We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Heaven”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 28th March for 1 week, on arrival we were greeted by the staff, had our cases taken & shown to the reception, we were then allocated a room & driven there on a buggy with our cases to follow within minutes. We had paid extra when booking for a Nile view but when allocated a room all i could see was a bungalow in front of me! With it being dark we didn't bother but the following morning we went to discuss with reception & instantly allocated a much improved view of the Nile that we had originally paid for. From then on in everything else was perfect, starting with the staff, all staff were grateful to see you & really cared that you were enjoying your stay, nothing was too much hassle. From the cleaners to the office staff & everyone in between they are a credit to the hotel, Special praise must go to my favourite Moustafa from around the Infinity pool, he was a pleasure to speak to & someone who typifies the friendliness of the Luxor people, a true gem.
Onto the food, we stayed half board & i must say there was a choice for everyone, also a different night for every day with a different choice of foods, all food was laid out with name plates, the only problem you had was what not to put on your plate!
The pools, there were 3 pools we looked at all 3 but opted for the much acclaimed infinity pool, you won't be disappointed it was beautiful with the backdrop actually being the Nile.
Location, was on kings island which is on it's own & away from the mayhem of Luxor itself, it really is relaxing, the only downside not for me personally but for others maybe is the lack of entertainment on an evening, once you have had dinner there isn't really anything for you to do, it was perfect for us because we wanted a peaceful holiday with plenty of relaxation.
We did 2 trips with the hotel the 1st was sunset on the Nile & BBQ which was really good & not to be missed, the 2nd the bike, west bank picnic & village tour that was excellent it was like 3 tours in 1 & really interesting.
This was my 1st visit to Luxor but will definately not be my last, the Jolie Ville hotel really is Luxors little gem.

Room Tip: A Nile view is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craig_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Craig Hunter from St.Helens UK,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel to be your home in Luxor during your March 2012 holidays and for letting us and the Tripadvisor community know about your experiences on Kings Island.

I am sorry for the initial hick up with your room allocation and I am glad to read that we could solve the issue to your satisfaction. It is very important to talk to us if not entirely satisfied as long as you are in the hotel. Like this we can arrange things and your most valuable days of the year are not going to be vast.

Thank you very much for your overall very nice & positive review of our Resort we are happy that we could make your holiday a joy- and successful one.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back home in Upper Egypt and remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    403
    108
    50
    28
See reviews for
573
1,013
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel one week in march 2012.
We chose this hotel from this site's ratings. And we expected a first class hotel.
After many hours of travel we arrived in the evening and had a great buffet in the restaurant (175 LE eq 29 US Dollars).
But when we arrived at our room, I had to recognize that the assessment is too high, even after the Egyptian conditions.
After the long journey we would take a bath, but there was no shampoo or shower gel, only a small 3 cm soap for 2 people. The bath room was very small. There was very little space around the sink to put toiletries. The towels were old and worn with many loose threads hanging.
Next morning I got hold of the cleaning boy and asked if he had forgotten shampoo and shower gel, but that he had nothing of. This is disappointing considering that there are 5 km to Luxor city, and toiletries in the hotel shop is very expensive.But then, on the 5. day of our weeklong stay there was suddenly a small bottle of shampoo and shower gel!
There was free internet in the room, but it was extremely slow. During loading of mails you were thrown off many times, after which you had to go through another slow login.
There was a wonderfull small patio in front of each room where we could sit in the evening and enjoy a cup of coffee. There was coffee facilities, but do not expect coffee bags every day. You should also ask for too.
The rooms are scattered in small buildings around in a large, very beautiful garden, located right down to the Nile. It was very charming to enjoy breakfast outside the restaurant with views to the Nile. But, it was hard to get used to so much bird droppings on tables and chairs. They did not clean them.
Pool areas were very nice. One of the 3 pools was actually reserved for adults only, and many took advantage of.
The most positive was, however, the blessed peace of the whole area. No disco music, or intolerable MUSAC, but peace and quiet and a lot of birds singing from morning to evening. No annoying salespeople. No traffic.
I doubt very much whether we come here again unless it is in a wheelchair, because it looked like the area was suitable for the disabled.

Room Tip: Remember to bring shampoo and shower gel and coffee/tea bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FridaPoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Frida Poulson from Denmark,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor this march and for your time to write your opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry that we could not live up to your expectations concerning some of our Hotel services during your stay. Of course you should have been supplied with full amenities, such as shampoo, showergel & bodylotion etc, to your bathroom, as well as with tea bags, sugar, creamer and 2 Nescafe daily, this is our usual standard and it should have been replenished on a daily basis. I will follow up with our house keeping department why this was not done in your case and order the necessary training with our room stewards as it seems some have forgotten how it works!

Regarding the free of charge WIFI service in the rooms: we had some system changes and upgrading done during your stay, which made the access & speed in the entire hotel (as well in our offices) rather slow. The exercise is finalized since 2 weeks and all rooms have now good access with a decent speed.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts on our “Sherazade Terrace” overlooking the Nile. Unfortunately the birds which are continuously fed by clients leave their marks around. We try to keep them away and the terrace clean but sometimes they are just faster than our cleaning service …. I apologize; at least they enchanted you with their twiddling and singsong around the hotel gardens.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island and I truly hope it is not when you are in a wheel chair, although you are very right, due to the flat grounds all around the hotel, it is very suitable for physically challenged clients and we have a number of rooms available to make their stay easy & comfortable.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford le Hope
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I love heat so chose this Hotel on the Nile for my birthday in June and was not disappointed. The rooms which are bungalows were excellent, and all within easy reach of the Main Reception Buildings. The service in all departments was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The whole dining experience from breakfast to evening meals was again excellent. Food choice was very good with something for everyone. The pools were very clean, and there was a quiet pool for those not wishing to have noisy people around them. This was an overall excellent experience and a difinite 'will return' hotel. 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear James H from Stanford Le Hope,

Thank you very much for your visit at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor in June 2011 and for sharing your positive experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

If you love the heat, Luxor in summer must be your dream destination! I am particularly happy to read that you have enjoyed the food in our various outlets and that you have been served well by our team.
By the way, we do have one NEW outlet! Just last week we opened our “Zigolini” Italian Restaurant next to the Sherazade Terrace!

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island this year in June to celebrate together with you your birthday as well this year.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor in spring.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just love this place,we have been there for about 15 years and see no reason to stop going.
The staff are charming from the manager to the gardners.

Only slight downside is the cost of the local vino at E£165 a bottle in the hotel restaurants when in town you can get the same stuff for E£95 in local eateries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Brewersfriend from GM / UK,

Thank you very much for your fidelity towards the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for returning to Kings Island for so many years for your well earned holidays.

Thank you as well for the charming compliment, I can reciprocate such as we do have the pleasure to host very charming & classy clients who are interested in the country, culture and people of Egypt.

With regards to the pricing structure in our 5* hotel with close to 600 employees (75 gardeners only) on the payroll, of course we have to charge more than a small family run café or restaurant down town Luxor as our running costs are so much higher. Still Le. 165.- for a 7,5 bottle of good wine = aprox Euro 20.- or £ 17.- does not really seem exorbitantly expensive to me?

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the MJV for a week at the end of February and our high expectations after reading the TripAdvisor reviews were superceded.

Booked a basic room with the tour operator and then emailed to upgrade directly with the hotel before arriving (highly recommended, the upgrade rates were fair and competitive and they are very transparant with their upgrade prices - bearing in mind the hotel was at 20% occupancy when we went, but all the staff still in their positions as if it was full, we didn't quibble in the slightest about paying it). The Superior Deluxe Rooms are absolutely amazing - the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in - if you want a treat, definately recommend an upgrade. As other reviewers have suggested, request a non-adjourning room of which there are 4 per block.

We also booked the meal package on arrival which gave you two buffets and a meal at La Fleur for 375LE. We were pleasantly suprised with the quality of the food at the buffet - it was really high quality with a great selection of hot and cold foods. La Fleur was absolutely lovely with amazing food and service. One of the staff told us that La Fleur will soon be moving next door to its current location to allow an Egyptian food restuarant to open - sounds great! Breakfast was of a good quality and even though we were there for 7 nights, it never got boring (if you sit outside try to figure out what the friendly Egret who will come and visit you likes to eat - we tried various foods without success!!).

The facilities at the hotel are absolutely brilliant. 3 pools including a large infinity pool, adults only pool and the Horizons pool which whilst unheated was completely uncrowded. There is an outdoor pool table, darts table and giant chess for a bit of good old holiday competitiveness. There are also hammocks dotted around, seating areas and of course, the zoo, where the keepers were happy to let us into the enclosures to say hello to the donkeys, sheep, horse and 21 year old tortoise!! There is a real family feel to the resort although travelling as adults we enjoyed it just as much.

The hotel is set away from the noise of Luxor, with the views of the various boats passing on the Nile. The Valley of the Kings is only a 20 minute drive away for sightseeing - please do go, the sights are so quiet at the moment - we had Habu temple and the Valley of the Workers entirely to ourselves. We can also highly recommend the hot air ballooning company who have a stand in the hotel, there is a separate review I have left about this.

What set this hotel apart for us was the little touches that left it in a class of its own. The classical music at sunset, the "welcome home" and genuine smiles from every member of staff who all seemed proud to be working there (and never asked for a tip, plus were suprised and genuinely grateful when we gave one), the fresh flowers left in our room, the golf carts to transport you if you get a little tired... it is a genuinely beautiful, friendly resort which we'd love to come back to some day.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a Superior Deluxe Room although request a non-adjourning room and specify if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Pontypool1 from UK,

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor this March 2012 and for your kind & positive review on Tripadvisor.

I am particularly happy to read that we were able to exceed your over all expectations and that you have enjoyed our all new “Superior Deluxe Room” and that you think they are worth while the little extra money.

Thank you as well very much for complementing us on the food quality and variety.
Unfortunately you just missed the opening of our “Zigolini” Italian Restaurant by a few days, serving authentic Italian cuisine, pizza & fresh homemade pasta.

The mentioned opening of the new location of the “La Fleur” will although take a few more months to complete, but we are working on it. Despite of the presently very difficult economic times in Egypt we, at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, continue developing and investing in our Hotel for the wellbeing and comfort of our esteemed clients.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 7 years ago and although it's much bigger now the quality is terrific. 3 outdoor pools and lovely grounds. Staff unbeatable and attention to detail can't be faulted. Good exchange rate as well though bring cash as ATM unreliable. Shuttle service into town totally reliable and recommended taxi rates fair & helpful. We took a 3 day trip to Aswan and left our big bags here. Train there (1st class 46LE each, taxi back via Om Khom & fabulous Edfu temples 300LE reliable ) lots for children in hotel, zoo, tennis, boules, outdoor chess and lovely Nile bank walkways.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SurGe0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear SurGe0n from UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel this March and for your kind & motivating Tripadvisor comments. It is always a special pleasure to welcome back dear regular clients and friends of the Jolie Ville. We are happy to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay on Kings Island once again and that you were pleased & satisfied with our services rendered.

I’d like to inform at this stage all our dear clients that I have just returned from a trip to the ITB (international tourism bourse) in Berlin today. During the 5 days show, Egypt had been the host nation, I have received a lot of positive and motivating comments & inputs from clients as well as from business partners regarding the future of Egypt tourism in the coming months.
Unfortunately the economy in Egypt in general is still in a “free fall” and the only cure for the country and its economy is the tourists to come back and spend their holidays in the land of the Pharaohs.

I would like to thank all our esteemed clients who had & have taken the decision to travel to Egypt and to support this marvelous country and wonderful people, despite of the rumors and unjustified “negative press”, to challenge their faith and fight for a prosperous and democratic future.

I am looking forward to welcome you back home in Upper Egypt and remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The location of this resort hotel makes it special. We were on a tour packed with sightseeing, and it was nice to have a little down time to walk along the river early in the morning and observe the fantastic Hoopoes and other birds along the path. The rooms were fine, although we did ask to be changed from a connecting room to one without a connecting door, just in case of noise. Our friends who had connecting rooms said that there was some noise between rooms, so we decided our move from the H villa to the X villa was wise. The dining room fare was good, although the fish (sea bass) was far better than the tough "Vietnamese Beef." Service was good. The pools are beautiful and the gym and spa looked nice. This is a really beautiful property and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdtravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing