We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, fantastic place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Wilts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful, fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Having spent several weeks reading other people’s reviews, I have now returned from a week at the Jolie Ville!
The location is fantastic. You’ll know by now that it is on it’s own island. The gardens are beautiful – wonderful flowers, birds, trees and plants – many of which are labelled so you know what they are, and there is a flora & fauna guide in the hotel room. The gardens are tended every day and are kept immaculately. You can walk freely around the island without being hassled. There are several secluded seating areas along the Nile where you can sit and admire the fabulous scenery.
The swimming pools are fantastic. We didn’t use the adults only pool as we have two kids, but it looked good. The infinity pool is just a great as the pictures suggest. Even at peak times it never felt crowded. So beautiful watching the Nile drift by.
The rooms certainly need updating as other reviews say, but they are spotlessly clean and comfortable. They are cleaned every day and have plenty of white fluffy towels. The air con is very good. They have private patios. Room service only costs £1.50 extra per order than the bar, so we used that on one night and sat on the patio. I took mozzie coils, room plug ins and room spray. Also jungle formula (50% deet). We got a few bites, but nothing dreadful. I bought Travla Probiotic tablets from the internet before we went to prevent stomach upsets. My 14 year old daughter was a bit ill one night, but nothing serious.
We used the free water taxi into Luxor twice. You book it at reception on the day. It’s well worth doing – a trip on the Nile for free! Be prepared for an ambush when you get to Luxor from felluca owners etc. Just walk quickly and say La Shukran (no thankyou) firmly.
Taxis are cheap. E£20 (£2.50ish) into Luxor. They will try and charge more, but just haggle. If you walk away they will soon say ok!
Don’t buy your water in the hotel!! It cost E£13 and you can buy it for E£2 in Luxor.
We ate in the hotel every night. I am sure you can eat more cheaply in town, but we were happy to stay at the JV. The food was very good and plentiful. The alcohol was very expensive, but with two kids we weren’t going to get drunk every night! The local beer is good.
A must do is the Fellah’s Tent; for about £35 (English£) You get an hour trip on the Nile, a galabeyah which you keep, entertainment in the tent, all you can eat buffet, all you can drink local wine, beer and soft drinks and more! It is such a good night out, suitable for kids too.
Exchange travellers cheques when you get there – you get a much better rate. Rates are regulated by the government, so it’s fine to use the hotel exchange.
Don’t book excursions with your tour company. Go to Luxor temple where the local guides will find you. We used a guy called Attia Mohammed for 3 days. He took us to the Valley of the Kings, Queens, Nobles and Workers and many other places. He charged a quarter of the price Cosmos wanted and we weren’t tied to a coach trip. He was extremely knowledgable. He can organise everything from day trips, to balloon rides at a fraction of the tour operators costs.
Shopping can be a bit scary. It is a downside of Egypt. You cannot browse. Shop keepers will pounce as soon as you look at them. Haggle hard and don’t be intimidated. Also be aware that if someone offers a ‘service’, they will expect “Baksheesh” (a tip). You cannot always avoid their services – eg in some of the tombs they will point out paintings or fan you with cardboard, even if you say no. At toilets they will give you sheets of toilet paper as you go in. If you take a photo of a local, they will want baksheesh. The security guards in the museums will let you take photos without a flash, but then ask for money. Arm yourself with plenty of small currency and give about E£3 (40p) for these types of examples. It can get a bit irritating, but don’t let it get to you. Do take cheap biros for the children. They really do love them!
Valley of the Kings is truly awesome. Tut’s tomb is a bit of an anti climax, and very expensive, but if you’re like me I just had to go inside. If you’re not bothered, I wouldn’t spend the money.
So the JV is beautiful, tranquil, safe, friendly, clean, amazing views, good choice of food, great location. Yes there are mozzies – you’re in the middle of the Nile. Come prepared with basic medication, and make sure you have medical insurance, just in case you need a doctor. Good common sense really.
Our kids are 11 and 14, and although there wasn’t “entertainment” as such, they never got bored. There are guitar players, occasional belly dancers, and the Fellahs tent.
We all really enjoyed the “sunset concert”: Relaxing music played at the edge of the Nile, sitting on cushions and rugs, drinking a cool beer, just watching the sun go down. – MAGICAL!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bird100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    407
    110
    51
    28
See reviews for
579
1,021
90
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sugarloaf, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I made my first trip to egypt in 2006 and if I ever go again, I will be staying here. Absolutely amazing resort in the most perfect location with the best view you could ask for. Ive stayed many places, and this most certainly ranks up there at the top. You will not go wrong by booking any amount of time at this resort, and I higly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremye83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks in luxor. The Maritim Jolie ville is a very nice, peaceful hotel with lovely surroundings. But just not for us.
The resturant was VERY expensive and we ate out in luxor most every night. There was no entertainment for kids or adults and our 2 children got bored very quickly!!
Because of the location of the hotel (on the nile) we were overcome with mosquitos we were bitten day and night no matter what we did, my husband was bitten over 35 times and suffered an allergic reaction but couldnt afford to see the doctor as it was £140 and thats just without being seen too!!! Mental!! Also because of the location we had to taxi everywhere which became expensive after 2 weeks, there was a free shuttle bus but the times were just not convienent.
I would recomend the hotel for elderly couples and maybe young couples but just not for young families, which was a shame..
I would definatly return to luxor itself and stay in one of the hotels in the town, which are in walking distance of eveything..
The resturants i would recomend are The Lantern which is where we spent most our evenings, Deans bistro which is next door. Both are run by english people. also the macdonalds was nice and refreshing and the view from the top whilst eating was amazing..
We did try a few other places but ended up just leaving straight away, Snobs, which didnt sell alcoholic beverages and The kings arms which was far too smoky and unpleasent..
With the water situation we found this egyptian supermarket called Omar market this was very cheap , £1 egy for a litre of water, £3 egy for a litre of fanta, milk, cheeses, biscuits, wash stuff etc so make sure if you go to luxor to give it a try!!
All in all this was a good holiday and luxor is a lovely place to visit full of history and charm.. Dawn From southwest england..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilsey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton, warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I am a 15 year old girl, 14 at the time i went to the Jolie ville and i loved it, it was the most amazing experience of my life. The moment we arrived i fell in love with it we both did. The staff are very friendly and are always there to help, the scenery is just breath taking. When you wake up in the morning your first view is the Nile and it’s absolutely beautiful. The sunset and sundown is fantastic, the sun goes down at about half 4 and its beautiful to watch because it goes down in about half a hour. The weather is very very hot, i mean its quarter 12 in the afternoon in Egypt and its 38 degrees Celsius. Pretty amazing don’t you think.?To be honest those two weeks we spent in Luxor were so packed with trips and activities we could never be bored at all. With all it's history and mystery. Here is some things to tell you about:
*Luxor is nice but you will get a lot of hassle from people to buy things of you, if you want it be sure to haggle because they will have a lot of respect for you if you do.
* The Jolie ville has everything you need like : a zoo, 2 pools, a gym, hairdressers and loads more.
I’m sure you will love it and its great for the whole family
September 2009 here we come :)

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiee_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOS
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

On Wednesday 22nd April we were transferred by coach from Crown Prince to Jolie Ville. We arrived in reception and were given a cooling drink while we filled out the necessary details and were then handed our room keys. We arrived at our room and although I knew what it would look like from photographs I had seen on TA we decided to enquire about an upgrade. They had a de-luxe room available in X so they told us to go and have a look at that and see if we would like to have it. As soon as we opened the door there was no contest. It was beautifully tiled and painted in white and the furniture was much lighter in colour. The bathroom likewise and there were two basins, his and hers.It cost us an extra fifty dollars per night for the room and in our opinion was worth every penny. It had a Nile view from our terrace so we could sit there with a drink if we chose and just enjoy the scene in front of us.


The gardens of this Hotel are absolutely breathtaking and are filled with beautiful flowers, shrubs, trees and birds.There are endless places to sit and just listen to the birdsong or watch the gardeners going about their business. It`s paradise really and the distance from Luxor doesn`t matter because within a short time you can hop into a taxi and be dropped off anywhere you like in Town.


We had no peoblems with the food either. There is an amazing choice at breakfast ,in the evening we ate at La Fleur or Jolie Ville Restaurant if we stayed in. Jolie Ville restaurant has a different theme every evening and the standard of food varies but is generally quite good.


The pool boys are excellent and you only have to ask for something and it`s there. We found all the staff to be very helpful and courteous with the exception of one who was unimpressed with the size of his tip when we ate in La Fleur, where the food was wonderful.


We went into Luxor by Taxi, armed with my maps of Luxor which I had printed out from Luxor Travel Tips and got lost in the back streets where a little man took us to where we wanted to go and didn`t even ask for a tip ( we gave him one anyway ) visited Tutti Frutti( no I didn`t have a fresh cream scone but there were those who did lol) and we had a lovely panini each. Very nice lady served us i think she was Erica.


Went into Arkwrights to get some water, Nescafe, biccies and crisps and again, the lady here was so helpful.


We got a taxi back and haggled over the price eventually agreeing on 20LE for us both back to JV


One evening we visited Puddleducks and had an excellent fillet steak each, a pudding and a very palatable bottle of red wine all for the princely sum of just £30. Yes English Pounds. Served in very pleasant surroundings. The restaurant owner called us a taxi to return us to JV and on the way back we nearly ran down one man and a herd of cows.(interesting )


We absolutely loved JV and our only grumble was that it was virtually impossible to prise any coffee and creamer out of our room attendant, despite encouraging him with tips. lol


For all you people who are worried about walking around the streets of Luxor, don`t be afraid to. The people are friendly with a great sense of humour and if you don`t want their services will almost always walk away saying "Have a good day anyway "


The only thing that would stop us returning is the horrendous, clapped out old contraption that Thomson expect passengers to have to put up with when they fly to Luxor from Birminham Airport.They need to sort it.

Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I was worried about writing this review because there are so many good ones about this hotel but i think everyone planning on booking a trip to Luxor should know the bad bits about this place. I've been twice before because its guaranteed sunshine (most of the time), fairly cheap, the food has always been ok and the location is great BUT this year it really had changed for the worse. The staff seemed even more annoying and far too familiar which is very intimidating at times. The food was the worst it though, we had terrible food poisoning which knocked us out for 3 days. We avoided all the things you are supposed to steer clear of like the salad and fish etc but still suffered terribly which wrecked the trip. When we told reception they were not at all bothered and the doctor wanted to charge an extortinate amount for medicines which we later found out are banned in many countries! Shocking.
The rooms are outdated but ok.
The positives are the location and the weather but the negatives really do outweigh these positives i'm afraid and i wont be going back which is a shame.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyC8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, Secretary - Executive Office at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
Thank you for selecting Kings Island for your recent vacation and for taking the time sharing your reviews with us on TripAdvisor.

Kindly be informed that our management TEAM is available for 24hrs and we would have the pleasure if you could share your concerns with us during your stay since we would have been able to provide you not only with medical assistance but also an invitation to one of our kitchen tours, where we are proud to show our kitchen to our guests weekly! More than this, even we could have submitted samples of our food products for testing to external laboratories.

We are actually working with external auditors, such as Cristal UK, to keep our hygiene standards and food handling procedures up. We are also receiving monthly audits by Thomas Cook, TUI Thomson and many other famous tour operators. We usually receive very good remarks about our hygiene standards. As those audits are including random food samples we do not feel shy to say that the product quality in our resort is over average. Our kitchen team has been trained on HACCP certification, which is the highest international standard for food safety and kitchen hygiene.

In addition we have our hotel doctor on duty 24 hours a day. Upon my specified inquiry he could not remember persons having been complaining about such heavy stomach troubles related to food poisoning or even having been hospitalized during the last months. Also the other 300 hotel guests who consumed from our buffet did not report any similar experience.

With regard to Reception service, a full investigation shall be carried out with the responsible department head to ascertain as to where and how we fell short in our service and we assure you not to confront such a situation anymore during your next visits.

We pride ourselves on creating truly memorable experiences for our guests and do all possible as to create delight, which is our duty and it is a wonderful task to which we are committed on this magnificent island retreat.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our paradise Kings Island in the near future.

For further queries, kindly contact me at resort@lux-maritim-jolieville.com

Thank you
Jolie_Star
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife and I have just come back from our fifth visit to the Jolie Ville (originally Movenpick, now part of Maritim). From the time we were picked up by a hotel courtesy car from Luxor Airport, until we left a week later, we experienced the highest levels of hospitality, organisational efficiency, and friendship. We were truly pampered, and all of this in the lush surroundings of a beautiful island, a few kilometres south of Luxor.
How was this done? Good systems, and good staff! Everyone who works on the island is well trained, well treated, well paid, and has pride in their work. The smile, the greeting, and the time to chat put guests at their ease, nothing is too much trouble, and a hand outstretched for baksheesh is as rare as an iceberg in the Nile! Each guest is treated as well as any of the heads of state, and diplomatic dignitaries, who also stay at the Jolie Ville.
The Jolie Ville is not really a hotel. It is more like being a guest on a private estate. Accommodation is in octagonal bungalows scattered among the trees, with each room having its own private patio. The air conditioned rooms are spacious and comfortable, but we spent little time in ours, except for sleeping. They are kept spotless by domestic staff, who keep the tea and coffee tray topped up, and appear at dusk to turn down the covers, and leave chocolates at the bedside. The bathroom was a bit 1970s, but everything worked, and there was plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and soft slippers.
The central facilities have lots of polished stone and glass, comfortable lounges, bars indoor and out, a few shops and bank, and a fitness and pamper centre. At reception, the very efficient multilingual receptionists will fix anything.
The main restaurant is buffet style, with a different gastronomic theme each evening. Its breakfast service caters for everyone from crack of dawn balloon flight clients, to 10.30 late risers, and a food selection stretching for about forty meters will satisfy the most voracious appetite. There is open air dining on the terrace overlooking the Nile, and at the infinity pool. We dined each night at the a la carte La Fleur Restaurant, which served top class French cuisine, with candle light and soft music.
The grounds are a gardener’s paradise, planted with shade trees from many parts of the world, and a riot of flowers and climbers. Eighty gardeners look after the parkland, and, beyond that, the fields which grow the vegetables for the kitchen, the organic wheat, the banana plantation, fruit trees, nursery, and the forty bee hives. All of this is accessible by footpaths, with shady gazebos at strategic points.
There is plenty to do on the island, from lazing around the two pools to dawn runs on the running tracks, fishing trips, felucca sailing from the hotel harbour, bird watching, tennis, camel rides, Egyptian nights at the Fellah’s Tent, and the sunset concerts, with cocktails, at the riverside arena. Go on the back of house tour to see how things run , and why there is probably one member of staff for each guest.
Children are well catered for, with an exciting water play area, supervised play centre, zoo, and donkey rides. There is a free hotel water taxi and minibus service to and from town, and there are vetted, fixed price taxis which reception will call for trips to town, or full day visits to the archaeological sites.
Relax, feel at home, and come again.
There must be a down side. Yes, there are mosquitoes in the reed beds, and they bite after dark. You are, after all, by a river, in the middle of Africa, so take your repellent.
Would you rather be in a concrete tower in the middle of town?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlhambraMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing