We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right choice in the Garden of Eden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right choice in the Garden of Eden”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I stayed 17th to 24th April. We had a choice of the Steinberger in town or here. Once I read the TA reviews and the hotel web site and a few other internet sources we felt the JV was the one for us - the USP was the location and environment - large nicely landscaped grounds, on an island, bird life. How glad we were to have made this choice. The hotel deserves all previous plaudits. We have travelled extensively and experienced many types of accommodation but I can safely say this is one of the best hotels we have experienced for getting everything right - service, catering, cleaning, landscaping, highly visible management. We upgraded to a superior room in block 7 on the ground floor - following advice on a previous post and having checked out the "comfort" room we had been allocated in C block. The blocks with numbers are in the newer part of the hotel and this block is closest to the Nile. I have attached a scanned copy of a plan of the hotel which may assist in your choice of room/'s. We were glad it was a distance away from reception/restaurants as it provided a very pleasant stroll adjacent to the Nile through the gardens each morning/evening with birds chirping merrily. Very nice room with good size bathroom - and good quality furniture - with proper coat hangers ! - my only small point is why no shower screen or worst case a curtain - I ended up having to mop the floor with the bath mat/towels after each shower.... We took advantage of the 5 night dining package (80 euros pp) which was great value (3 buffet and 1 dinner each in Le Fleur and Ziglioni) The quality of food and service are of a high standard and the buffet restaurant has a different theme each evening - wide choices hot and cold with highly visible staff and managers - similarly with breakfast. We are regular wine drinkers (sounds bad in print...) and having been in another part of Egypt a few years ago struggled with the quality of Egyptian wine however at the JV we found the Obilisque white and Omar Kyam red to be quite acceptable but buy by the bottle as it is better value (165 LE a bottle) - you can always cork whats left and have the next day - not something we had to think about... :) One small detail which impressed. On my first morning at breakfast I mentioned to what turned out to be the hotel GM that the cereals on offer were children orientated and perhaps they could consider Weetabix and or Bran Flakes - he thanked me for raising took a note and advised he would check with his suppliers - - a few days later Bran Flakes were added to the selection of cereals. As a matter of interest we checked out the Steinberger for a post dinner drink when we were in town one evening - nice enough hotel but typical multi storey design with one pool (as opposed to 3 at the JV) and small gardens. We also had to run the gauntlet just outside the Steinberger of guys selling stuff and the usual cry's of "where do you come from" and "how many camels for your wife" - sounds funny the first time but starts to grate after a while... Bliss at the JV from this perspective as it is on its own island with security post just before the bridge over to the hotel so guests and staff only. Well done to management and staff at the hotel for a wonderful week. I'm sure tourism will start to pick up as more people like us come back to UK and spread positive feedback about how safe and hospitable the Eygptian people are. (Hope the Bran Flakes go down well with others...)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Geordiejack from Glasgow,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor this April and for submitting your positive comments to Tripadvisor.

Yes, you are right with regards to the shower curtains, I don’t like them either, they figure on top of our priorities list to be change to glass doors as soon as possible.

I can assure you we LOVE wine drinkers and there is nothing negative with it, a good meal deserves a good bottle of wine. Since you have mentioned the “Bran Flakes” I have started myself having a bowl in the morning, quiet tasty indeed.

Thanking you very much for spreading the word that Egypt / Luxor is perfectly safe and there is no worry about security at all. We are looking forward to see you soon again on Kings Island.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    407
    110
    51
    28
See reviews for
579
1,021
90
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just got back from a week at this lovely complex we thoroughly enjoyed our stay,its nice when everybody speaks even just to say good morning how are you,staff and management are all the same very friendly thats what you want when on holiday.We really enjoyed the fellah tent evening with all the different acts to watch,and it was so well organised including the sail on the nile before the party started.Just one gripe and that is we stayed in a deluxe room block 7 which they are superb but having spoke to returning guests unfortunately at the end of our stay,they were surprised we hadnt had a linen change all week,we naturally assumed that linen would be changed automatically we have never stayed in hotels where you had to request this.But at the end of the day we had a lovely time here and we would like to come back someday. I havent given full marks below because of this housekeeping error.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Alan J from Accrington UK,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for the time taken to write a review about your experience in our Resort!

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our little island in the middle of the Nile River and that you especially appreciated the friendliness for our team.

I am not so pleased about my housekeeping department and of course you should not have to ask for a linen change in a 5stars Resort. We do have a card (pls change my linen) system in the rooms where the client is asked to put “Change Sign” on the bed if he/she wants the bed linen to be changed. If this sign is never put on the bed, we automatically change the linen every Sunday and Wednesday anyway. On the other hand if you have a remark, please always address your good self directly to the management, as long as you are in the Hotel we can change things, once you are gone its unfortunately too late. But thank you anyway for letting me know and give me the chance to follow the matter up more closely.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we all look very much forward to welcome you back home in Luxor in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with.
Sunny regards from unique and eternal Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This was our first time at this hotel and now we understand why so many people return here. How can you top the location, beautiful gardens, most comfortable rooms and above all the service. Every effort has been made to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They even go as far as installing a couple of mosquito zappers near your door.
We had a bungalow which was considered a standard room but was roomy enough and very comfortable. What I liked about it was the porch where you could recline on the sun lounger and take in the detail of the most beautiful grounds. There were shaded walkways to keep you cool on the way to the restaurants and pools. We loved the breakfasts where you could sit outside overlooking the Nile and watch the cheeky little sparrows steal food from the unattended plates.
All in all, it was a tranquil oasis where you could wind down from hustle and bustle of outside and enjoy yourself. We highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Hideh from Berkshire,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island to be your home in Luxor during your Upper Egypt holiday this month and for publishing your very positive comments regarding the Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am utmost pleased to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that you recommend us to the ww traveler community.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the near future

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

An excellent hotel by the Nile. Surrounded by a park. A lot of staff.
But most of the bungalows were dark and we were four persons at
the (excellent) breakfast.
Fist fight among the taxidrivers about a tourist...
Bad times for Luxor tourism.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcp73023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear HCP 73023 from Malmö SWE,

Thank you very much for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island to spend your Luxor holiday and for the time taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

Indeed Egypt and Luxor in particular are going through some difficult times lately and it does not really look very promising for the immediate future for tourism in this part of the world. The worst is that we do not really see why? Because Luxor is as calm, quiet, splendid and welcoming as ever. Troubles are in Cairo, 700 km away! But the TV stations do not make a difference and but the entire country in the same box! Difficult times yes, but we are going to make it!

PS: I believe as well in Malmö sometimes the Taxi drivers give it to each other? Nothing to really worry about.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from my office next door.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is on King's Island, ten minutes from the city center. Beautiful groomed grounds, large and very clean rooms, three restaurants with seating outside to watch the Nile River go by, and gracious service. After our tours we were quite happy to stay on the island and relax by the pool instead of going back into the town. Wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a Nile River view as this was not initially given to us. We also asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sally P,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island to be your home in Luxor and for publishing a very kind and positive comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in our Resort.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the near future

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

When you tell people you have been to Luxor, so many say that they intend to go, one day, but are nervous about reports of hassle, bad tummies, security and all those downsides that seasoned travellers know are really not as bad as the armchair travellers make out.

The Jolie Ville is the answer for those who are not easily persuaded that Luxor is a safe holiday choice. On its own island, with security at the entrance points and at regular intervals around the edge, even those with extreme reservations should feel safe here.

But it is not only for the cautious. We have been to Luxor many times and have stayed in a variety of hotels. We like to come back to the Jolie Ville for the serenity, for the excellent service and for the attention to every detail.

We do miss the courtesy boat, which is still teasingly moored near the pier but apparently without much prospect that it will ever carry guests again. We also regret the reduction in the number of courtesy coach journeys to Luxor centre, although taxis and easily called and not expensive. But what you do get is a massive, secure, island resort with three pools including two huge infinity pools, loads of facilities for children, a choice of dining and surely the most courteous staff of any Luxor hotel.

We choose the Maritim Jolie Ville because we have tried the other hotels and prefer this one but if you are reading this as a 'newcomer', nervous about going to Luxor for the first time, then choosing the Jolie Ville should allay your fears.

Room Tip: Lower cost bungalows have almost identical facilities, just less floorspace and are better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weezysgrandpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Weezysgrandpop from UK,

Thank you very much for having returned to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor once again for your spring holiday. Thank you as well for your positive comments, especially regarding the safety and security on our Island and Luxor in general, posted on Tripadvisor.

With regards to the shuttle boat, I wished we had the necessary funds to buy a new one in order to reintroduce this very much liked service in the past. I am positive that one fine day we will have such in operation again “Insha Allah”.

Unfortunately about one year ago the Resort was forced, by a Taxi demonstration which blocked our entrance road, to reduce the shuttle transfers to town in the morning so they have some more business during these difficult economic times were everyone is suffering. On the other hand a one way trip to town with a Taxi from the Resort is Le 25.- right now (per Taxi), about £ 2,50, compared to taxi fares in London or Zurich not really that much.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and for being such a great ambassador for Luxor and the Resort and we truly hope being able to welcome you back home very soon.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Another wonderful week spent at the Jolie Ville being looked after so well especially Sary and Moustafa at the infinity pool who anticipated our needs for water, tea and coffee before we did! I was slightly worried about the rising temperatures prior to our departure as this is later in the year than i have been before but need not have worried at all, the temperature was wonderfully comfortable with a lovely breeze in the afternoon so one never over-heated. The food was once again superb in all the restaurants and we enjoyed visiting the Italian bistro which was an addition since my last visit. The early morning walks round the island at sun rise were a delight and a lovely start to the day admiring the varied bird life and gorgeous gardens so immaculately maintained by an army of gardeners. Sadly the political situation plus the current economy is putting people off going which is a shame as we did not feel uncomfortable at any time, long may this last and hopefully get resolved sooner rather than later. As always i look forward to a return visit for another week of R & R.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanOEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear JoanOEssex from Essex UK,

Thank you very much for having returned once again to your home in Upper Egypt, the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island and for writing your holiday experience to Tripadvisor!

Concerning the actual situation in Egypt you are absolutely right; the international media is making a full size war of what in reality are location related demonstrations (Tahrir Square and other secluded areas in Cairo) and civil unrests. It has as much to do with Luxor as when I would say it is unsafe to travel to LA because of the Boston bombing. Although I am convinced it is much more dangerous to travel to LA or NY than to Luxor!

Thanks to people with a wider horizon like you, who know to read between the lines and see beyond the TV pictures, still some travelers are visiting Luxor and the fascinating sites and temples of Thebes and board on unforgettable Nile cruises up to Aswan. Unfortunately in much lower numbers than in the past before the revolution.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home in Luxor in the hopefully not so far future!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from eternal Thebes

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing