We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
York, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel and trip”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just got back from a week in Luxor. The hotel, Maritim Jolie Ville, went out of their way to make sure that we had a good time. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Luxor and the Valley of the Kings is an extraordinary place to experience and this is a really fantastic time to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaMurphy-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Melissa Murphy from York in Main,

Thank you very much for making our Resort your home in Luxor during your last holiday in Upper Egypt and for posting your complementing comments on Tripadvisor.

I am enchanted to read that you have enjoyed your one week stay on our island and that you where satisfied with our services and the overall offers in the Resort.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    406
    110
    50
    28
See reviews for
575
1,017
90
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

arrived home yesterday from this amazing island resort after my 16th visit to it .paradise is an understatement for it. the peace and tranquility on the sundrenched island is second to none and to be surrounded by the majestic nile. is a dream come true. the staff are out of this world, like your brothers and sisters ,one big happy family they all enjoy their work and it shows in the warmth they give you . the food is varied and plentiful with the prices on par or cheaper than nearby luxor
there is an italian resteraunt an a la carte resteraunt bar meals 24 hour room service poolside resteraunts 3 magnificents swimming pools and amazing chalet type bungalows with your own small patio

Room Tip: any of the comfort rooms are more than adequate for anyones needs but you can upgrade to the new del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel1956_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is of the highest standard.The food is fresh,delicious and varied.The staff just make the holiday that little bit more special.It is set in the most beautiful grounds set on the banks of the Nile,what more could one wish for.

Room Tip: Block A or O are near all the amenities for adults and away from the children's complex if peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylormadeWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear taylormadeWestSussex from west sussex,

Thank you very much for having holidayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for having commented on TripAdvisor.

I am most honored to read that you have enjoyed your stay on the Island and that you like the staff friendliness and professionalism.

We are looking much forward to welcoming you back to your second in the near future, I remain with,

Best regards
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of March. We'd definitely stay at the Jolie Ville again as it provides a relaxing base to enjoy some winter sun and see the amazing sights of Luxor, with great bird life on your doorstep.

We stayed in a super deluxe first floor room in the newer block 7, with a wonderful large balcony overlooking the Nile. The room was huge and the beds very comfortable. We used the horizon pool which was a little chilly but very quiet and a relaxing place to spend the hot afternoons.

We found the buffet food to be fine, but nothing spectacular. Typical resort-style blandish international fare, but enough choice to find something acceptable each evening. We bought a meal deal which covered 5 nights and included 1 meal in the Italian restaurant (where the service was slow and the food OK but not really Italian) and 1 in La Fleur (which was excellent - both in food and service).

The staff are all pleasant and the hotel is clean, as others have said, but I think that should be expected in a 5* hotel. Where they fall below standard is in the quality of the service. Yes, this is Egypt and generally service is not up to European or North American standards, but on more than one occasion we returned to our cleaned room to find dirty towels taken away but no replacements left and tea/coffee not replenished. We'd read about the latter in previous reviews so had taken our own supplies but you shouldn't really need to do that in a hotel classed as 5*.

One evening we waited at the outside seating area of the bar for 20 minutes in an attempt to have a cocktail. Despite going into the bar after 10 minutes to try to order there (and being told someone would be right out to take our order) we eventually gave up and went to dinner.

At breakfast is was a bit hit-and-miss as to whether we got one or two pots of coffee and on the two occasions we got one, the asked for second pot didn't materialise before we'd finished breakfast and left.

Just small niggles really and nowhere near enough to spoil our holiday, or prevent us from going again (which I'm sure we will), but I would advise anyone heading there not to expect fabulous service. Either we were very unlucky or you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Block 7 is the closest new block to the Nile. Ground floor rooms have Nile views obscured by vegeta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meadowlark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Meadowlark50 from Buckinghamshire UK,

Thank you very much for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to be your home during your Luxor holiday this March and for the time taken to write a review about your experience in our hotel on Tripadvisor!

I am very pleased to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay at our Resort and I also see what you mean in the title of your revue.
What does make a Hotel a 5stars? I agree with you that we to not reach a service standard & accuracy of a “Dorchester, Victoria Jungfrau or a Shangri-La in Bangkok just to mention three examples. On the other hand we have things and they do not have. For example 3 fantastic pools, 1000 square meters of gardens per room (we have 650 rooms), the quietness of the location, guaranteed sunshine & good weather, super friendly staff and a great, relaxing atmosphere in the Resort.
Yes, we are not posh nor exquisite, we are casual, but 5stars casual and a lot of fun.

This shall not be an excuse for the towels in your room were not changed in time, coffee/tea not replaced and the f&b service slow in some occasions. I promise, we work on it and will improve our service in the rooms & restaurants as much as we can.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home in Luxor in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just returned from a week at Jolie Ville, Kings Island. I have to say, myself and my family had the greatest, relaxing and enjoyable holiday ever. Kings Island is a little paradise on the Nile, with beautiful kept gardens all over it. Luxury oozes from every aspect of the stay, the rooms, the service, the food, the Egyptian experience nights, the swimming pools, all A1 first class. Very safe as well, the island is only accessible by bpat, or over a bridge by road, and the bridge and banks of the Nile are protected by security. there is a road barrier that rises up from the ground to stop unwanted vehicles accessing the island, and all vehicles are thoroughly checked by security. The Nile bank security people are posted bothe day and night, making the island a secure paradise, seperated from the mainland where some problems still exsist after the Egyptian revolution. However, we ventured out to visit the valley of the kings and Luxor on a kalesh (horse and cart) and had a lovely time, and didnt witness any sort of issues. The sun always shines on Kings Island, apparently it never rains in Luxor, so you are guranteed sun, and whilst we stayed, we had temperatures ranging from 29c to 38c during the week, absolutely perfect for lolling around the island and by the pools. We had two 8 year old boys with us, and they had a a lot of fun at the pools, and exploring the island. Highly recommended, we are looking to returning asap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 144Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear 144Gary from Newport Wales, United Kingdom,

Thank you very much for having recently stayed at the maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for sharing your experience within the TripAdvisor community.

We are utmost happy to read that you have enjoyed a pleasant and interesting holiday together with your family at our Resort with plenty to do and see and that you were pleased with the service of our team members.

Thank you again for your kind write up, we are looking very much forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & antique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Escaped the snow and cold to spend a week here, expecting temperatures of 25 degrees or so but found they are having exceptionally hot weather and it averaged 35 degrees, going up to 41 by the end of our stay!
This place is a little out of Luxor itself so if you want to be where shops and restaurants are it's out of the way, but the hotel does operate a free shuttle to town and back several times daily. With the tourist economy so poor at the moment, being on an island certainly cuts out the people hassling you, to sell you things, offer guides, taxis or horse carriages.
The whole island is the hotel and it's big but only running at 30% occupancy when we were there, is very quiet and peaceful. There were predominantly older people, a lot of English and French and I think more than a few of them still think it's the 1920's and it's a colonial outpost!
The staff are exceptionally polite and friendly, from the gardeners to the kitchen staff, they all say hello when passing and wish you a nice day. There was no hovering for tips and they were very attentive, couldn't fault any of them. I think you can judge a hotel by how they deal with complaints, minor or not and we had a complaint on the third day, we had a new neighbour in the room next door who left his TV on loud all night, keeping us awake. We complained to the front desk who said they would speak with him. Unfortunately the next night was the same and when we went to the desk the following morning, they immediately changed our room, gave us a basket of fruit, bottled water, complimentary slippers and bathrobes as an apology. I was impressed at the speed and friendliness they dealt with our issues.
The grounds and pools are superb, the food very good buffet style, but you'd have to be very picky not to find something you like to eat.
i would certainly go back and would recommend to others.
If i had one gripe, it's that you have to pay for bottled water. In most countries. hotels I've stayed in where the water is not drinkable, they supply bottled or jugs of water on the tables/ bar areas.

Room Tip: There's lots on here about newer or older rooms, depends on whether you sit in your room all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Kerrymcg from Surrey,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island for your Luxor holiday and for having taken the time to write your experiences about our Island Resort to Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have especially appreciated the Front Office service.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is wishing you all the very best and we are all hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back on Kings Island one fine day in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The two of us (who were badly in need of a break) found heaven at the Jolie Ville . We could not fault anything throughout our week's stay- not that we would have wanted to! The setting was wonderful and the gardens a delight to explore. What really made it for us however were the staff. Everyone made us feel so welcome and very special- nothing was too much trouble. Loved our tour of the kitchens, Arabic lessons, visits to the fitness centre , lazing by the pool and of course, adored the food. We'll be back - soon we hope.

Please visit Luxor for a holiday- there are no troubles and tourists are warmly welcomed.
Thank you to everyone who made our stay so memorable

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happypeople336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Happypeople336 from Norwich, United Kingdom,

Thank you very much for having stayed with us at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor recently and thank you as well for promoting our Resort so nicely on Tripadvisor.

We are all happy we could make your one week holiday a success and that you have enjoyed the location of Kings Island. Thank you as well for your kind compliments for our staff, kitchen tours and fitness center.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor and the best wishes.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing