We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Nile view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nile view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a night in this hotel after our Nile Cruise - turned out we didn't need to stay the extra night - but that is another review for the tour group :(. Hotel was very nice - huge pool area and lovely sunset from our room with sweeping views of the Nile. Once again, only cable internet - no one seemed to have Wifi. Breakfast was nice, very attentive staff, restaurants were not all open due to lack of patrons so limited as to where you could go - would have liked to eat at the restaurant near the pool, but it was rather cool being early March and it was completly open with no heaters and quite windy so opted to eat inside - and then had little choice as not all open. Upon check in was told that only 1 of our 2 rooms was a Nile view - was at the desk for at least 15 minutes trying to sort it all out, we also did not get adjoining rooms, but the 2nd room had side views and as only staying the one night we let it go. All in all ok

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    424
    134
    55
    24
See reviews for
307
643
94
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

First time in Egypt - hotel was welcome oasis of calm from the heat and hassle outside. Rooms were a good size and had a balcony with views over the Nile. Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. It's well worth eating on the outside patio by the pool in the evening - you have a lovely lit up view of the Valley of the Kings. We never normally eat in hotel restaurants but this was no more expensive than some of the restaurants outside and the food was great.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a side view of the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear sbunnie,

Thank you for your nice feedback about our hotel , we are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and the professional service of our staff , hoping to have you as a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A well kept hotel with a lovely lobby full of lush plants, lots of marble, rather dark and heavy furnishing but all good quality. I was rather frustrated that although they put the children and us in adjoining rooms, neither room had a double bed and it didn't seem possible even though hotel only half full.
The pool is lovely - slightly strange shape/depths for swimming laps, but you could. And it is heated in winter which is good.
The Japanese restaurant is very good, and the breakfast buffet is OK (with some highlights like the freshly squeezed orange juice and sometimes other juices).

Room Tip: Make sure you specify early that you want a double bed if you do. And not all rooms have a direct Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear mcwcBaku,

Thank you for your lovely review and nice comments; we are happy we contributed in making your vacation a memorable one and hope to have you as a regular guest in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived at the Sonesta on Wednesday 28th March, the check in experience was very smooth, my partner checked us in at the desk while I enjoyed a glass of complimentory Hibiscus juice in the beautiful, clean, air conditioned surroundings following a long days travel.

We stayed in room 608, an absolutely beautiful room, with amazing bathroom facilities and a huge balcony upon which we could sit and enjoy the beautiful sunsets over the river Nile.

Our bags arrived at our room and we asked that the twin beds be pushed together to create a huge double, which was done extremely quickly and we settled in immediately.

Our entire stay (which unfortunately was only 1 week long), was made extremely special by the most wonderful staff, we were made to feel like royalty. Eman and Waffa and the rest of the staff at breakfast were so efficient and friendly, catering for our every need. The food was very plentiful and too much too choose. I can heartily recommend the scrambled eggs with mushroom, cooked with just a spot of oil,or poached eggs on toast perfect. The fresh juice is to die for.

Our room was very luxurious, with the most amazing bathroom, a beautiful massaging jacuzzi bath, power shower and intellegent toilet (?). The man that cleaned our room every day day was unintrusive, respectful, a very gentle and very kind man, he showed us, at our request, the Nile View rooms on our floor (wow! they take your breath away!). He made an excellent job every single day and was so polite, a credit to this hotel. I slept on on this bed much better than I would sleep at home, the pillows and white sheets are like sleeping on big fluffy white clouds!

Around the pool area, Nagha, Michael and the rest of the staff are 100% efficient and know exactly what you require before you even need to ask. The food is amazing, the mediterranean mezze a particular favourite, (have tried to recreate it at home but can't get it quite right), The atmosphere around the pool is just so civilised, a lovely dip in the pool, a pot of tea, a glass of wine or a beer and then some lunch, under an umbrella, overlooking the Theban Hills just makes you want to pinch yourself!

Our entire stay at this hotel was absolutely perfect, the view from the balcony, the smell of the food cooking, a nightcap at Nobles bar with the view of the Theban Hills, the night reception staff upon arriving back in an evening, and the day reception staff on arriving after a mornings exploring really is like being welcomed home.

Nothing is too much trouble, we cannot wait to return, well done to the Sonesta, a cool calm oasis in the hustle and bustle that is Luxor!!

Room Tip: If you prefer to see the sunset, ask for a South facing room (towards Aswan), the North facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acesupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Arrived at the Sonesta Weds 28th March for a relaxing weeks holiday and that's exactly what we had. Our room had a side nile view on the 4th floor. It was very clean, great big bed and comfortable furnishings. All lovely. Everyone in the hotel made us very welcome from the time we arrived to the moment we left. Special thanks go to Michael and Nagha who catered for our every need with towels for our sunbeds, drinks, food and whatever we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. Also Ehab and Matta in Nobles bar, they too fussed over us and gave us all the attention to make us feel extra special, thanks for all the crisps and nuts. Than you Gebril for making me my lovely omelette every dayand looking after us, suggesting we try things we may not have eaten without his advice, it was all so lovely. If i have any ctiticism at all, it would have been nice to have had a little bit of entertainment on some evenings. Apart from that, thank you all at the Sonesta for a lovely holiday and we hope to join you again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was our first visit in three years to the Sonesta, when all the building was being done, I am pleased to say that it is now back to its normal 5 star Standard,
We had forteen great days in the perfect weather in March 2012, we met some very nice people from UK and although things on the streets are very tough at the moment for the locals we made the best of it we could.
The Staff were as usual great and we have decided to go back again at the end of the season.
The food was good but reflected the poor tourist numbers they were catering for, so eating out could be an option.
Good on you Sonesta lets hope our 10th visit to your hotel will be memorable.

Room Tip: Front nile superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear paulust

We are so proud that we had the opportunity to welcoming you 9 times at our hotel and got the chance to make your stay a pleasant one. Our staff will always be at your service and will go extra miles to ensure your stay is unforgettable. Waiting to host you again and have a beautiful vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is really good. The rooms are very good and the buffet is excellent.

Stayed there for a night, but I really had good first and last impression about it. Recommended, will come there again, if I've any planned visit to Luxor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmonoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#15 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing