We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but average otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but average otherwise”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

This hotel has a gorgeous, quiet setting without question, with lots of fun amenities which is basically why you stay here (it is not for the rooms or food). But we had issues here. The lock on our door was broken upon arrival at the hotel, and the initial front desk staff contacted to address the problem didn't think there was much of a problem having a room that could be easily accessed! Upper management finally dealt with it and were gracious in making up for their employees lack of attention or concern. Aside from a very nice breakfast spread, food here is truly mediocre and I would recommend eating other meals in town. Also make sure you know what you are getting for a room; their idea of a "deluxe suite" is quite different from anyone else's. Our room was small and cramped and the bathroom lights flickered constantly. Staff around the hotel was very pleasant; it was just some of the desk people that were lackadasical.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NemoUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    407
    110
    51
    28
See reviews for
579
1,021
90
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
temse, belgie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We spend our holiday there for the second time in 4 months. Why ?can you ask .
Well,
1- the setting near louxor is great; there is a lot to visit in and round louxor.
2-the garden is outstanding
3-the service is excellent
4-the infinity pool is the best
if you are looking for luxury; dont stay here; the hotel is not 5stars; for me its a good 4 stars hotel but the rooms only 3 stars;
We will return in winter time, for us it's a good choise, we love it !!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mopshond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We have just returned from five days at the Jolie Ville and thought it was the ideal base. The gardens, pools and other facilites for activities are good, the rooms clean and comfortable and service excellent. The French a la carte restaurant is superb both in terms of quality and price. The hotel offers free wifi which is exceptional for Egypt, and regular boat and bus services into Luxor. Highly receommended for families and active couples.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We were two families with kids and stayed in three adjacent rooms in a bungalow, we had an upgrade to the delux rooms in the X bungalow (at our own expense!) but that was ok. Overall the hotel was quite pleasant, great pool, outdoor gardens, scenery, leisure activities, even a small zoo for the kids. The rooms were clean, well maintained, had all the things you need really from a in room safe to wireless internet connection.
Only couple of comments, the food could be better! Breakfast although was plentiful was pretty much the same everyday, so after the third day you kinda get bored! simple things like changing from beef to chicken sausages would have helped add some variety! We had dinner at the restaurant a few times and i have to say i wasnt impressed, the chef could use a change as they had a serious problem with how the food tasted!
Here's a bit of advice, head into town and get yourself a carton of water bottles, will cost you a fraction of what they are charging!
With regards to room service, it could be faster, but cause the hotel is so big, you would expect them to take a bit of time to deliver something to your room!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsam_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augustenborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My wife and I usually stay at the New Winter Palace but its now torn down, so we spent Christmas at Jolie Ville and had not a single regret. The free 5 course dinner on Christmas eve was delicious! Having travelled extensively in Egypt over the past years we must admit that the service and friendliness at Jolie Ville has no equal in the whole of Egypt. Equally the breakfast spread cant be beaten. The Facilities are great, we used the fitness centre every dag at no extra cost and I had an early morning run on the path round the island, which is marked for every 100 meters of its 2.5 km length. The great thing about Luxor is that the sun shines every dag and the humidity is so low that you can feel your body becoming revitalised. Well if your not into wellness you cant beat the trees and flowers at Jolie Ville, the head gardner will show you around for free. The question of tips is not so difficult when your aware that the lowest paid workers only get 10p an hour and school teachers a mere 25p. We use Luxor as our base for keeping an eye on the activities and new revelations at the various ancient sites in the area and in this regard and also for health reasons my wife went alone at the end of January and was welcomed back to Jolie Ville with great kindness, so much so that we are taking our 14 year old grandson with us at Easter. What better recommendation for young and not so young alike, even the presidents wife stays here!
As for water buy it in Luxor just behind the Aboudi bookshop, but dont pay more than 3Le for a big bottle.
Kind regards John & Gitte, Denmark

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

My Husband and myself have just returned from a lovely peaceful weeeks holiday at Kings Island. Our only regret is that we did not book for 2 weeks.
We understood from reports before going that the rooms were going to be dated but they were adequate and always kept very clean. After all with such a beautiful island to explore who in their right mind would spend much time in their room?
We booked bed and breakfast ( which had everything you could ever wish for ... and more!). We then bought a ticket for three nights evening meals; we used 2 in the main restaurant and 1 in the La Fleur restaurant. We repeated this again as we were so impressed with the food. We are a couple that cruise regularly in five star ships all over the world and we have to say that the food in the La Fleur restaurant is equal to any other food we have eaten on these cruises.
The main restaurant can be repetative but there is always plenty of well cooked choice and you can always get their free taxi to Luxor where food is much cheaper.
The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them.They are happy uncomplicated people who enjoy giving us a holiday to remember.
The bonus for us was the adults only pool, although the infinity pool was beautiful.
The walks, the sunsets, the views,the people all add up to a perfect holiday resort which is only 10 minutes from the centre of luxor. What a lovely place to return to after a busy day!
we met people who had been going back each year, some up to 20 years. We understand why and cannot wait to return.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the out dated bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junebrianhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

May I firstly point out that my boyfriend and I chose this destination to try and get a good balance of luxurious relaxation and culture. Neither of us usually choose hotel based holidays but fancied being able to escape the "pressures of life" and ironically money choosing half board basis. Having read the reviews over and over and over again on this website about the Maritime Jolie Ville and Luxor as a whole, we went with opens minds understanding that 5* in Egypt was not the equivalent of 5* elsewhere. That couldn't be more true. I hope this review gives you a balanced and honest opinion and I can truely say that I was saddened to come away with the feelings I had about this place.
Arrival- The arrival to the resort was swift and pleasant. Only a 25 minute transfer to the hotel from the airport. The reception area is minimalist but inviting, the staff were quick to assist you and check you in. We arrived after night fall and first impressions were good, the resort looks lovely at night.
The Room- Having read on tripadvisor that the rooms were some what dated it was to no real suprise that the room itself looked like a very cheap Amercian Motel room (as did the exterior during day light), this was initialy over looked hoping that the rest of the resort made up for this. Unlike others we did not have any problem with water etc so that's a bonus, i guess. The cleaners did a good job each day however on the one day that we decided to just relax in the room (after a 4 am start) we hung up the do not disturb sign on the door, and were disturbed THREE times by staff!!! Needless to say we didn't bother using it again. There are modern rooms "available" on sight but after one whole week we didn't find out where they were....
The Grounds- Beautiful, with a great view. It must take an enormous amount of effort to keep things green. Quite a bit of the grass was brown when we stayed (11th-18th Feb) so goodness knows what it would be like in the height of the Egyptian Summer.
Food- Being someone who loves food, cooking and eating out i must say the food was just OK. They hotel do try and create variety by themeing nights by nationality, but I'm sorry to say there was alot of repetition. This being said I do appreciate that it must be incredibly hard to please so may people of so many nationalities on such a large scale. So I do give them some credit. The A la Carte restaurant was very nice (but with very unusual wines!?! Not sure if it was actually off) the decor, food and service was great. :)
Service- On first impressions this seems good, coming across as friendly and attentive, unfortunately after a week of almost continual interuptions and questions from numerous members of staff it became intruisve to the "relaxing" nature of the holiday. As I said in the begining we went with open minds about the cultural differences we would experience however (being a little naturally cynical) it feels that there are very few workers who actually wanted to provide good service as a standard. Everything is about getting Baksheesh. Now I dont mind at all tipping for genuinely good service, but that means giving me a little bit of space too. It's all a little false for my liking, I must say.
Value for Money- This was the real down side to the holiday, on top of a substandard 5* hotel and (what came to feel like) constant hassle this place is extortionate!!!!!! They are obviously very savvy in the fact that they know you are pretty isolated from the rest of Luxor so can charge whatever they feel like! I have stayed in truely 4 and 5* hotels around the world and this "takes the biscuit" price wise. We had gone on a budget but wanted to enjoy ourselves. (obviously this budget was blown) To pay £1.90 for a bottle of mineral water (which you have to drink), nearly £16 for a bottle of "2 for a £5 from the co-op" wine and £1.50 for a luke warm can of pepsi you can see why this became disheartening. I understand that businesses have to make a profit but they also have consider the actual clientel they get. If the people who were staying there were very rich business men who have everything payed for through expenses then fair enough. Its just business ripping off business however the majority of people we saw and spoke to are just ordinary people who in the current ecomonic climate can't afford to be as lavish with their hard earned money as this place expects. They certainly believe they are to a standard way above the reality. Ok RANT OVER I appologise.
Facilities- some facilites were there however EVERYTHING was at and added cost, yet again, so we just kept to the poolside if we weren't out on a excursion (which wasn't often during the day). Unfortunately there was no dymanic to the evening/night life either. There is the two restaurants and one small bar. (who have the same two people singing everynight) Neither myself or my partner wanted nightclubs or kareoke but something a little entertaining and varied would have been nice. This being said the majority of the guests there are over 60 and the ultra mellow evenings probably suite them down to the ground and if that what you're after, you'll love it!!
Overall- I would not return to this hotel as it just was not worth the expence for me. To be totally honest I think one visit to Egypt as a whole is enough. I (maybe naively) expected alot more from this experience and have come away heavy hearted that I did not thoroughly enjoy it just because it cost too much all the time!!!

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank deanireid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing