We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice- but not great- hotel”
Review of ACHTI Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHTI Resort Luxor
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Don't get me wrong: the Luxor Sheraton is a 'nice enough' hotel. It's relatively clean, the staff is very friendly, the view is fantastic, but it certainly isn't five star luxury or anything. Compared to, say, Mena House in Cairo/ Giza, it's definitely a step down.

I spent a few nights here back in November. The resort was more or less dead due to there being virtually no tourists, but the staff kept everything up fairly well and remained friendly throughout.

The rooms are definitely a bit dated, but relatively clean. The tubs have really high sides that are kind of awkward to get into (something to consider if you have any mobility issues). As others have mentioned, you are somewhat removed from the town, so it is substantially quieter than a lot of the places around town.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisPlceHsEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for posting your review.Feedback from our guests allows us to improve our service.We are sorry you had this experience in our hotel.Although we were just completed a full upgrading project in the hotel completed by February 2010, still your valued points will take place in our nearest upgrading projects.We are glad the staff was able to make your stay memorable.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon
Thank you and regards
Nahla Youssef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a very big resort, just in front of the Nile. Half the rooms (5 floors) face the Nile, and the others to the front of the building. All rooms have terraces, which is very convenient.

The hotel has lots of amenities, including a big outdoor pool, two restaurants offering buffet breakfasts and dinners, wifi (free only is you are Starwood gold or above member), gym and nice terraces facing the Nile.

The rooms are clean and ample, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were nicely decorated and somehow upgraded.

The service was excellent. The front desk spent half an hour with me recommending me what to do in Luxor, which was an extremely valuable information (e.g., they recommended the balloon ride, which was an unforgettable experience).

The only drawback was that the hotel (rooms and common areas) looked and felt tired, with need of some uplifting.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando-Botargues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to write your review through TripAdvisors site.As well in regards to WI-FI service ,we have 45mints free for all our in-house guests once a day during their stay,but with charge in the rooms unless the guest is not a Gold member or Platinum member of Starwood hotels.
Also, where we are strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points as well in regard of your comments regarding Refurbishing the Furniture, and room equipment’s,it will take place in our nearest upgrading projects, , although we were just completed an upgrading project in the hotel completed by February 2010.
Hope that all above meets with your requirements,looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is on the east bank of the Nile a bit removed from the city center. Which means you don't here horns constantly honking. The rooms are nice with balconies. The little shopping area is a breath of fresh air. The merchants don't come after you. They let you browse. Food and service is lovely. Ask for a room facing the Nile, sunsets are amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic_Traveler-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

First we would like to thank you for having your recent stay at our hotel, taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort .I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank bucketdoghk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I spent two weeks here: a good place to relax and take in the Nile Valley and all it offers. Word of warning: few visitors as of now means desperate taxi drivers and others after your bucks. We enjoyed Valley of The Kings and other West Bank sites, where food and drink is much cheaper. For example Fayrouz Hotel has shady garden, well cooked meals and beer much cheaper than Sheraton,where a very good 3 course meal with beer will cost c.130 Egyptian pounds. Tip: if you like good coffee, ask for 'real' coffee, not served in the main restaurant, but across the foyer. Not all advertised services are available due to lack of numbers. Take the free shuttle to Luxor Museum - a must see.

Sheraton is the best place for felucca trips, since the number of touts is smaller than elsewhere.

Room Tip: A free upgrade to a Nile view room was great. Bring small denomination notes for tips to staff who g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boobyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

First, we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Luxor Resort to spend your last visit in Luxor, and we are extremely extending our sincere apology for any inconvenience experience you may gain during this visit.As well in regards to your valuable points for advertises services and coffee serving in the resturant,we will put it on our consideration to deliver a good service to our guests.
Hope that above meets with your requirements,and hope to welcome you again soon in order to redeem ourselves.
Thank you and regards
Nahla Youssef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked 2 Nile View rooms for ourselves and our 2 teenage daughters to spend 2 days at the end of our Nile Cruise. The rooms were comfortable and the view of the Nile was superb. However, we had no hot water in either room. We complained to reception and maintenance came and fixed the water supply on the first night. However, the next morning, the water was cold again in our room, though hot in our daughters' room, so we used their shower. The room rate was very expensive especially as we had no hot water. After several complaints, the hotel did give us a discount on our room rate for the inconvenience. However, given that the hotel was empty, I don't understand why they didn't find us alternate rooms if they couldn't fix the hot water. The breakfast buffet was good. We ate dinner in town so cannot comment on the evening meals.

Room Tip: Nile View room
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

First, we would like to extend our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your recent visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort.In regards to hot water ,our Director of engineer fixed himself and offer you to change the room but you prefered to stay in same room,also the management which we know it is not that something to recover the unpleasant experience, we were waived the 2nd night from your bill ,and we charged only one night for both two rooms and we sent you and your daughters fruit baskets.Once again we are sincerely apologized and hope to keep the good imperission for Sheraton in order to welcome you again soon.
Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location - and you must get a Nile view room. The view from the balcony was stunning, as the sun set behind the west bank, the lights began to glow on the mountain side and the Valley of the Kings. There are no Nile cruise ships parked in front of this hotel so peace and quiet can be enjoyed, and more importantly little light pollution. There was little boat traffic to watch, although we did see one Nile cruise ship depart on its southern ward journey. In the morning I was impressed by how freshly painted and white the falluccas and motorboats were, moored riverside.

The dinner was disappointing although the friendliness and "eager to please" attitude of the waiters made up for that. We do recommend the lentil soup however. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with a wide variety of foods, but I usually opt for the freshly made omelet, you are never sure how long other foods have been out when in a buffet situation. The free internet was nice although limited to just 45 minutes a day, the day you check in and the day you check out. If you are on holiday you should not need more that that any way !

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We-L0VE-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Many thanks for recently staying with us and for having taken the time to write your heart review. It appears from your replies that we did not entirely manage to meet your expectations with some points for which I apologize on behalf of the entire team here at Sheraton Luxor Resort.
As well regarding more little light pollution,we forward this point to our Director of Engineer,also for the dinner quality and varieties,we pass it to our Ex.Chef who will strongly focus on it in the training programs held to our associates in order to improve our service delivery level.Our free 45 minuts is daily for all our in house guests during their stay.We hope to meet your expectation when we get the honor of welcoming you back again when visiting Luxor city.

For any further queries and/or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
thanks and regards
Nahla
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.6 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
905 reviews
1 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHTI Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHTI Resort Luxor

Address: Al Awameya | Awameya, Luxor 85111, Egypt (Formerly Sheraton Luxor Resort)
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £35 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ACHTI Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACHTI Resort Luxor is a unique resort that lay on the east bank of the Nile with the widest front view to the great river, combine between the hotel building style & bungalow rooms, with several of theme restaurant, Bar & 2 outdoor swimming pool. Our location is 3.5 Km to city center, 10 Kms to Luxor International airport. We are in this place since 1988, although the management company changed on 2016, still we are serving you with our high standard quality on all aspects. ACHTI Resort Luxor is waiting to welcome you in Luxor to gain a non-forgettable experience of hospitality. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ACHTI Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton
Sheraton Luxor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing