We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a change from the dusty Cairo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
740 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“What a change from the dusty Cairo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

The hotel is located some 20min from the airport, right near the Nile and I must say I was so impressed with it's vegetations and flowers, unlike Cairo, despite the hotter temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius. It is an excellent view from the plane, all the green running on both sides of the Nile, up to the mountain/desert for what I thought to be some good 10km, I was told it is actually only 2km each side of the Nile.

Positive things:
- the hotel has a great location near the Nile (apparently from the top terrace you can see up to the temple of Hashepsut), the swimming pool is great too with its own mini library, ha ha and show running even during the Ramadan. It is greatly set with its small internal details, minus probably the 'Vegas' chandelier in the lobby
- my room 312 was overlooking Nile from one side, was large, cosy with the best pillows and Egyptian cotton sheets I ever slept in
- the halls have thick carpets, you cannot hear almost anything, or maybe it was the 50% occupancy
- I highly recommend Nashed, the driver who took me to the valleys and back to the airport. He even bought me grapes when I was desperate for some fruits.

Negative things:
- I exchanged several e-mails with the hotel, asking for a taxi to pick me up (at 50LE, take me to the valleys for 150LE for wait&transport and 50LE next day to the airport), however there was no one at the airport, they never took responsibility for their fault, the manager however gave himself away when he said the driver did not know what flight to look for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They had all my info and requests.......... also I knew I was paying much more than I should, but I was expecting quality of service
- The anaemic sandwich in the hotel cafe is again much more priced, but probably my brain started switching off on getting value for money. Just like in Cairo, I got tired of starting a sentence, being interrupted with some non-sense thinking they know the end of the sentence, then having to start the sentence again, ha ha
- The hotel has building works running on both sides of the hotel, apparently for the following 3 years, they woke me up at 6am
- the exchange rate in the hotel is not as good as the one in Cairo but slightly better than the one in London

General things:
- After visiting each valley/attraction your exit is through a bazaar where you get so much hassle from it's vendors, some of them having followed you previously in the valleys/stalking with the same kind of sentences/questions. Probably these vendors would get some customers if they were not so aggressive.....
- everything is higher priced, just as in Cairo (read info on my review there)
- the airport has the most pathetic sandwich I have ever tasted at 28Le and a 50ml juice in carton at 18LE (which in London is some 50 pence).

Just like in Cairo, I am amazed that tourists comprehend so much better the unimaginable value and beauty of this place than the little businessmen that surround the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    417
    131
    54
    23
See reviews for
302
636
94
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel - this is not it!! I was very disappointed with this hotel. We stayed in August 2009. The staff are not trained properly - the chambermaid/man constantly harass you for baksheesh (tips). The waiters in the hotel Italian restaurant are miserable and the waiters in the Main Restaurant touch your food (whilst you are eating!!) - there were two cashiers who literally throw money at you!! The bar furniture is dirty. On both sides on the hotel are building sites -- a real eyesore!! If you want five star hotel - look for another hotel. I would rate this hotel to be more 3 plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

Arrived at the Sonesta after an amazing week on the Sonesta St George Cruise and 3 days in Cairo. The receptionist were rather surly, but check in was quick and painless. We had paid a little extra for a Nile view room and boy was it worth it ( room 100), huge balcony with planters full of plants and of course the view. Breakfast was great, loads of choice and great to sit on the verandah with the sparrows. The pool area is lovely and pool boys and woman were very attentive and friendly, food and drinks here also very good. The pool is slightly weird but once you get to know the shallow parts it's fine. We did eat at the Italian which was tasty and used the 24hr 'cafe' each day for paninis and iced coffee.We took an hours fulucca ride (£3 each - from the hotel) which was fantastic and there was only the 4 of us on the boat, we were even given a lovely cup of tea, and I would recommend this to everyone. My husband disappeared for about 2 hours for a haircut but came back having had a haircut, massage, manicure and pedicure which he said was great and only about £27.
We had hardly any hassle from taxi or calleshe drivers outside the hotel and we always felt safe walking around, both day and night. We ate at The Lantern where we had a lovely meal, Sofra which was a lovely experience and at the Winter Palace which was good but nothing special.
We also walked down to Jolley's and booked a trip to the Valley of the Nobles, Valley of the Workers, the Ramesseum and then onto Medinat Habu, which was really good value, with a very knowledgable guide and driver.
We only had 4 nights at the Sonesta which were very relaxing after such a hectic previous 10 days, and I would have liked another couple of days to have explored a bit more of Luxor, but at least it's a good excuse to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marleycat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed in Sonesta for 7 nights on a B&B basis. The breakfast was great, lots of choice, including both cooked breakfast and continental, and always lots of choice.
We ate in both Japanese and Italian restaurants within the hotel several times, the Japanese restaurant was great, really tasty food and good value for money. Teppanyaki table was a great experience too. The Italian seemed to be more popular, lots of choice of pizza, pasta (although was a little so-so) fish and meat dishes, again, good value for money. The hotel itself is very good, our rooms were very clean and of a good standard. The pool is a good size and always clean, the the staff around the pool being very helpful. The pool area itself overlooks the Nile, and although a little noisy at times with the amount of building work being done nearby, is overall very peaceful.
We used the limosine service that the hotel provides and found it to be a great way of getting around Luxor. Although the museum is only 10 - 15 mins walk away, in the August heat it was much nicer being picked up in an air conditioned car! (A return trip was the equivalent of £3).
Myself and daughter had a massage in the spa, it was different to what you would expect from a spa (shown to a room and left in the pitch dark!), it was pretty cheap and a nice change to laying out in the sun. However we did use the hairdressers service - I had a pedicure and daughter had a henna tattoo. Would not recommend this at all! The salon is not very clean, my daughter had nail varnish painted onto her leg as "part of the tattoo!" Was all just a little odd!

Really enjoyed our week relaxing in the hotel after a Nile cruise the week before, however do your research as Luxor isn't everyone's cup of tea!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

just back from the sonesta august 26th,things have got worse since last visit may 2009.the pool shower still not working after i reported it to the management last time.there are small crab like creatures in the pool and one table in the restuarant on the right hand side as you go in had ants on it.the hand rails going into the pool get hot during the day which i also reported to the management last time nothing done.There is still major work giong on next to the hotel noise a bit deafening during the day.If you are going to this hotel ask for a room on the opposite side to the reception any odd number from 101 to 133 or 201 to 233 excetra.apart from that the rooms were excellent air conditioning first class.fridge in all rooms and 30inch tele just cnn and a film channel.evening entertainment almost non existant film on some nights at 1030pm but who want,s to stop up to get eaten by moscito,s,it is on the pontoon out side.did find a nice reasturant though 100 yards from the hotel,turn right outside and take second right past the stigenburger, Called The RITZ you can get omletts burgers steak fish salads and beer all with chips and bread and butter at very reasonable prices.does,t look much from the out side but the food was great and plenty of it.If you think you are going to get an english breakfast at th sonesta forget it ,no beans no bacon just egg,s.If you are on half board no chips on the munu and no ice cream for afters.apart from that i have been staying at the hotel 6 times in the last 8 yeasr and will still go back just in case thing,s improve,good luck all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

stayed at the sonesta 7times back in sept pool staff service and everyone make your holiday one that youll never forget

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isisBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKEGNESS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

The hotel was absolutely excellent and I would recommend it to anyone. I agree with the comments about the reception staff but this is in no way a reason not to stay at this wonderful place. I would certainly return if I came to Luxor again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULJOHNSONSkegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing