We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Let me start with the positive - we have a view directly facing the Nile, and it was stunning. The pool area over looking the water was also beautiful, and the lobby was gorgeous. The hotel was close to both the Luxor and Karnak temples.
As for the not so great: (1) the bed had no sheet, just a comforter; (2) the hairdryer was a vacumm contraption that must have been 20 years old, and we had to hold it together to make it work. Finally, having a waterfront view was gorgeous, but every night at 9 there is an Egyptian show by the pool, which you hear from the room, and at 10:30 they show a movie as well - so if you are looking for quiet sleep, a Nile-front room is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShelBel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

We spent a week at the Sonesta, and were generaly very pleased with our choice. The room was a good size and was very clean, but the side Nile view from the balcony relied on you ignoring the cleared demolition site next door (If you stood in the best position, the Nile was about half of what was in view). Also, if you look directly down you can often see split sacks of sloppy food waste being picked up by hand and being loaded into a waste truck - not really what you want to see outside of what I supposed was the kitchen. Having said that, all of the public areas gave a better impression.
A highlight to us was to watch the spectacular sunset over the river from the terrace, which I'm pretty sure couldn't be bettered from anywhere else in Luxor.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, but the food quality was excellent, with a huge choice. Outside of the hotel, the choice of restaurants is poor, unless you want bland English food. Even the names - Puddleducks, Tudor Rose etc - made me wince. For food with a more Egyptian style, give Cassablanca a try (In the street almost opposite the hotel to the right). Why do so many English people travel overseas then want to eat like they're at home?
The tipping culture of Egypt unfortunately reflects in the hotel - as a previous reviewer said, it's obvious the staff are well aware of the change-over days with the big operators, and 'turn it on' to suit. However, service for us was consistent in the bar and the riverside terrace (Where we tipped a small amount daily). After the fourth tap on the door of our room on our first night by various staff members - all of whom I expect wanted a tip - we took to leaving the 'do not disturb' hanger on the door (Although this only reduced the amount of visitors, it made us feel better about ignoring them!).
If I ever return to Luxpor, I'd be happy to stay at the Sonesta, with most of the facilities being of an excellent international standard.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Lovely hotel, fantastic pool and check out the view of the sunset from the bar - only down poinbt is the awful music playing in the bar - change it or turn it off!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Findley1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The rooms are tired and dated in need of renovating. The service was terrible for a 5 star hotel. (I would have classed this hotel as a 3star plus!!) The reception staff are ignorant and not really interested, If you are unfortunate and the glass in the patio door is falling out expect to wait at least 4 hours, two phone calls down to reception, one trip down to reception and the second trip down to speak to the hotel manager before anyone comes to fix it and then its not fixed properly, the patio doors did not fit properly so noise from the road could be heard all the time, the air conditioning did not work properly, The only time staff were attentive was on the day they though you were going home! (tips) The sun beds around the pool all have towels on them earlier than 8am for the people who have "bunged" the pool attendant a good tip on a daily basis. Try the coffe shop but expect to wait a good 15mins or more for a coffee, thats after waiting a good 10mins for them to take your order as they are too busy chatting behind the counter to notice you are there. on a plus point the breakfast food has a good variety and was very good, free cinema twice a week, and the Thomas cook rep called Maggie was brilliant!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAHLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Not long back from a week at Sonesta, really enjoyed our stay. Hotel in a great location overlooking the Nile. Room very nice and clean. Staff exceedingly friendly and helpful and overall we loved Luxor.

We stayed half-board and really enjoyed the food, although have to say by the end of 7 days we were getting a little bored of the buffet. Although the theme changes each night many of the options did not. The best dinner night was “Egyptian” but strangely this was only once a week. The service in the restaurant was friendly if a little erratic.

The pool area and sun terrace was lovely with great views over the Nile. Again, drinks service around the pool was erratic, sometimes very difficult to get someone to place an order, others waited ages for drinks to arrive.

Our only real complaint was the noise in our room from the street below. We booked the hotel as a package, we got a good price and we knew this included a “City View Room” however we did not expect the traffic, horns beeping and shouting which carried on most of the night. The doors to our balcony did little to block the noise. We complained at reception and were told it would cost us an extra £30 a night to change.

Overall it is a very nice hotel, although not 5 star by UK standards, we recommend the Sonesta St George, although do not stay in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pottery_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My dad has just come back from a weeks holiday in this so called 5* hotel more like 3*. The rooms were great as was the view. The staff were rude also most of them had quite a bad attitude . The waiters didnt give back the right change and also if you left your change on the table , the waiters autoatically took this as their tio and took it away . Also be careful when you are given change in the shops make sure they count the change in front of you , get them to place the notes on the table , 1 of the tricks at the mo is folding the notes and then counting them as a bundle , when you pull them up on this they say its your falt for not checking . My dad said he would never go back to luxor again,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManchesterIlovecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Both times we have been to Luxor we have stayed at the Sonesta ST George. The hotel is excellent, the staff are always friendly and helpful. and the service is superb. Mr Sabry Millad is the rooms manager who we found to be efficient, helpful and friendly. Mr Millad acts upon any enquiry which you have. The hotel is still undergoing some limited building works which are now contained to the inside top floors. However the swimming pool next to the hotel has been bought by the Sonesta and they are going to enlarge the Sonesta, so if you want peace and quiet this is or the hotel next door is not going to be the place to stay if they start building work..
There is an excellent restaurant near to the Sonesta called the Castello you will find it on the right side of the the street opposite the Sonesta, it has only opened a few weeks ago. The menu consists of English and Italian food which is excellent as is the service.
If you want to go on any trips the person you should see is Mohamed Abdue, he is a young man of 23yrs of age but he is excellent in all he does. Mohamed is based at either the Castello restaurant or the Bob Marley gift shop just to the right has you leave the Sonesta Hotels front door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkDaveLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £31 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing