We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$245
US$147
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sheherazade(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$48
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$39
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,275)
Filter reviews
2,275 results
Traveller rating
1,645
432
114
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,645
432
114
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolla fleurprivate islandascot barclassical musicbird lifefrench restauranttennis courtsmain restaurantwest bankfree busbit datednile cruisepeace and quiettour operatorhotel groundswatch the sunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 2,275 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

its my wifes birthday next october so i asked here to pick were she would like to go ,she had no hesitation picking the maritim joliville.We have been 4 times before and loved every moment of this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micheal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Dear Michael G from Lincoln UK,

Thank you and your dear wife very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor already 4 times in the past and for having judged our Resort so positively on Tripadvisor.

We are looking very much forward to next October to welcome you back home on Kings Island and to celebrate your wife’s birthday on the banks of majestic river Nile.
In the mean time we wish you both a very happy festive season and a perfect start into the New Year 2013.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This resort hotel is a real jolt compared with the reality of small town life in Egypt. It's located along the Nile between Luxor and the bridge that crosses the Nile on the way to the Valley of the Kings. This is a resort, not an urban hotel. You cannot walk into Luxor (or, really, anywhere). You are fenced into a guarded compound. That said, this is a beautiful property. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The service staff is friendly and attentive to the guests. I had minor stomach discomfort one day and the waiter at one of the two pool restaurants told me that he would "take care of everything". He brought me a bowl of chicken soup that was made especially for me on-site. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Service at the Italian restaurant was slow, but the food was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidATL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Dear David ATL 45 from Decatur, Georgia,

Thank you very much for your resent visit on Kings Island and for having taken the time to write a review for our Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and that you have especially appreciated its quiet, natural and serene location on our Island about 4 km south of Luxor.

If you kindly permit, I would like to rectify slightly your description of: “You are fenced into a guarded compound”. The Resort is located on a 660’000 square meters garden island in the Nile. The newly built part which contains our Deluxe & Superior Deluxe Rooms in the south of the Resort is having a 60cm high garden fence around the border line of the garden but otherwise there is no high fence or wall which would give anyone the feel of being in a “guarded compound”. We do have security guards around the hotel which is absolutely normal in this part of the world as all the other hotels in the area have too.

I apologize for the slow service in our “Zigolini” Italian Restaurant; I will discuss the matter with our Head Waiter in charge for this Restaurant and try to improve the speed. Thank you very much for your compliments for our breakfast buffet and the quality of food served to you during your visit.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit on Kings Island and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back in Luxor in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful (but far too short) trip to Luxor and the Maritim Jolie Ville. I am going to give a lengthy review as I find it helpful to read them, but the short message is that I can't recommend the hotel enough and will certainly be returning.

The hotel is located on a small island, just outside of Luxor. The grounds are beautiful, and extensive. We stayed in one of the newer blocks, made up of 30 rooms over two floors. The rooms are beautiful, with plenty of space, some low key but egyptian style decor, and a very clean and well laid out bathroom. It was particularly nice to be on the second floor, and sit out on the balcony in the mornings. Some of these rooms have nile views, although we were very happy with our garden views. The other rooms also looked nice from the outside, and have the advantage of having their own loungers so if you aren't bothered about lying by the pool, you can lie out on one of them in the gardens.

There are three swimming pools. One is an adult only pool, which is the smallest but the one located closest to the restaurant. There is another one on the side of the hotel next to the kids club, which is an amazing infinity pool with a climbing frame nearby. The one we spent most time at was the other infinity pool, located close to the beauty centre and spa. Although not adults only, it was very quiet (possibly due to the number of tourists generally). The pool is huge and is catered by the Mogo bar, which serves snacks as well as drinks. The staff there were really friendly and helpful.

Food is generally good. At the time we visited there were two a la carte restaurants open, one French and one Italian. We didn't eat in either but they looked pretty nice. The main restaurant serves buffet breakfasts and buffet dinners. The breakfasts are excellent, with an impressive selection of things on offer including fruit and yoghurt, baked goods, cheese and cold cuts and various hot food including chicken and beef sausages (obviously no pork in Egypt) and eggs in whatever style you fancy. The dinners were all loosely themed around a different country each night, offering a selection of salads, hot food, fresh cooked food and dessert. There is certainly no question of going hungry. Alternatively you can go out into Luxor if you want to eat in town. It is probably a half an hour walk into the centre, or taxis are cheap and plentiful.

The hotel also offers various other facilities, including the aforementioned spa and beauty centre which are recommended (my husband got a haircut and close shave, and I had a massage). There are a selection of shops in the lobby which are quite useful to get any emergency supplies (I left my hairbrush at home) and also get a rough idea of the right price for souvenirs, and a little library if you run out of reading material. There is also a bank, although it was not open while we were there, we were able to change money at the reception. Wi-fi access is free and excellent in all the public areas, although less strong in our room.

Sadly while we visited the hotel was very quiet. Although there is obviously a lot of unrest in Cairo, Luxor was utterly untouched and really needs much more tourism, which so many people in the locality rely on. Whether you are looking for winter sun (which was perfect for us - it was snowing when we left London, and 26 degrees during the day in Luxor), exploration of antiquities (there is so much to do, from visiting Karnak and Luxor temple to the Valley of the Kings and the amazing Temple of Hapshepsut) or a bit of both, Luxor is definitely the place to go.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the newer blocks, on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Principessaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Principessa Leah from Hatfield UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for your kindness to recommend and speak so highly of our Resort to the world wide Tripadvisor community.

The time you have taken to write such a lengthy, detailed and positive review about our Resort is highly appreciated! Are you looking for a job as PR Manager? If we had more business and I could afford it, I would surely hire you at once!

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you a joyful and happy holiday season and hope to be able to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from “winter exempted” and ever sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We last visited in 2005 and despite the hotel having expanded somewhat, it didn't diminish the wonderful customer care and tranquility at this island paradise. An ideal infinity pool is only one of the additions that we found as improvements.
Luxor is in desperate need of tourists at the moment and we expeienced little hassle in the town and felt safe at all times. I hope for the peoples' sake that Egypt's politicians can reach a peaceful compromise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Kevin Lia from Lincolnshire UK,

Thank you very much for visiting the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor again after your last visit in 2005! Thank you as well for having taken the time to write a short review on Tripadvisor about your impressions of the new and extended Resort.

Thank you very much for your good wishes and we all truly hope that common sense and real democracy will be established in this great country very soon so everyone can go back to his/her normal and organized live.

I hope we do not have to wait another 7 years before being able to welcome you back again on Kings Island and wish you all the very best in the mean time.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Wonderfully located on the island on the Nile.great service , good food,swimming pools and gardens -the richness of flora and fauna .What more want for a good holiday . Sun is never lack .Location slighty off the beaten Luxor adds magic to this place . I highly recommend - guarantee pleasant stay assured

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Andrew L from Lodz in Poland,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for having chosen our Resort to be for your home in Luxor during you stay in Upper Egypt last month.

We are all very happy to learn that you have enjoyed not only our services and accommodation in the Hotel, but as well the uniqueness of Kings Island with its peaceful surrounding nature.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews