We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didnt even get to stay in the hotel. A disappointing experience with Sonesta” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Didnt even get to stay in the hotel. A disappointing experience with Sonesta”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked this hotel in early March for a one night stay prior to boarding the Sonesta Moon Goddess from Luxor for a Nile cruise. The rate plan was 7 day advance purchase and in the small print can not be cancelled.

Some weeks later, the Egyptian government changed the daylight savings hours which meant that our UK flight departed at the same time but now arrived one hour later into Hurghada and we were informed by our taxi company that we could not travel that night due to a restriction on tourists travelling on the Luxor road after 6PM.

This meant we could not stay the night in Luxor as intended. Aware of the fact that we could not cancel the reservation but as we were staying both at a Sonesta hotel and a Sonesta Cruise ship and as the circumstances were out of our control we hoped that Sonesta would allow us to change our reservation to their Hurghada hotel instead (and pay the additional room charge as its a more expensive property).

However an email to Sonesta reservations got an initial reply saying our request was being looked into but then no response at all, other than to immediately charge my credit card the room fee.

All in all a very disappointing experience and I would find it difficult to recommend Sonesta hence the one star rating based on their customer service. As a matter of principle we stayed at the Hurghada Hilton instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmdsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear cmdsea

As you mentioned in your review the advanced purchase is not refundable , I just investigated the case now and knew that the reservation department did an exception for you and did not take any cancellation fees , I am sorry for any inconvenience and I hope you are satisfied with our service and follow up . We will be happy to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    417
    131
    54
    23
See reviews for
302
636
94
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Am currently staying at Sonesta and this being our 9th year, myself & my husband were really looking forward to our visit but have been very disappointed.
Positives:
When we arrived we were welcomed back by the reception staff and even had a bowl of fruit in our room, which made us feel special.
Every night when we returned to our room we found chocolate on our bed, which again was a lovely gesture.
The staff are very welcoming and can't do enough for the few guests especially Nagha, Adel, Michele around the pool, the housekeeping staff and Usama in Nobles. If it wasn't for Usama we wouldn't go into Nobles Bar.
Negatives:
Where do I start? Prices in the hotel have increased to the extent that we have been going outside and buying food & drinks for a fraction of the price. A can of Stella is now 40LE whilst outside you can get bottles of Stella for between 10LE & 18LE, in fact a soft drink in the hotel costs more than a stella outside.
Breakfast - due to very few guests, the staff in the breakfast have been over bearing making us feel uncomfortable being around the table too much.
At the moment the World Cup football is on and we were expecting to be able to watch this in the Nobles Bar but we couldn't, although we could watch it on the pontoon, if we wanted to be hot and bitten to pieces by mosquitoes. Both us & other guests have tried to speak to the manager to request the football to be shown in Nobles but the manager was not available. Last night Nadher in Nobles told us the manager was watching the football on the pontoon, we went to talk to him & explain that the hotel had already lost a lot of business, because the guests had been going to the Kings Head to watch the football but the manager didn't seem to be interested at anything we had to say. The engineer spoke and said they had been having problems with the satelite but would try again for today.
The pool is in need of a good thorough clean. There is a lot of algae inside the pool on the tiles, unless this is cleaned soon, there will be guests getting ill from this.
The astro turf around the pool & on the pontoon is so bad and torn that I wouldn't be surprised if someone has a nasty fall soon.
The furniture around the pool & pontoon is now becoming old and in need of repair or replacement.

Being a 5* hotel we expect a lot more. We have seen this hotel go downhill especially the last 2 years, I would rate the hotel in it's present state as 3-4* at best. With less guests and the guests that are here are only people who have continued to come because we have been treated very well in the past. Having spoken to the other guests, we are all now considering going somewhere else next time.
I think this is a real shame as we have had the best holidays here, which is why we have kept coming back, even when Thomsons pulled out of the hotel, we still found a way to come back. This year has cost us about £400 more than we have ever paid to come here.
I hope the hotel take on board these comments and make improvements, otherwise it would be a real shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank villainsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear villainsaint

Thank you for this review , it shows how much you care about our hotel as you are a regular guest , we are happy you still like the service and enjoy our staff who made you feel welcome and at home. Please let me explain the few points you highlighted in your review :

- Of course the food and beverage outside the hotel will be less expensive as the small shops does not pay the taxes and overheads we pay and also we are supervised by governmental authorities to protect the tourist and check on our prices.
- We did not raise our prices since 4 years now although everything has increased after the revolution
- For the world cup , due to the low occupancy at this time at the hotel we were not planning to broadcast the game but a couple of guests came to have dinner and asked to watch it so we could not refuse .
- We are working on changing the pool tiles soon
- Regarding the money you paid to the tour operator we do not have control over their rates

I hope the above cleared some misunderstanding , we apologize if we did not meet your expectations this time and please give us the chance to make you experience a better stay next time and we are sure you will notice a great improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My first impression of this hotel was shattered when the porter slammed our bags down on the concrete with no respect for our property whatsoever. This idiot should be fired immediately!

Fortunately my confidence in the hotel was somewhat restored when we met Nagha, one of the wonderful pool staff who served us with such friendliness and courtesy that we were made to feel very welcome.

The hotel is right on the Nile and the view from our 4th floor room was magnificent. The Italian restaurant also has a brilliant view, particularly as the sun sets. Perfect photo opportunity and probably the best meal I ate in Egypt as well (though another tour member ordered the same grilled salmon main and hers was apparently very overcooked.) Drink prices were average at around 40 pounds per local beer.

Our room was nice enough but the toilet cistern constantly leaked and was not repaired after being reported. Fortunately it wasn't noisy so no problem (apart from the wasted water). You don't get any free water or coffee facilities, though you can pay to hire a coffee set at an exorbitant price. The bed was comfortable and pillows soft.

This is quite a good hotel and I recommend it - just don't let the porter touch your bags!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Tom M

Thank you for this great review , we apologize if the porter's action bothered you , this is the first time I get such a complain but I am sure he did not mean to offend you at all . I will forward this to the management anyway so they can make sure this does not happen again , we hope to have you as a regular guest at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed here for one night before startingour Nile cruise. The hotel had an olde worlde feel to it and our room was well apointed and enjoyed a view over the river. Breakfast was adequate, the service was ok but we felt that the staff were not really bothered, maybe it was because we were only staying overnight but we were suprised at this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear littlemissmoppet

Thank you for getting back to us and writing this review , I just want to assure you that the length of your stay has nothing to do with the service of our staff , the guest is always the most important thing to us whether he is staying an hour or a day , we hope you can give us one more chance to make you experience a better stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed last year for our. Anniversary and while where we where invited to the managers sons wedding we had a fantastic time there so we are trying to get a flight and stay here again as our anni is on the 11 june

Room Tip: Room was a side Nile it was lovely as we seen sun rise and sunset .eileen and Kiera bournville
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear poshspice62

Thank you for your great review ,we are happy you spend your anniversary at our hotel and we hope you can do it every year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After reading all of the tripadviser reviews of this hotel I think I arrived expecting too much - it wasn't the welcoming 'palace' I expected. We arrived well after midnight, handed over our passports to someone who said they were a rep, not a receptionist, filled in a form and were handed our keys - no explanation of facilities, breakfast times, resteraunts etc. The biggest let down was that, after a long journey, we were not offered a welcome drink and, when entering our room there was no complimentary water and the mini bar was locked as the key was broken in the lock so we had nothing to drink at all . All 11 hotels/ boats I have stayed in in Luxor have always provided complimentary water, at least on arrival as it is so essential. I had to order some water from room service at really inflated cost.

We had booked a triple room but were given a twin room with a camp bed squeezed in - not ideal for a guy who is 6'4"! As there were so few guess I think we could have been given a room with enough space for three people. Unless you have a front facing nile view room you will have a view of the water works (which can be noisy) or waste land. Breakfast was very average but I expect that was due to the lack of guests.

The staff around the pool were very good, efficient and friendly as were the housekeeping staff. The receptionists never once greeted us as we entered the hotel except for when some government officials stayed a couple of nights for a conference - all of a sudden the reception staff were friendly, the fabulous chandalier was turned on, petals on the beds, the cloakrooms had cold flannels . . .

The Sonesta is a nice hotel but I have had much better customer service in most of Luxors other hotels. Having said all of this I think this must be due to the lack of tourists in Luxor. I do hope tourism picks up again soon as this is such a beautiful, interesting place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyannethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear sallyannethomas

Thank you for your nice review , we are sorry about the mini bar being closed during your arrival , I will report this immediately and it will not happen again for sure , we hope to host you again for another nice stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Returned to Luxor for the first time in four years, May 2014, found hardly any tourists. There is absolutely no need to stay away from this amazing country, it is safe and welcoming. So sad to find the city so quiet, we experience no problems at all SO PLEASE RETURN TO EGYPT YOU ARE NEEDED. It is so full of history,so much to do and see, with constant sunshine, what more could anyone desire. Staying at the Sonesta was once more the icing on the cake, relaxing and chilling out on the terrace and round the pool, beside the Nile was and experience greatly enjoyed. This is the best hotel in Luxor and we have stayed in several. The staff are so helpful. nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotless clean, the thick, fluffy brilliantly white towels are changed twice a day!, the pristince white bedding is change daily if required. A perfect invirament to spend a holiday, in perfect hotel. Sad to say the breakfast was not as good as usual,it was understandabley moved to the smaller resteraunt as there was a shortage of guests, so no breakfast on the terrace. Only the fourth floor was open to guests. Never mind hopefully everything will be back to normal soon. We intend to return later this year. See you there!!!!

Room Tip: if you would like a different room the management will change, don't be afraid just asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendymargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear poshspice62

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you spent your anniversary at our hotel and we hope you can visit us every year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing