We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings island fit for a Queen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kings island fit for a Queen”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is by far the best hotel to stay in in Luxor. The hotels in Luxor town look more glitzy and The Winter Palace has a faded, gloomy elegance, but the town is not so wonderful that you would want to stay right in the middle of it. Even if Tony and Cherie Blair did! We stayed in one the new blocks at the Jolie Ville, the bedroom was huge and the balcony ( being a corner room )was vast. We paid extra for the larger room - the bed could have slept four people they fitted in two extra single beds for the children and the room still seemed empty.The site is really tranquill with stunning views from the breakfast terrace and the infinity pools of the Nile and the Valley of the Kings. If one is particularly sensitive the adults-only pool bans children, music and mobile phones - enough to sooth even a trappist monk. There is little in the way of entertainment in the evening - I suspect because of the low occupancy, which may change as trade picks up. The grounds are extensive and well maintained - a kiosk by the Nile is named Queens Island in honour of the Queen of Norway ( it was apparently her favourite spot) and there are luxury villas in the north of the island which are rumoured to be the holiday homes of ex-President Mubarak. The architecture of the facilities is restrained rather than ornate and at times uninspiring ( there are unfinished building works around the perifery, which we were told was due to the political difficulties in which the present owner finds himself - allegedly in the clink) but this is more than made up by the immaculate cleanliness of the rooms. The staff are super efficient - we left at 4.30 am and there was someone to take us and our luggage to reception within minutes of us calling, which was a typical reponse. Some contributers have raised fears about being hasselled in town by locals or being bitten by mosquitos. Have no fear on either account. It is true that in the Valley of the Kings the street vendors are a real pest, but in Luxor town itself the street hawkers and caleche drivers can be easliy deflected and on the island at least the banks are sprayed every night by clouds of what we took to be insecticide and we did not see a single mosquito all week. In fact, curiously, there are few flies to disturb your slumbers by the pool. One small gripe - when you are paying nealy £1000 a week B&B, shouldn't the use of the tennis courts be included? Instead of an irritating £5 an hour charge? If the hotel wanted to stop guests hogging the courts surely it can't be beyond their wit to arrange a booking system.
Regarding trips: don't shell out for an expensive tour, ask one of the staff to recommend a local taxi driver to take you around and hire a guide when you get to the sites. We hired a licensed guide at Karnak for 70 e£ and he was a good hours worth.

Don't be put off by anything. Egypt in safe and amazing, stay at the Jolie Ville, Kings Island. and you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for the New Block, Nile view and a larger corner room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandFencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear England Fencer,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, to be your home in Luxor. Your very positive comments published on Tripadvisor are highly appreciated, you made us very happy for approving upon the quality of the hotel and the services and accommodation provided.

I appreciate as well your comment on the little to none pestering of insects and mosquitoes on the island. I still do recommend although to bring some repellants just in case, as soon as it gets warmer the buggers will be out again and if you are allergic it’s better to be prepared.

Thank you as well for mentioning that you have felt 100% save at all times, people around the world seem NOT to believe that troubles are ONLY in Cairo Tahrir Square & Port Said, which both are about 700 kilometers away from Luxor!
All the touristic places including Aswan, Luxor, Sharm El Sheik etc are quiet & peaceful as ever!
Don’t forget that Egypt’s GNP results by about 60% from tourism only, we need you!

PS: I am going to think about the tennis court fees. At night when the flood lights are needed to play we have to charge, but maybe we could waive the charges in the future during certain day time hours. Thank you for bringing it up.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    405
    110
    50
    28
See reviews for
575
1,016
90
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here on my Egyptology tour. Excellent base for local trips. Huge resort type hotel but if you can't be bothered to walk they have golf buggies + a regular down town bus service. My bedroom was vast and the bed great. Food was good to great. Service was also good but I thought was a little slow at times. Huge list of amenities so would be a good place for families.

Room Tip: The bungalows are closer to the lobby and the restaurant but I suspect they are for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear DCO44 from Cardiff UK,

Thank you very much for visiting Egypt and for staying at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor during your “Egyptology – Tour” 2012. Thank you as well for your nice ratings on Tripadvisor!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our little Nil - Island and that you approve upon the services and food quality granted. With regards to the speed of service:”welcome to my world”! Rush, hurry, speed & immediately for sure where not invented by the old pharaohs’ but then again; I am positive there are a lot less people dying of a heart attack in Egypt then in our Western World……

Wishing you all the best and already looking forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & peaceful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I traveled to Egypt in 2011 and toured with an American team and Egyptian tour guide. We visited many hotels however, Maritim Jolie Ville was by far the best of the hotels we visited on the trip.

Pool: The main pool is an infinity pool that drops of into the NILE! It is incredibly beautiful and romantic. There is no better view at any other hotel.

Island: The hotel is located on an Island "Crocodile Island" (Do not worry no crocodiles are on the island except in the zoo) and is situated right in the middle of the Nile. It is very peaceful and quite, the grounds are large for walking and there is a zoo included on the hotel grounds. Guests get to the hotel on the island by crossing over a bridge.

Room: the rooms are very clean and all rooms are on one level. They are in a bungalow setting and each apartment complex has about 8-10 bungalows that are attached in a circle. Each bungalow has a great view of the gardens or hotel grounds and walkways. The rooms are always kept clean and the maid service is exceptional. Paper, Towels and Tissues are always replenished.

View: The Island is in the middle of the river and thus faces two sides. On the infinity pool side guests may gaze at the "red mountain" where there pharaohs of the golden age lie in peaceful bliss and have for centuries. The mountain is surrounded by vast red desert. On the hotel entrance side guests can see the rural farmland and crops of the modern Egyptians.

Service and Staff: The Staff and Service persons are incredible. Everyone is extremely friendly and always smiling. There was never a time that they did not want to help! The front desk is very knowledgeable of surrounding area and will help you with anything you need. Check in was fast and efficient.

Food: The food is amazing, especially the buffet. If you are looking for variety it is definitely there!

WOULD I GO AGAIN? ABSOLUTELY! IN A HEART BEAT!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENQUEEN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Green Queen from Toronto Canada,

Thank you very much for your visit in 2008! at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor. In the mean time the island has been renamed to “Kings Island”. Unfortunately the crocodile which was living happily in our Zoo for the past 25 years and which has been raised by our zookeeper Mohammed, from about 15 cm of size, has been taken from us in November 2010, just before the revolution, by the “Department of Environment”. All our begging, reasoning and letters even to the Minister in Cairo did not help and all that remains is an empty “Croc-Home” and a very sad Mohammed.

I truly believe you should come back and see what all has happened on Kings Island since your last visit, your description is very nice but not really up to date anymore. But no worries, we did not destroy the feel or atmosphere of the Resort, as you can read in the many previous Tripadvisor comments.

Wishing you all the best and hoping very much you will find your way back home to Kings Island in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just got back from a week holiday in Luxor and glad we stay at this resort. We had our two kids 7 & 5 with us and they had a blast swimming, playing in the children's activity center (just drop the kids off), and walking around the island that even has a small zoo. There are lots of activities just on the island, and one can't miss is taking the falucca sail boat from the hotel pier. Plenty of site seeing activities outside the resort and the hotel has a free shuttle into town. We just went with the half board. Breakfast buffet was great, and overall the food was better than expected and moderately price with a good kids menu as well. For couples, don't worry there is plenty of space to get away from children, including an adult only pool. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: May want the rooms facing Nile if you want a breeze, especially when it is hot. These may have a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Justin H from Twickenham UK,

It was great to have you and your family staying with us this month. I am glad your boy’s enjoyed the holidays on Kings Island as much as their parents did! Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your holiday experience on Tripadvisor and for your positive comments.

Indeed the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor is built to cater for “not so much sound proofed” children who need space and action as well as for the more distinct, quiet and relaxation searching traveler.
With our 3 fantastic pools overlooking the Nile and West Bank of old Thebes, gardens and grounds totaling of 660’000 square meters and with plenty of hideaway spots all round the island our Resort is the ideal home base for all does who want to indulge in history and explore the unique & famous monuments, tombs, temples and sites in and around Luxor or just getting the usual yearly sunburn at the pool…!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & fantastic Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

marvellous position on the Nile. Beautiful deluxe rooms. Very friendly competent staff. Great food in La Fleur restaurant.

nancy and jim scotland

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are worth the extra money as they are spacious and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Nancy185634 from Glasgow,

It was a great pleasure to have you staying at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor once again as so many times before. Thank you very much as well for your comments on Tripadvisor which will help many future clients in their decision.

I agree fully with you, the Deluxe Rooms (extra USD 40.-) and the Superior Deluxe Rooms (extra USD 60.- per room per night) are worth while the money. For this king of money one would have to search hard to find similar Rooms anywhere in Europe, not to mention the splendid view’s!

Wishing you all the best and already looking forward to welcome you back home at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor next year.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & peaceful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel during Christmas 2011, it was such a lovely vacation, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is as great as the reviews show. The food was tasty with many varieties, the kids corner is a plus.
The infinity pool is wonderful, my kids enjoyed their stay very much. Luxor is a very beautiful city and Jolie ville is the place to stay there.
Thank you Jolie ville Luxor and we hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Soha S from lovely Alexandria Egypt,

Thank you very much for your visit at the Jolie Ville over last Christmas and the very positive Tripadvisor rating, especially for mentioning how children friendly our Hotel is. Kings Island is indeed a splendid place for families with kids as the entire island is a huge open space and all flat, hence very safe and good fun.

We are looking very much forwards to welcome you back with your family in the near future and remain with,

Sunny regards from unique & fantastic Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed at the Jolie Ville last summer and I am going again this summer. The room (the older ones) was great and surrounded by the most beautiful vegetation. The location is second to none and the actual complex was superb. The pools were beautiful and the breakfast was great particularly as you have the most pictoresque view across the Nile.Everything is on your doorstep - The Valley of the Kings, Karnak Temple, Luxor temple etc.. The Jolie Ville is a great retreat after the hectic pace of Luxor. As I went in August, I did my trips very early in the morning and spent the rest of my day at the wonderful complex by the pool where the staff waited on me and nothing was too much for them. I went as a single traveller but felt so welcome. I was happy to leave tips for the superb staff who really made my holiday. I am returning this year with my sister, I can't wait!
I have seen some not so good reviews about this hotel to which I am unable to relate- this place is wonderful!!!!! Thanks Jolie Ville!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suelondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear SueLondon61 from London,

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor in summer 2011 and for planning to return this year. Returning to Kings Island the following year is probably The Best and Nicest compliment you can make us! It’s a great motivation as it is proof we did something right!

Traveling to Luxor in the summer months is for sure special but the temperatures do not at all feel as high as they look. 45̊ degrees in the desert, because of the dry air feel like 32̊ degrees in humid Europe. It is of course a good idea to visit the temples and sites as early in the mornings as possible and most important take always sufficient water with onto the excursion.
Afternoons are just made for lazy sunlounging, relaxation and fun around one of our 3 fantastic pools overlooking the Nile and West Bank.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island together with your sister in the coming summer.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing