We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay on a Construction site then this hotel is for you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“If you want to stay on a Construction site then this hotel is for you”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I booked this hotel after reading so many good reviews on TA and was really looking forward to my stay. Unfortunately I arrived at a building site with work commencing before 7 am and not finishing until after 8pm. I arrived at night and on checking in I was given a map of the hotel and directed to a hole in a hedge and left to find my own room. I had upgraded to a nile view room at a cost of $300 for 14 nights. The room was a bit dated but otherwise fine very clean and great views across the nile to the Valley of the Kings. Now the problem getting from the room to the reception was via the hole in the hedge which was across a grassed lawn which was fine until the gardeners watered the lawn and this then became a swamp. The second week of my stay they decided to build a path across the lawn which made it much easier to get from the room to reception. The relaxing pool was anything but relaxing due to the sound of jack hammers and angle grinders from sunrise to sunset. I booked half board and the food was fine, nothing special but well cooked and nicely presented but the service was slow and never enough waiters on duty.
On my last day I was due to depart at 1430 and asked for a late check out at 1400 but told this would cost 150 Egyptian pounds. I told them I had already paid to up grade and that after spending 2 weeks on a construction site they should waiver the late check out charge as a good will gesture but they wouldn't budge and so I paid the extra. Another couple we got friendly with who were repeat guests were allowed a late check out at no extra charge.
A very disappointing stay I went looking for paradise and found a building site.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    407
    110
    51
    28
See reviews for
579
1,021
90
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Came here after Nile cruise and had a wonderful relaxing seven days.
Sit back and enjoy the magnificient views of the Nile and its west bank, the flood lit hills of the Valley of the Kings, and stroll in the magnificient mature gardens of its grounds or take a stroll a long the banks of the Nile.
Building work did not spoil our stay as we spent most days at the infinity pool until sunset .They are trying to manage the new build to avoid disruption to guests and it is minimal.
Prices are a bit stiff for drinks but you would not get a better location anywhere in Luxor .
Food is good and the Le Fleur is excellent (try the Veal medallions).
They do a good 3 meal deal of Le Fleur a la carte,Buffet and barbecue for LE 375 pp.

Rate this hotel as third in our top four holiday hotels
1.Cape Panwa-Thailand
2.Cidade de Goa-Panjim India
4.Hotel Excellence-Dominican Republic

Go ! you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennellysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

just got back on 02 11 2010 after two weeks at the Jolle Ville, and after several years returning to the hotel, what a downward spiral to an crash.
reception being a very large BARN area, the bar is at one end no longer a comfortable, proper (as in all other hotels) bar, no meal area, just stools at the bar, all atmosphere completely gone, no music/entertainment.
not only has the second bridge not been finished, the managment have disrupted practically all guest peacefull areas, upgrading for instance 14 rooms out of a block of 15 whilst one room let out to guests, the area outside that room being filthy and full of building materials. Large noisy contruction vehicles night and day. Meals, three times eat in and the wait time for simple meals was 60 minutes included one pool time meal, with no prior warning, totally unacceptable, if cannot cater, then don't.
New paths being built whilst guests are walking through and round the digging, upgraded room, i had one, what rubbish, old bathroom, wardrobes curtains, may have put a new door on and perhaps retiled the floor, a rip off. Took one week to replace a lamp.
opinion, such an amount and area of construction, the Hotel should have been CLOSED if they cared for guests, as did the Hilton, building work that been finished, very little finished, and that of a very low quality finish compared to other Luxor hotels, broken new walkways, paint splashes in new reception etc, seems to be no one brain overseeing this work.
A great pity for what was a fantastic and very well run and liked hotel, only thing now going for the hotel is the best location in Luxor, and being bungalows in what will be nice gardens. NO free boat to Luxor, and no sign when it will be repaired/replaced.
No wifi at all but they still insisted on charging for internet use.
I would like to thing I could return, perhaps 3/4 years when all work has been finished.
I am expecting the management to respond to this comment, BUT no justification can be made for the guest upset and present bad service dirt and mess everywhere paths not cleaned as often full of dirt and soil, service generally has also gone down to zero, i got the feeling that cut backs on staff and or hours to save money was part of the problem and the construction work.
A great pity for a great hotel ruined.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tonybrown777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I had a fantastic holiday at this hotel and enjoyed getting out and about on the trips. The hotel is undertaking huge refurbishment / re-building works which we were totally unaware off before the holiday. We were only advised that one pool would be having maintenance work for a week.
Very poor bungalow, but viewed others that has been refurbished and they were great, pity we were not in one.
Will definitely go again in a couple of years when all the building works will hopefully have been completed. Fantastic staff and location second to none. Watch the sunset to classical music is a must. Go on a boat trip on the Nile with Captain Brian - he is wonderful - as are all the staff. Many guests return again and again and enjoy good food and hospitality. As I have said our only disappointment was the standardof our bungalow.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carisbrooke Isle of Wight
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were looking forward to our time at the Joli Ville after a week on the Nile and a few days in Cairo, but when we arrived it was to a building site, we literally had to walk through the sand and rubble to get to our room, which had no mattress when we arrived and was immediately opposite the VERY noisy and messy building work, I was not happy and we walked all the way back to reception through the piles of sand and past all the piles of stuff ripped out of the old reception and restaurant to get there, they did offer us another room, but we were told to go and look at it to see if we were happy, so we had to walk all the way back past the building site again, then find the room and then walk back to the reception to tell them we would take it as it was further away and then walk back AGAIN in all the heat and mess. I was almost in tears as this was our Honeymoon and was supposed to be the relaxing bit. The room was a refurbished one, but it is not fabulous considering this is supposed to be a 5* hotel, the TV had no adaptor and so we could not plug it in, when we told the guy who brought our suitcases he told us he would tell maintenance but we ended up having to walk all the way back to reception to tell them and they wanted us to BUY an adaptor!! I told them no way and they said someone would come, still nothing happened, in the end I stopped a man who was going in to next door to come and sort it, he found us a plug but did not tune the TV in and so we could not watch it! The safe was broken and so was the safe in the room of another couple along from us, the toilet had a double flush but only one worked, the floor was always so dirty from the building work that the bathmat was black, there was no fire alarm and no furniture on our patio, no kettle and the fridge was no on when we arrived and did not get cold at all unless you left the cupboard door open it was in as there was no ventilation. The insect zapper was not working and we had single beds! The food is not fabulous and I did not enjoy it much at all. The water (and you have to buy it to brush your teeth) is very expensive and you are too far away from anywhere to get it cheaper. The small pool was closed and the infinity pool was incredibly busy much of the time, and getting a sunbed was an issue as people reserve them and clear off! The staff do help you out though, and so we always managed to get one eventually. They did open the adult only pool on our last but one day and it was much better, although I can't understand why the infinity pool is not adult only. The staff are not openly after tips, which is refreshing, but you have to ask several times to get things, we would ask for coffee at breakfast and often get it your self! The grounds are lovely, the location is superb but the hotel is definitely NOT 5* and is not what I expected at all. I met lots of older ladies who have been several times and thought it was fantastic, but it was not what i was looking for in a hotel that was supposed to be top class, it was holiday camp food and entertainment, and they were doing SO much building work it was ridiculous to try and relax with a jack hammer and drills and banging going on all day. When we arrived there was a lovely bougainvillea covering the walkway outside our room, the day after they came and cut it all down and took the bamboo thatch off the walkway! There was mess and dust all over the place. Mosquitoes are a problem and so are flies, which made sunbathing unpleasant. The fellahs tent night was the best part of our stay and had the best food, but was a bit spoiled by the more obvious touting for tips. I would say that the hotel needs to get it's act together, the place should not be open as it is a health and safety nightmare at the moment, and I was only impressed by the island itself and the hotel is a let down. I am going to complain to my travel company and I know that I am not the only one who will be doing so. Big thumbs down.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed for three nights only as an inland dash from the Red Sea to do some guided sightseeinhg around the cultural heritage sites of Luxor and the Valley of the Kings. 3 days is not enough by the way.

The Hotel is situated on a private island on the Nile accesed by a roadbridge. The location of the hotel is nothing short of breathtaking with views over the Nile to the Western Mountains and Valley of the Kings and and an infinity pool on the bank of the river which everyone who stays here must pose for the perfect holiday snap at sunset.

We have not stayed here before but suspect the hotel has new owners who are injecting some much needed funds into the site. A new Reception building greets you on arrival which is very impressive and spacious - a good start then.

The bedrooms unfortunately were the Achillies Heel of the stay. We were allocated "newly refurbished" rooms, which sounds good but we had all sorts of issues with things not working - I wont list them all otherwise this will sound like a whinge, but there were some fundamental things like missing smoke detector heads, mini bar with no stock or plug for power, room-safe non operational and unsecured.

Look - theses sound like small things, and to some extent they are (except the smoke detectors) but remember this is supposed to be a 5* resort and i'm afraid it just isnt. There is no doubt the new owners are injecting much needed capital funds but it has gone into front of house - someone needs to look at the guest accomodation which apart from the issues listed above is of a very poor standard - we had no hot water the first night - this simply shouldny happen in a resort claiming to be 5*.

We specifically asked for a quiet room, which we were allocated right next to the construction site where significant works are taking place. Fortunately the noise of the old air conditioning drowned out any sounds from outside the room!!

The staff are great and really seem to want to lift things, I suspect this hotel had its heyday some years ago and has been allowed to slide of late. The new owners (full credit to them) seem to be trying to turn this around and make the hotel what it should be given its fantastic location and grounds - they really are spectacular.

The food and service is very good. The evening staff are extremely attentive and want you to enjoy everything. The daytime "Activities" staff are fantastic with kids of all ages. Breakfast seems a bit chaotic but we were up and out quite early, so maybe they hadnt got into their stride by 06:30 every morning.

Remember this is an island on the Nile - you will need lots and lots of insect repellant. leave without it at your peril.

Would we go back? - yes - without any hesitation - but we'd first check on the progress of the extensive rebuilding and refurbishment works underway at present. If they get this right this hotel will take some beating, especially if they put more emphasis on the guest accomodation which is just not up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_L1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Just back from 3 nights in the Maritim Jolieville and these are our experiences.

positives
- good food, lots of variety, option of eating on the terrace
- great 'infitinty' swimming pool, really big
- free wireless internet
- lovely location on an island, quiet surroundings
- nicely equiped fitness room

negatives
- you stay in a construction area, they are rennovating the whole place
- due to the renovations it is dirty
- we stayed in an old room and it had that '70s look (new rooms look much better)
- the wireless internet was down and reception staff wanted to charge me for using the business center instead, that was a big no-no with me. You provide a free service, and if that does not work, you provide the alternative for free aswell!
- you are located far away from the city centre, they do provide you with free bus transportation but it runs only 3 times a day which makes it not really handy

Basic conclusion: This could be a great place once renovations are finished, in the mean time stay away.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing