drinks and snacks, the afternoon coffee and tea/cake was a must.
Cant wait for our next trip to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want some afternoon sun try to get one facing the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evargsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Evargsum from Yorkshire,

Greetings from Luxor! Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for the time you have taken to publish your holiday impressions about the Hotel and services on Tripadvisor.

Wishing you a merry Christmas & a happy New Year and looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt very soon, I remain with

Sunny regards from unique Luxor, the biggest open air Museum in the world!

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing