We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Nearby Hotels
US$45
US$33
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pyramids Luxor Hotel(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$36
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sheherazade(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,272)
Filter reviews
2,272 results
Traveller rating
1,643
431
114
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,643
431
114
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolla fleurprivate islandascot barclassical musicbird lifefrench restauranttennis courtsmain restaurantwest bankfree busbit datednile cruisepeace and quiettour operatorhotel groundswatch the sunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 2,272 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a fantastic stay here in absolute luxury, and the best value for money I have experienced in a long time. All of the usual from a 5 star hotel, with the added bonus of excellent pool and other amenities. The island is tranquil, the gardens magnificent. A must-stay if venturing to Luxor!

Room Tip: Make sure you save some time to relax around the pool!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Matt K,

Thank you very much for your visit to Upper Egypt, its beautiful sites and our precious Kings Island. We are grateful for your words of appreciation and happy to have succeeded in giving you the experience of luxury that you deserved.
We hope the next season will bring us more guests so we can continue to do what we do best: provide service with a smile and give our beloved guests the opportunity to enjoy their vacation to the utmost.

With a tranquil wave of our majestic palm trees,


Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our 3rd time in Luxor out of more than a dozen visits to Egypt and our 2nd Jolieville Hotel. Most other reviewers have said it all even with only 150 guests the service, meal choices did not fail to please. The river cruise, Bar B Q and entertainment was well worth going even if it was a motor boat. We had a 1st floor room overlooking the pool and Nile which was enormous and very well maintained.

It was so relaxing all we did was sleep, read go for a swim and walk around this brilliant island and of course eat and drink the excellent food offered.

Neither of us suffered any bites or saw anything to trouble us and intend to go back when we can get reasonable flights.

I wish them luck and hope the situation improves to enable this lovely hotel to prosper so we can keep going there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandMe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear SendMe7,

Thank you very much for having stayed once more at the Jolie Ville Kings Island in Luxor! Thank you as well for your time to write so very positively about your holiday experience at our Resort!

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and for recommending our Resort . We all look very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the not so far future “Insha Allah”!

I remain with.
Sunny regards from unique and peaceful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Most superlatives have already been used by other travellers to describe the Jolieville Hotel so I propose a new one - luxorious. And it is! The Jolieville's position on an island affording beautiful views of the Nile with the Valley of the Kings beyond and nestled in many acres of colourful gardens with abundant birdlife is simply stunning. It imparts a great feeling of tranquility and space, an ideal place for chilling out.

There are three pools, the smallest one for adults only. The large infinity pool overlooking the Nile is stunning. There is a small children's play area with water slides and jets to keep them amused. There are plenty of sunbeds dotted around the pool and on the grass nearby.

The accommodation is very good too. The Comfort rooms are spacious and the beds very good though on the firm side. Ours was immaculately clean, the shower was good and there was plenty of hot water. The airconditioning also worked efficiently. Outside there is a small patio which is good for sitting out in the evening. Bug zappers are installed.

We tried the Italian and French restaurants. Food from both was tasty and of a high standard. Expect to pay European prices. Having dinner at a table overlooking the Nile after sunset is a treat not to be missed. There was a good breakfast buffet with a wide choice of hot and cold food and an egg station.

WiFi worked reasonably well in the accommodation and better in the reception areas. The speed is on the slow side but reasonable.

The hotel is a 20-min journey from Luxor town. A courtesy bus goes infrequently but taxis can be ordered and are cheap.

We stayed in June when the hotel was only 15% full. It is a tribute to the hotel staff and to its manager, Urs Umbricht, that despite the low occupancy the hotel continues to maintain its high standards. Service was excellent and the staff were courteous and cheerful.

In summary, the Jolieville is a 5-star hotel which is hard to beat especially if you like communing with nature and do not mind being some way out of Luxor. Add the unbroken sunshine (43 degree C dry heat when we were there) and the wonderful pools and it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: The Comfort rooms are arranged in pods dotted around the well established parts of the garden and are recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear twofreespirits from UK,

Thank you very much for your resent stay at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for the time taken to post your holiday impressions on Tripadvisors.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your well earned holiday on our little island in the middle of the Nile and that you particularly liked, next to the overall service and courtesy of our staff, the French and Italian restaurants.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island soon!

I remain with.
Sunny regards from peace and joyful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

fantastic location. wonderfully quiet and beautiful views.
a couple of minor issues
a. felucca ride was on a boat wiht an engine not a felucca - i suspect because of numbers.
b. breakfast pastries had occasional bits of ham in them - v disconcerting as a vegetarian. i did mention this to the staff who did not seem to understand why it was a problem., even though i suggested labelling would help
staff in fitness centre were great - offered pilates class on non scheduled days as they were not busy. and manicures wonderful too - I hope the lady who did my nails had a wonderful wedding day!
otherwise it was wonderful. food, location, views, pools all fantastic and would be v happy to come back. thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear TekkerKent,

Thank you very much for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island as your home in Luxor whilst holidaying in Upper Egypt. It was our great pleasure having you staying with us and we are already looking very much forward to welcome you back.

Thank you as well for writing to Tripadvisor and for promoting us with your positive comments. With regards to the felucca and up to the wind we use the motor boat, as you know we are lacking of the "windy weather" in this hot summer.

Breakfast pastries we offer in a wide range for our respective guests incl. the vegetarians, might be that you did not have luck that day to pick up the "wrong" one.

Once again we thank you very much for your nice compliments and we already look forward to welcoming you back soon to your second home in the near future, I remain with best regards,

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

For 12 years myself and wife were visitors to this hotel, sometimes returning 2 and 3 times a year, until we moved from the UK to Luxor to live.
Yesterday 19th July was my birthday so we decided to return to the Jolie Ville and enjoy once again very happy memories and the wonderful atmosphere on offer.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the morning, before exploring the beautiful manicured gardens and the 3 pools on offer to guests staying there. We walked into the opulent reception area to be greeted by many staff who we remembered and they remembered us too, it was to us like returning home. After enjoying the Kings Island walk we returned to the Ascot Bar for a light lunch and the warm welcome from The Guest Relations Officer Armina, we sat down and talked about things for more than 2 hours, we were joined by the Food and Beverage Manager Moharab, who we know to be charming and witty, but also efficient at what he has to do.
We then left, returned home got changed and after 3 hours returned to the Jolie Ville Resort to enjoy a beautiful evening meal prepared by the Jolie Ville Chef's. We were there from 5.30pm until 10pm during which we indulged ourselves in the wonderful food from the Restaurant. I had Shorbet Adds, my wife had Tomato Soup with a difference, followed by Steak for myself and Sea Bass for my wife, the cuisine was exquisite, and as in the past matched the perfection of the Jolie Ville. We then took for desert Dark Chocolate Mousse heavenly!!
During the meal we drank Omar Khyamm Red wine and Tia Maria Caribbean Coffee.
The whole night was perfect, the staff very obliging, and we realised then that we were lucky to come across the Jolie Ville 15 years ago. The whole complex breathes peace and tranquility, the perfect place to recharge those batteries. I would advise any tourist to connect with the Jolie Ville for that something special. to myself and wife still is and always will be the best hotel in Luxor.
I would add to this review, myself and wife are in our 4th year of now living in Luxor, and no matter what you read or see on Television, Luxor is very peaceful, and the tourists is safe. There have been a few demonstrations but they are near the Government buildings and not in the tourist areas. So for those that have never been come and enjoy the slendors of the Pharoahs, but most of all use the Jolie Ville Kings Island Resort, the most beautiful hotel in Luxor and the most fantastic place to go for peace and tranquility on this tropical Island in the River Nile. Once you have been you will be smitten by the resort, and will want to go back time after time like myself and wife. everything you need is on this Resort.

Room Tip: We always stayed in B8 with its Nile View and close to the relaxation pool. For opulence it has to be X10 the suite with the Presidential Luxury.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Justen k from Luxor, Egypt

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for your 19th July birthday and for publishing your very positive experience to Tripadvisor!

We are blessed to have so many loyal “Regulars” like you; living in Luxor despite the negative Press Cairo is receiving ever since the revolution started in Feb 2011. It is because YOU know, it has nothing to do with fabulous Luxor and that it is perfectly safe on the Nile shores! Thank you for mentioning it again.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your fidelity and visit; we all look very much forward to welcome you back home for your wife's birthday in August!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from eternal Thebes

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews