We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you sonestaluxor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thank you sonestaluxor”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Returned again this year on the 6th November thank you to all the staff for making are stay great in spite of the hard times look foward to seeing you all again next year best hotel in luxor kind regards ray stokes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Raymond S

We are happy you had a good time and thank you for these nice words , we are waiting for another visit very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    438
    136
    55
    25
See reviews for
314
660
97
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good value ,the lobby is in the Egyptian motif,so you know you are in Egypt,and not just another cookie-cutter hotel chain.Due to the lack of tourists,only one of four restaurants were opened,the Japanese restaurant was closed,along with some of the shops inside the hotel.
The room was large with a balcony view of the Nile,and the staff was friendly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear orderly

Thank you for your nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your time and we hope to have you as a regular guest our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Having left after one dreadful night at the Gaddis (don't go there)! I checked in to this amazing hotel ,,a deluxe river nile view double room (for one) jacuzzi bath , tea coffee , etc etc ,,the kindest of staff ,most kind of all the guy who looked after my room and me as I was not well for several days , food to die for. Great pool , clean clean luxury,,,,what bliss. ,,,,go there you will be a very happy person!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Ray E

We really appreciate your nice review , and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you soon in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This Hotel (our room had a large balcony) overlooks the West Bank of the Nile where you can see The Valley of the Kings. Spectacular sunsets. It's worth booking a cruise down the Nile to take it the ancient sites and then visit the Aswan Dam. Finish off with a few days at this great hotel where the staff are so eager to please. The food was also excellent too. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the Nile and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Linda P

Thank you for your review , we are happy you enjoyed the view from our rooms and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Recently stayed here the 2nd time after being here in 2006. It was a screw up from start to finish.Check in was a nightmare - unfreindly and slow due to the fact that some dignitaries were there escorting a group of German travel agents to promote tourism (they had been delayed because of rioting in Cairo) We were one of the few paying guests and apparently "personas non grata"! Our rooms weren't ready and then we didn't get the rooms we were supposed to. However, housekeeping staff did wonders to make sure everything was as good as possible. Service at the breakfast buffet was awful and we were pushed out of line by dignitaries. On the second day, upon going to the pool, I was actually asked to move because they were doing a photo-op. This whole entourage was staying "gratis" at the hotel by the way. The pool staff were great though! Also checkout was slow and unfreindly. The property itself could use some sprucing up as it is looking a bit `tired`.

Room Tip: Ask for room with front-facing Nile veiw - there should be no problem as there are virtually no tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Jan G

Let me first thank you for taking the time to write this review , I perfectly understand your concern during the check in and check out , this happens sometimes when we have lots of guests checking in at the same time , but be sure that all guests are welcomed and treated the same way even if they are staying complimentary . You are a valued guest and if any inefficiency occurred , it is not meant to spoil your vacation . Please accept our apology and promise us for a future visit in order to make it up for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here so many times and it never disappoints. The impressive chandeliers, the welcoming friendly staff, fab views, clean rooms with excellent Nile view and attentive room service. There is something about this place where on the west bank time has stopped. I love to watch the locals going about their day working away. The children over that side are lovely and love to see you. Take a felluca at sunset, such a relaxing and memorable experience. Breakfast buffet has all you could need and eggs freshly made however you want them. Can't wait to get back, so sad the troubles mean we can't visit just now, so many friends we wonder how they are surviving.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honestbluei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear honestbluei

Thank you for your great review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and we will always be ready to host you whenever you want to repeat this experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I'm here again for the fourth time this year.
It's a lovely hotel as I have said previously and all the staff are so keen to make people happy.
At the moment it's very quiet due to the recent problems in Cairo, I can recommend anyone to come to Luxor, it's safe and there are no problems at all here, except deciding what you are going to have for dinner off the varied menu.

A wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear eila486

Thank you for recommending our hotel and for encouraging people to travel , I am happy you experienced the safety of the place yourself and that you had a great time , I hope to see you for the fifth time this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing