We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is our 9th visit to this hotel and as ever we are thoroughly enjoying the relaxing atmosphere before we head back to normality.
We love the bungalows as we do not spend much time in the room but having seen the new rooms they are great.
Cleanliness throughout the entire hotel is immaculate, the chambermaid always comes back in the evening to check if anything is needed and of course hands out more mosquito plug ins for the room. We have been here 10 days and not had one bite.
Service is above and beyond as usual. The staff are friendly, polite and very efficient. Tips are not expected but well deserved as the staff do not earn huge wages.
We never eat in the buffet so cannot comment but the Italian is lovely as is the food at the infinity pool and the Ascot bar.
We really do love this place but would just like to make, hopefully, some constructive criticism.
We arrived when the hotel was at full capacity, which we haven't experienced in a long time.The staff dealt with it admirably and my only criticism would be more counters for freshly cooked eggs at breakfast. It is not my idea of relaxing to stand in a queue of nine waiting for an omelette. It probably would not have been so bad if the Egyptians understood the concept of queuing and as it was an Egyptian conference which took over the hotel we didn't look forward to the jostling at the egg counter.
My only other criticism is the entertainment. Unfortunately this did taint our experience yet again. I feel the hotel needs to speculate to accumulate in this area. Instead of spending money in the bar most evenings we grabbed a cab into Luxor to eat, I'm afraid the pianist scared off more than a few visitors as we ended up dining with them in Luxor.
Still a great holiday with three days to go but will review the entertainment before we come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chessLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear ChessLondon from London,

Thank you very much for your 9th visit to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for writing such a nice review on TripAdvisor.

I am most delighted to know that you were again well entertained and satisfied with the services provided. Thank you as well for highlighting the atmosphere and the food quality at the Italian Zigolini Restaurant, Infinity Nakheel Terrace and Ascot Bar.

We are sorry with the inconvenience you may have faced during the stay of the Egyptian group. The hotel was fully booked and we tried to take care of all hotels guests as much as we can; however your comment has been taken into consideration and will be applied whenever same situation happens again (Inchallah).

With regards to the entertainment and due to the bad situation the whole country is passing by at the moment, we are not able to provide more expensive entertainment that you can not even find it locally in Luxor and that you have to provide accommodation, meals, wages, etc. But we hope that business is coming back again like old days so we can review the issue and improve it.

Once again thank you very much for your constructive points of view and we all are looking much forward to welcoming you back for the 10th visit to your second home in the near future, I remain with,

Best warm regards,
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    407
    110
    50
    28
See reviews for
575
1,018
90
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the resort fron 4 Feb -18 Feb. Once again we were not disappointed during our stay at the Kings Island Resort. We upgraded our room on arrival to the deluxe rooms in the new blocks and were not disappointed, our room was spacious, well furnished and kept immaculately clean by the house staff. There are three pools to choose from and we spent most of our time by the heated, adults only, relaxing pool and was always able to find our spot overlooking the Nile. The other pools were both infinity pools overlooking the Nile but unfortunately the one nearest the new blocks is not heated and was rarely in use by the hotel guests. The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice and only the very fussiest of eaters would have a problem. The grounds of the hotel are a tribute to the gardening staff and it was a pleasure to walk through them. I booked a half board holiday but with hindsight I would have booked bed & breakfast, bought meal vouchers and perhaps ventured out in to Luxor more often. A special mention for the guest relations team who helped me out after my flights to Sharm were altered by the airline and also helped me book a guided day tour to some of Luxor's fabulous sites. If I have any gripes it was about the bar prices which I felt were high and did not encourage guests to use the facilities, I was also disappointed that after paying a resonable amount for my holiday the basic essentials such as water were chargeable, water should be free for everyone! We also witnessed an incident in the restaurant where a staff member was abused by his manager, my wife found this most distressing but we were assured this was an isolated incident which would not be repeated.
We found the resort to really relaxing and enjoyed our stay immensely, the staff were friendly and welcoming and helped make our holiday, no doubt we will be back and probably this year!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Verykeengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Verykeengolfer from Essex UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at our Resort this early February 2013 and for your kind comments posted on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you had a great time over all and that we could meet with your pallet concerning buffet choices and menu selection in the various restaurants.

With regards to the bar pricing which you see a bit steep, this has to do with the extremely high importation tax that is imposed and which reaches up to 350%! There are although as well local alcohol available in our bar for a lower price.
For a 1,3 liter mineral water bottle we are charging Le15.- which is approximately £1,26, in my opinion rather a super market price than a 5stars hotel price?

I am sorry you had to witness some arguments between a staff member and his supervisor; this should not happen in public but in the office of the supervisor of course!

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back in Luxor in the not so far future. Next time bring your golf clubs and have a trial on the “Royal Valley Golf Club” which is just ½ hours drive away from the Resort.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

MIKE AND DENISE DOUGLASS
We returned to the Jolie Ville for our fourth time in february for a one week stay.The hotel has been through some major refurbishment and expansion since our last visit 2 years ago but still manages to treat all their guests as if they were family.We stayed in a garden bungalow and it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.Breakfast was really good with plenty of variety and everything freshly cooked.
Recreation staff very good especially Tamar who always has time for the guests regardless of age or ability.We normally stayed by the adult pool which was heated although it could benifit from being heated a little more as it did not warm up until late afternoon.Pool attendants Ali and Salah are always very polite and helpful.
Best hotel in Luxor will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear michael d from Carlisle, UK,

First of all let me thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor again to spend your holiday and for having taken the time to write such a wonderful review to Tripadvisor.

I am utmost pleased to read that you are enchanted with our Resort and its services over all. It because of your fidelity to Kings Island that we have such high service standards and quality and high rate of guests satisfaction.

With regards to the pool heating, since a couple of months Egypt is facing a huge oil shortage, diesel is available only very limited and I wished this would change immediately. I have complained to the Luxor Governor about the matter on several occasions about this but nobody seems to be responsible or can do anything. Hopefully the situation would be cleared very soon.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from excellent & spectacular Luxor
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have just reurned from 3 wonderful weeks at this amazing hotel. It is a resort in the true sense of the word, everything you want is in one location, whether it be be Sports facilities, leisure pursuits or just lounging around one of the three swimming pools. It is our 7th visit and we hope to have many more.
The staff, from the Gardners to Management, are always so pleased to see you, they are courteous and always helpful. if you take the trouble to learn a few greetings in Arabic, and use them they beam in appreciation. The gardens are immaculate and the constant bird life is truly amazing.
Kings Island is our little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Clive 9 from London,

Thank you very much for having stayed with us at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor recently and thank you as well for an extremely nice write up on Tripadvisor.

We are all very happy we could exceed your holiday expectations and appreciate your complimenting words about our Resort, the staff, the location and gardens, the sport facilities, etc... It is a great pleasure to have so positive, open & well traveled clients who do appreciate the efforts made especially during such difficult times as our esteemed customers in the Hotel.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had a terrific holiday here at the end of February 2013. I can confirm all the positive remarks about the beauty of the location, the island itself and the (for Egyptian standards) truly exceptional peace and quiet offered.

Here are a just few personal impressions where our impressions differed slightly from what I have read on Trip Advisor.

1) Food and drink

The breakfast buffet was excellent. Of course not everything was equally delicious, but the freshly baked bread and the cooked-to-order felafel, egg dishes and pancakes were very good. Filter coffee distinctly better than most hotel-breakfast coffee I have suffered in Europe, and by a long way better than in the USA. The evening buffet food might not offer haute cuisine, but we found it exceptional in quality, variety and value (we are picky eaters and good amateur cooks) and ate "everything" without a hint of tummy trouble.

We felt that the much more expensive formal restaurants were a disappointment in comparison. The French "La Fleur" is so formal as to be out of keeping with the genteel informality of the rest of the resort (it even has a 1960s style warning posted at the door about its dress code. Don't forget your shiny shoes!) Service - polite but coldy stiff; decor - reminiscent of East German "luxury" hotels in the 1980; food - no better than the best offerings from the evening buffets. We felt reminded of what British hotel food was like in the early 1980s. We ate here once as part of a reduced-price multi-meal package and so were offered a reduced menu, so it is possible that the most expensive offerings from the top of the full a la carte menu might be superior. The Italian "Zigolini" was much more welcoming, but both pizza and steak struck us as being distinctly average and not worth the price paid.

There is one drinks list for the entire resort, at moderate European prices. Espresso coffee was excellent and we enjoyed the local beers, especially "Meister". The local wines were distinctly expensive for their very modest quality; the full range was only available at La Fleur, in the other restaurants we were shown the full list but only able to order the more basic wines. Storage might be an issue - we both though the same wines drunk in restaurants in town (at half the price) were generally less stale and served at more appropriate temperatures.

2) Service

By Egyptian standards the service is astonishingly consistent, relaxed and honest. Of course the staff are delighted to get tips as often as possble, but only once during the entire week did we feel in any way unpleasantly hassled. One very positive touch is that the staff dealt sensitively with children and (from what we observed) quite superbly with elderly or disabled guests.

3) Unique pleasures

There are several things which made our stay unforgettable. The stupendous Nile views, the gardens, the bird life of course, but also the way in which the shore-facing side of the island is like an idyllic version of an Egyptian village, with a model farm for fresh produce and an adorable mini-zoo with camels, donkeys, pelicans, a monkey and beautiful cats roaming around. Yes, the mini-zoo would never be built there today, but we found it a wonderfully idiosyncratic touch and so much enjoyed popping in to see the animals and their keeper.

4) Rooms

We stayed in the cheapest category of room, which was fine in a retro-1980s kind of way. These one-story bungalow units are old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable. In keeping with most Egyptian hotels I know, the architecture isn't the high point of this resort anyway. If you feel the need to upgrade to the more expensive room category in the newer 2-story blocks I would probably recommend a room on the upstairs floor.

Insects are a potentially annoying problem in Egypt, but the Jolie Ville has a laudably robust approach to pest control. Every morning and evening the entire island is enveloped in smoke reminiscent of that emitted by mosquito coils and every room has an electrical insect killer outside the door. The birds seem to deal with any stragglers, so I only got bitten once by a mosquito in the entire week.

We would, and hopefully will, return at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzakhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Muzakhater from Leipzig, Germany,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for having taken the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay on the island and that you were generally satisfied with the facilities and services provided with some minor observations I would be happy to discuss it with you in person on you next visit to the Island.

Once again, thank you very much for your contribution and for your write up and we all look much forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the not so far future, I remain with,

Best regards,
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed at this resort in Feb 2013, booked for a week and enjoyed our stay so much stayed for another 5 days. Having stayed at a few of the other hotels I can say they do not compare, the facilities on the island are second to none.
We ate out a few times at local restaurants but can say the difference in quality and quantity was not worth the small saving, the buffet restaurant was far superior. We travelled with a child and thankfully this hotel is not empty it has an active childrens club which offers a wide range of activites to entertain my child, in house camel, tennis lessons etc.
They provide tea and coffee facilities and have room service available. They also note the comments on tripadvisor as now the bar has been seperated into smoking and non-smoking areas.
We especially recommend Fallah's Tent, excellent fun, exceptional value.
A special thanks to Haggag room manager so polite and helpful nothing was to much trouble, exceptional reception staff. We had a fantastic time and will return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear DianaSaxelby from United Kingdom,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Resort to be your home in Luxor for your holiday this year. Thank you as well for a very nice and complementing report on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome many birdwatchers and lovers to show them around the Kings Island bird paradise!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & antique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just returned from our annual visit,. gets better and better.The management and staff are so welcoming and hospitable.Waiters in the Restaurants remember our favourite table and our drinks order after 12 months away!
The gardens are immaculate and so very interesting.
Great recreation team ,Even having time for the over 60's
Looking forward to our next visit on this wonderful island in The Nile.
Sadly U.K. Airlines seem to be making flights more difficult to obtain especially from Manchester

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Patagerry from Haslingden, United Kingdom,

Thank you very much for having made the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor your personal winter retreat and for your kind report posted on Tripadvisor.

It is just great having the possibility to provide for clients like you and all our other esteemed “Regulars” who have made Kings Island their home in Upper Egypt and so not only support the hotel and the team but Egypt over all by being fantastic Ambassadors for this wonderful country and loving people! Thank you.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back home in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spring like Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing