We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although we had only one night at this hotel but the service was excellent, the rooms are Nile view, clean and comfortable beds. the breakfast was very good too, We received a good service at Sonesta luxor !!! thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear henry m

Thank you for your nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a good time at our hotel , we hope to see you soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    438
    136
    55
    25
See reviews for
314
660
97
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Suffering from tourist decline. Only stayed one night in transit, but it seemed a bit shabby, disappointing breakfast. Nothing special! Free wifi only in lobby (but not always working). Make sure you ask for a room away from the main road.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jeremy T

Thank you for your review , we are sorry you did not like the breakfast at our hotel , we do not usually get a complain from our breakfast , I appreciate if you can give us more details about your disappointment from the breakfast so we can investigate it . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just back from the Sonesta St George and all I can say is considering the problems that have been in Egypt recently you wouldn't know it from inside the hotel. Everything was as usual. Clean comfortable beds, beautifully immaculate rooms which were serviced twice a day to the ever attentive staff who could not do enough for you to make your stay even more enjoyable. Yes there is hassle outside but the message is slowly getting through to them that if you just ask and the tourist says no then maybe it's a good thing not to keep on and the customer may return later to go on the Kalesh, Faluka or whatever they are trying to sell. It would not be Egypt without a bit of Hassle. See you soon Sonesta xx

Room Tip: Try to get a side nile view room as the view over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinabbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I actually enjoyed my stay here, except that the free wifi in the lobby didn't work, and the paid wifi didn't reach my room and kept forcing me to re-login.

It's a shame that wifi was such a pain because it was a very nice hotel otherwise. Having difficulty connecting to the Internet is a real problem.

The Sonesta was much nicer than the Stienberger Hotel next door.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlOakleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear CarlOakleaf

Thank you for this lovely review we are happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry about the Wi-Fi but it is sometimes out of our hands and the service provider has trouble with their network and connection. We hope to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Ihave just returned frm a weeks break and the hotel,the staff,the house keeping team, the food,the facilities&nobles bar.Ihave had the best experience of my life the staff make you so welcoming and make sure that your ok and are always on hand to do anything for you.their english is very good. The housekeeping team leave petals on your bed&animals out of towels(very talented).had a very gd massage too for under £15GBP.Please dont be scared about any trouble as it doesnt effect the hotel in anyway&thompson is resuming flights frm Gatwick.their is no hassle.Iwill be back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for your nice review , and for recommending our hotel to the readers , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and waiting for another one soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After my latest trip to the Sonesta I want to comment about the staff at this hotel. I know from experience at other resorts, that hotel staff can help to make or break your holiday .Sonesta staff invariably help you to really make the most of your time there. Always courteous, pleasant and willing. This holiday the housekeeping team were,for me, the stars. I was suffering from back pain and I asked the housekeeper supervisor on my floor, was it possible to change the queen sized bed for twin beds so that I would not disturb my husband. With a big smile he told me there would be no problem at all and would I like a matress topper as it may help with pain!When I returned to my room the beds had been changed and the room left immaculate. While I am on the subject of the housekeeping people, I was touched when some evenings I returned to our room to find flower petals scattered on the beds and towels shaped into animals and always the room in pristine order. To change the subject somewhat,If there is anyone reading this who would like to visit Luxor but are put off by the stories of war and fighting, Please, please make that visit you will not be sorry.There is no trouble, no fighting, no war in Luxor. It is at least as safe as your own home town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sheder

Thank you for this beautiful review , we are very happy that you recommend our hotel and Luxor too , I will pass on your nice comments about the staff and the housekeeping to the management and I am sure they will be very happy to hear that they contributed in making your vacation a memorable one . We hope to see you again at your second home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It has been about 3 years since I last stayed @ the Sonesta and it was nice to be back. Although there was cut backs in the way the restaurants and lighting were operating due to the lack of clients, the staff in the bars made up for the this and of course the breakfasts were as usual very good. I should mention also the lads that service the rooms. The cleanliness and presentation can only be described as excellent. Do try the boat trips that leave the hotel, very good value for money and the crews are very professional. Please visit Luxor, there are no problems and the locals need tourists. Now is the time to visit Egypt with Thomson direct flights from Gatwick operating again, I will be back soon!!! .

Room Tip: Pay for a Nile view - well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wardforceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing